FORUMS

XDA Office Space: Frankenstein’s Perfect IM Client?

The portal’s decentralized XDA office lies in a Hangouts chatroom, where … more

Which IM Client on Android is best?

With so many different messengers to choose from, it can be tough to find the best one for you and … more

Android Factory Reset Security Flaw and More – XDA TV

Nvidia is releasing a 500Gb SHIELD TV Pro! That and much more news is … more

Android M Code Name: Macadamia Nut Cookie

While the official name for the latest iteration of Android has yet to be revealed, the code … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

back up/restore

17th February 2013, 05:27 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
I have h-boot 1.14 withe twrp recovery, I backed up my phone with a previous rom i had and my question is would I have to install the image again after i restore the phone or should the phone restore without any problems.
 
 
17th February 2013, 05:41 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag san fran california
Thanks Meter: 448
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cal4877

I have h-boot 1.14 withe twrp recovery, I backed up my phone with a previous rom i had and my question is would I have to install the image again after i restore the phone or should the phone restore without any problems.

Most of the time yes you will have to install the boot .img manually coming from a different base or Rom... But say if you're on viper and your back up is the same base sense Rom you probably wouldn't have to reflash it... But if coming from cm10 or anything else yes
17th February 2013, 05:47 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by a box of kittens

Most of the time yes you will have to install the boot .img manually coming from a different base or Rom... But say if you're on viper and your back up is the same base sense Rom you probably wouldn't have to reflash it... But if coming from cm10 or anything else yes

Awesome thanks man, also im currently running nocturnals dirty rom I believe this is a AOKP rom, now if i want to flash another AOKP or any other CM10 base rom wouldnt the image be the same? or the i have to flash another image of the rom aswell?
17th February 2013, 05:58 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag san fran california
Thanks Meter: 448
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cal4877

Awesome thanks man, also im currently running nocturnals dirty rom I believe this is a AOKP rom, now if i want to flash another AOKP or any other CM10 base rom wouldnt the image be the same? or the i have to flash another image of the rom aswell?

Be safe and flash it
17th February 2013, 06:18 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Flag knoxville
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Re: back up/restore
Is it necessary to reflash rom before restore or can you just fastboot flash boot.IMG and just restore backup?

Sent from my One X using xda premium
17th February 2013, 06:32 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
I believe you have to flash boot. IMG and than restore according to the comments up there
17th February 2013, 06:39 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
I just wish we had to option to downgrade the software/hboot without going thru all those steps listed, I remeber i had the htc inspire and you will be able to downgrade hboot by choosing a downgraded version of Ruuu files.
17th February 2013, 06:44 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag san fran california
Thanks Meter: 448
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cal4877

I just wish we had to option to downgrade the software/hboot without going thru all those steps listed, I remeber i had the htc inspire and you will be able to downgrade hboot by choosing a downgraded version of Ruuu files.

Yeah I loved the inspire that's what got me into android... But I got my phone on hboot 1.09 I've never done the downgrade process but I heard it can be pretty simple
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes