Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more

Big Android BBQ 5.0 Recap – XDA TV

This fifth annual Big Android BBQ has come and gone. The speakers have spoke, the sponsors have … more

Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more

Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more
Post Reply

Dual Stack (IPv4 + IPv6) Now enabled

OP MegaMan X

13th February 2013, 06:12 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 36
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
The Galaxy S3 supports IPv4 and IPv6 PDP so now you can 'dual stack'

APN setup instructions:



(Technically you have been able to do this for a couple of weeks but it was broken due to DNS issues-striped AAAAs, which was resolved yesterday)

Easiest way is to try it and then visit http://test-ipv6.com.

You should score a 9/10 (DNS server isn't dual-stacked, not a problem for now).
The Following User Says Thank You to MegaMan X For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th February 2013, 12:40 AM   |  #2  
mondokat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 55
 
248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MegaMan X

The Galaxy S3 supports IPv4 and IPv6 PDP so now you can 'dual stack'

APN setup instructions:

*** snip ***

(Technically you have been able to do this for a couple of weeks but it was broken due to DNS issues-striped AAAAs, which was resolved yesterday)

Easiest way is to try it and then visit http://test-ipv6.com.

You should score a 9/10 (DNS server isn't dual-stacked, not a problem for now).

Awesome, thanks! That's pretty cool!
16th February 2013, 06:48 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Re: Dual Stack (IPv4 + IPv6) Now enabled
Does this increase performance or something? Whats it do?
The Following User Says Thank You to gyggyty For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th February 2013, 07:29 PM   |  #4  
ktetreault14's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Largo
Thanks Meter: 1,102
 
2,749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Re: Dual Stack (IPv4 + IPv6) Now enabled
Don't know what it does.. But u did anyway

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
16th February 2013, 07:43 PM   |  #5  
The_F_Word's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 104
 
578 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Re: Dual Stack (IPv4 + IPv6) Now enabled
Sooooo..... How does this work?

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
16th February 2013, 08:24 PM   |  #6  
Romcrazguy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 306
 
644 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
Re: Dual Stack (IPv4 + IPv6) Now enabled
I did this but did notice a decrease in speed by 3mbps

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
16th February 2013, 08:56 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
Re: Dual Stack (IPv4 + IPv6) Now enabled
IPv6 is just larger addresses for internet protocol. Allows more addresses only.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
17th February 2013, 05:38 PM   |  #8  
mondokat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 55
 
248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gyggyty

Does this increase performance or something? Whats it do?

It lets you reach ipv6 only websites that you wouldn't otherwise be able to reach, which will be more and more over time.
21st February 2013, 07:36 AM   |  #9  
tamasrepus's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MegaMan X

The Galaxy S3 supports IPv4 and IPv6 PDP so now you can 'dual stack'

What baseband are you using? Have you actually tried this to verify it works on the S3?

IPv6 has been broken for me (and everyone else) in both T999UVDLJA and T999UVDLJC; if you try to connect to an IPv6 host (e.g. Website), your data connection will drop a few minutes later. I tried the dual-stack IPv4/IPv6 and it makes no difference.

Ref: Don't update the GS3 to Jellybean 4.1 if you like IPv6
21st February 2013, 06:21 PM   |  #10  
OP Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 36
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by tamasrepus

What baseband are you using? Have you actually tried this to verify it works on the S3?

IPv6 has been broken for me (and everyone else) in both T999UVDLJA and T999UVDLJC; if you try to connect to an IPv6 host (e.g. Website), your data connection will drop a few minutes later. I tried the dual-stack IPv4/IPv6 and it makes no difference.

Ref: Don't update the GS3 to Jellybean 4.1 if you like IPv6

I'm running CM10.1 Nightly (01/14/2013) on a T999v with baseband version T999VVLLE6.

Working perfectly fine on T-Mobile 42Mbps HSPA+ Network.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile Galaxy S III General by ThreadRank