Thread Closed

[ONE-CLICK] Automated Freedom-Boot and TWRP installer

OP fmkilo

8th February 2013, 08:30 PM   |  #121  
Member
Flag chatham
Thanks Meter: 3
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
Thanks bro and i subscribed so ill get notifications straight away
11th February 2013, 01:47 PM   |  #122  
ursulavasey's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
I have a KF2 (non HD) which is rooted and has both superuser and SuperSU. I rooted via this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2075959.

I then tried to use KFU to install TWRP and other stuff, but I couldn't get it to mount in any mode. ADB was online, but the mode showed as unknown, so I couldn't do anything with it. I have installed Google Play, and various launchers, etc, but I can't do anything that requires access to recovery, as I have no recovery on the Kindle. If I install and run this app/script, will this give me access to TWRP, and therefore full root and recovery access? What are the risks involved?

I am no stranger to rooting Android devices and installing roms, etc, but the background stuff on the Kindle is new to me, so I am still finding my way around this stuff. I would be grateful for any help offered to me. TIA.
11th February 2013, 01:53 PM   |  #123  
Member
Flag chatham
Thanks Meter: 3
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
Could brick but that's the worst possible thing do it right no risks im running cm10.1perfectly don't forget <<thanks button :P
The Following User Says Thank You to hillconnor13 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th February 2013, 02:02 PM   |  #124  
ursulavasey's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by hillconnor13

Could brick but that's the worst possible thing do it right no risks im running cm10.1perfectly don't forget <<thanks button :P


It's the risk of bricking that worries me. Also, do I run the script as admin, by right clicking and selecting that option, or do I just run it normally. I'm on a Windows 8 laptop, if that makes a difference.
11th February 2013, 08:06 PM   |  #125  
yudanjah's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag LA
Thanks Meter: 2
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Use the wireless option!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ursulavasey

It's the risk of bricking that worries me. Also, do I run the script as admin, by right clicking and selecting that option, or do I just run it normally. I'm on a Windows 8 laptop, if that makes a difference.

Download the APK (Wireless install option via app) at the beginning of this thread. It worked perfectly for my KF2 (regular). It changes the screen, and provides a boot menu. (I had to get used to boot menu.)

Joe
The Following User Says Thank You to yudanjah For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th February 2013, 09:42 PM   |  #126  
ursulavasey's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by yudanjah

Download the APK (Wireless install option via app) at the beginning of this thread. It worked perfectly for my KF2 (regular). It changes the screen, and provides a boot menu. (I had to get used to boot menu.)

Joe

Cheers Joe, that worked brilliantly. I now have TWRP on my Kindle. Thanks a bunch for your help mate.
17th February 2013, 01:51 PM   |  #127  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
275 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Re: [ONE-CLICK] Automated Freedom-Boot and TWRP installer
May be a noob question but can i use this method for the Kindle Fire HD 7". And if not is there a way to get one for the HD?

Sent from my KFTT using xda app-developers app
18th February 2013, 01:24 AM   |  #128  
Senior Member
Flag San Jose
Thanks Meter: 45
 
228 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hinzman420

May be a noob question but can i use this method for the Kindle Fire HD 7". And if not is there a way to get one for the HD?

Sent from my KFTT using xda app-developers app

I would not. It was not meant for that device, nor has anyone tried it....I mean, if you have a fastboot cable handy, and don't mind unbricking something.....sure you can try it. Unless Kilo knows more, sometimes software overlaps for device, but because I don't REALLY know how this script works, I can't say what the outcome would be. It could do nothing, or it could do something, something bad, or something good, no one really knows.

What you're looking for though, is the guides for your device, which I shall link below.

I am assuming you have root since you're here....

Use this guide by Hashcode.

If you need the guide to rooting still, that is here.
The Following User Says Thank You to iytrix For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2013, 01:51 AM   |  #129  
OP Senior Member
Flag Mount Vernon, IA,USA
Thanks Meter: 188
 
288 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iytrix

I would not. It was not meant for that device, nor has anyone tried it....I mean, if you have a fastboot cable handy, and don't mind unbricking something.....sure you can try it. Unless Kilo knows more, sometimes software overlaps for device, but because I don't REALLY know how this script works, I can't say what the outcome would be. It could do nothing, or it could do something, something bad, or something good, no one really knows.

What you're looking for though, is the guides for your device, which I shall link below.

I am assuming you have root since you're here....

Use this guide by Hashcode.

If you need the guide to rooting still, that is here.

the images are different.. I have it but its on my other hdd

Also, I don't have the apk for it. (never been tested either. it's only the desktop script. and it uses the same exact script with different images)
18th February 2013, 03:12 AM   |  #130  
charlieb620's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia, PA
Thanks Meter: 1,930
 
13,277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Re: [ONE-CLICK] Automated Freedom-Boot and TWRP installer
Used the apk and everything worked perfect.

Sent from my KFOT using Tapatalk 2

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes