Post Reply

[Q] CPU throttle won't work in surface pro?

OP theboundless

17th February 2013, 12:16 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
39 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
In the power options, under processor power management, the maximum processor state on battery seems to always revert back to 100% after a reboot or changing power plans. Any ideas why the setting won't stick?
18th February 2013, 04:20 PM   |  #2  
mkhalil06's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
I noticed this as well
..very annoying

is that the only setting you noticed reverting? or are there more?
18th February 2013, 04:31 PM   |  #3  
Ryno_666's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 305
 
923 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Re: [Q] CPU throttle won't work in surface pro?
I assumed win8 handles processes differently requiring less battery consumption.

Sent from my EVO using xda premium
18th February 2013, 07:43 PM   |  #4  
mkhalil06's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
but that isn't the issue

if u go into settings and change the 100% to anything else
it always reverts back .....very annoying ....marked difference in battery life noticed
20th February 2013, 04:57 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
If you create a new power plan and use it, the settings will stay after a reboot. This is what I did.
21st February 2013, 06:45 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Did anyone try 20% CPU so far ? And if so, how is the battery life?
I won't mind getting Surface Pro if I can throttle down its CPU when on battery to Surface RT's speed for a longer battery.

I currently have a RT version with me
21st February 2013, 09:57 AM   |  #7  
Recognized Developer
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 2,709
 
5,732 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Power consumption curve for CPUs is very non-linear. 90% from 100% will probably save you more power than 20% from 90% will. You'd just be wasting a ton of processing capability.
22nd February 2013, 11:12 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodDayToDie

Power consumption curve for CPUs is very non-linear. 90% from 100% will probably save you more power than 20% from 90% will. You'd just be wasting a ton of processing capability.

Not only that but the windows throttle percentage is not really as specific as a 0-100 range would suggest, so even if you set 20% it might limit the cpu to its minimum frequency.
If you use a tool such as this you can see what the current frequency is: http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/tmonitor.html
With my laptops (much slower) Core2Duo the minimum frequency was too slow, but about 50% of the max worked well and dramatically reduced the heat under load.
Some people reckon it is better to allow the cpu to use its full frequency so that it finishes the job faster and can move back to the lowest idle state. I am not sure that really applies to i5 (which doesn't support the ARM-style idle states that haswell will) and like you say the power consumption at lower cpu frequencies doesn't vary much. My experience with windows is that sometimes for no apparent reason at all programs such as word or chrome sit using 50+% of the cpu and you have to restart the process. It doesn't happen often at all but you might not realise until your battery is low. With the pro's i5 I expect you could get away with quite a low cpu frequency and would at least know you will always get roughly the same battery life.
25th February 2013, 05:52 PM   |  #9  
Walderstorn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
This is the same problem that w700 has, an even earlier product. This situation made the biggest thread in the acer community because people are angry, some even took back their products and traded for the surface which made it the same than people realized it was not the w700 itself. Throttle stop didnt work because it seems to be more temp related.

Here are some interesting topics

http://community.acer.com/t5/Acer-Ta...p/6873/page/28

http://forum.tabletpcreview.com/acer...hrottling.html
25th February 2013, 08:41 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
152 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walderstorn

This is the same problem that w700 has, an even earlier product. This situation made the biggest thread in the acer community because people are angry, some even took back their products and traded for the surface which made it the same than people realized it was not the w700 itself. Throttle stop didnt work because it seems to be more temp related.

Here are some interesting topics

http://community.acer.com/t5/Acer-Ta...p/6873/page/28

http://forum.tabletpcreview.com/acer...hrottling.html


Actually, it is nothing like that problem. The OP is talking about manually limiting the max clock of the device using the Windows setting that has been there for a while now.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
cpu throttle surface pro
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes