Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How Can I Disable Autofocus on Rooted Razr HD

OP PhoneBill

14th February 2013, 07:48 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Clarksvillle, MD
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
I had a herd of 29 deer in my front yard a few days ago. I had my Razr Maxx HD with me at the window and tried to take several stills and a video of them through the window. All I could get was a clear image of the screen wire about 3 inches from the camera lens. The deer were so out of focus that the shots and video were unusable. Is there any way to disable autofocus or to set the focus to infinity on the Razr HD? Or is there a camera app that allows me to do this?
17th February 2013, 06:13 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Re: [Q] How Can I Disable Autofocus on Rooted Razr HD
I think your best bet is to manually select between portrait or landscape mode for those kind of shots. The autofocus, much like the camera generally on the Razr Maxx HD, leaves much to be desired

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using xda app-developers app
25th February 2013, 05:11 PM   |  #3  
zilian28's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Goi‚nia
Thanks Meter: 35
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Good news
My friend, I really demand a lot from my gadgets and after trying many camera programs on my phone I found one called "Snap camera" that doesnt use our phones auto focus. It only focus when u click and at your will. Great, isnt it? Now I feel more in control over my shots. By the way, Im on ICS. Gud luck with it. =p
2nd March 2013, 08:54 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by zilian28

My friend, I really demand a lot from my gadgets and after trying many camera programs on my phone I found one called "Snap camera" that doesnt use our phones auto focus. It only focus when u click and at your will. Great, isnt it? Now I feel more in control over my shots. By the way, Im on ICS. Gud luck with it. =p

I've tried it, very good one! thanks for the advise! I use it as my default camera app.
3rd March 2013, 05:24 PM   |  #5  
big ach's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Florida!
Thanks Meter: 78
 
553 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
You know what bugs me about the Motorola camera.... it focuses before you take the picture.... so if you'll notice that little green square uptop.... The camera will get into focus but if you move so slightly and snap the shot, it won't autofocus unless you specifically Click where you want to focus Then take the picture. Wish it would only focus when you snap the picture not before.

I've personally been using Camera Zoom Fx.... not perfect but better than stock!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes