FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

Can someone explain how to CWM+Cyanogen on a Bell S3

80 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By PermaFried, Member on 15th February 2013, 02:26 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I've looked everywhere for this and can't find a good explanation, I've found the guides for ATT and such but nothing directly for bell. I can even paypal $5 to the person who provides me with the correct answer.
 
 
15th February 2013, 02:33 AM |#2  
KorGuy123's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Barrie
Thanks Meter: 864
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: Can someone explain how to CWM+Cyanogen on a Bell S3
Quote:
Originally Posted by PermaFried

I've looked everywhere for this and can't find a good explanation, I've found the guides for ATT and such but nothing directly for bell. I can even paypal $5 to the person who provides me with the correct answer.

Identical. The Canadian versions are the same as the d2att.
Our Canadian models are classed as d2can but are identical.
So any guide you see or read for AT&T you can follow for yours.

Sent from my SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
15th February 2013, 02:36 AM |#3  
xBeerdroiDx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth
Thanks Meter: 1,656
 
More
You'll use the same procedures to root and install recovery except you'll use a Bell image. Be sure you're flashing the Bell root files if that's the carrier you use
15th February 2013, 02:36 AM |#4  
OP Member
Flag Canada
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KorGuy123

Identical. The Canadian versions are the same as the d2att.
Our Canadian models are classed as d2can but are identical.
So any guide you see or read for AT&T you can follow for yours.

Sent from my SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app

I've found a few Cyanogen guides, but nothing related to CWM for our model
15th February 2013, 02:38 AM |#5  
KorGuy123's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Barrie
Thanks Meter: 864
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: Can someone explain how to CWM+Cyanogen on a Bell S3
Quote:
Originally Posted by PermaFried

I've found a few Cyanogen guides, but nothing related to CWM for our model

Everything you need is here. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=27745443
Read twice.

Sent from my SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
15th February 2013, 02:53 AM |#6  
OP Member
Flag Canada
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xBeerdroiDx

You'll use the same procedures to root and install recovery except you'll use a Bell image. Be sure you're flashing the Bell root files if that's the carrier you use

Thanks, for is already rooted with SuperSU installed.
15th February 2013, 02:56 AM |#7  
KorGuy123's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Barrie
Thanks Meter: 864
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: Can someone explain how to CWM+Cyanogen on a Bell S3
Quote:
Originally Posted by PermaFried

Thanks, for is already rooted with SuperSU installed.

So you are just looking to install CM10.1 with CWM?
I would recommend going to twrp recovery it's a little more stable IMO.

Are you having problems flashing it or just need a step by step?

Sent from my SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
16th February 2013, 05:23 PM |#8  
OP Member
Flag Canada
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KorGuy123

So you are just looking to install CM10.1 with CWM?
I would recommend going to twrp recovery it's a little more stable IMO.

Are you having problems flashing it or just need a step by step?

Sent from my SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app

Sorry for the late response, death of a friend. I am looking for a step by step. I've tried and keep getting lost.
17th February 2013, 01:29 AM |#9  
KorGuy123's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Barrie
Thanks Meter: 864
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: Can someone explain how to CWM+Cyanogen on a Bell S3
Quote:
Originally Posted by PermaFried

Sorry for the late response, death of a friend. I am looking for a step by step. I've tried and keep getting lost.

How far have you got?
Are you rooted?
Have you flashed a recovery? If so which one?

Sent from my SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
17th February 2013, 04:47 AM |#10  
KorGuy123's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Barrie
Thanks Meter: 864
 
Donate to Me
More
The flashing procedure for Bell is the same with Telus and Rogers and AT&T etc.

I prefer flashing with TWRP but I'll walk you through CWM.
Make sure your version of CWM is up to date (through ROM Manager) selecting d2att instead of d2can saves a lot of heartache in the future.

You can download the latest CM10.1 nightly here
If you want the most recent monthly (supposedly more stable but with less features than the latest nightly) you will get this.

Once you download this you'll need the gapps package here
Gapps are the Google apps your phone uses and are necessary.

Place those two files on the external sd Card (if applicable) If you don't have an external card you'll just need to be careful not to format your internal SD. I like to create a folder called ROMS and keep sub folders for each rom and include the Gapps file in each for easy organizing.

Once this is done, reboot into recovery. Press and hold Vol+, Home and Power until you feel a vibration, release the power and it will boot into recovery.

Clockwork Mod is a fairly basic recovery. Navigate with your Vol+ and Vol- buttons, making your selection with the home button or power.
Very first thing you do is do a backup! If you mess something up you'll be able to restore through recovery to your current status and try again.
(Under backup and restore)

Next you are going to select "Wipe data/factory reset" than select "yes"
Than you are going to select "Wipe cache partition" than select "yes"
After that you will go into "Advanced" than select "Wipe Dalvik Cache" and select "yes"
When that's finished you will go back and select "Mounts and storage" select "format system" than select "yes"
Select "go back"
Choose "install zip from sdcard" than select either "install zip from sdcard" or ext sdcard" depending on where you put it.
Scroll down to the folder, select the folder, select the CM10.1 zip first, select yes and let it work.
Once that's done you'll do the same thing for the gapps package.

After that's finished I like to wipe the cache partition and the dalvik cache again (in advanced)

Reboot and voila! CM10.1
Takes a hell of a lot longer to type than to do...

I did find one YouTube video you can use as a guide.
Last edited by KorGuy123; 17th February 2013 at 04:57 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to KorGuy123 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes