Post Reply

GPS issues

OP droidxxxxx

17th February 2013, 03:14 PM   |  #11  
droidxxxxx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
889 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Re: GPS issues
Guess I'm gonna have to go back to 4.1..sucks because the liquid 4.2.2 runs really nice w awesome battery.. I just need my GPS to work solid..

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
17th February 2013, 05:18 PM   |  #12  
sweeds's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 73
 
304 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
I read on XDA, someone talked to a Verizon rep and said it's a VZW bug, not ROM/phone related. This worked for me, here's the fix:
  1. Clear Data on Maps
  2. Clear Data on Google Services Framework
  3. Go to Location Services and turn OFF Verizon Location Services (leave other 2 ON)
  4. Reboot Phone
  5. You should now have GPS lock (hopefully)
17th February 2013, 05:31 PM   |  #13  
droidxxxxx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
889 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweeds

I read on XDA, someone talked to a Verizon rep and said it's a VZW bug, not ROM/phone related. This worked for me, here's the fix:

  1. Clear Data on Maps
  2. Clear Data on Google Services Framework
  3. Go to Location Services and turn OFF Verizon Location Services (leave other 2 ON)
  4. Reboot Phone
  5. You should now have GPS lock (hopefully)

well, i wish i woulda seen this sooner.. lol.. i tried to odin back to root66 with odin mobile, now im all messed up.. im trying to flash with oden through pc now.. keeps failing though.. i can get into stock recovery and downloader mode though, so maybe all is not lost..
17th February 2013, 07:47 PM   |  #14  
sweeds's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 73
 
304 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by droidxxxxx

well, i wish i woulda seen this sooner.. lol.. i tried to odin back to root66 with odin mobile, now im all messed up.. im trying to flash with oden through pc now.. keeps failing though.. i can get into stock recovery and downloader mode though, so maybe all is not lost..

If you can get into download mode, you're still OK - you just need to odin via PC. Check the MD5 and filesize of your root66.tar, if it's failing it's most likely a corrupt download. If they match and it still fails, what is the error message that comes up? Once you flash the stock img, get superuser and a custom recovery, and from there I hope you made a nandroid or can clean flash a new ROM. Hope this all helps.
The Following User Says Thank You to sweeds For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2013, 08:29 PM   |  #15  
droidxxxxx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
889 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Re: GPS issues
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweeds

If you can get into download mode, you're still OK - you just need to odin via PC. Check the MD5 and filesize of your root66.tar, if it's failing it's most likely a corrupt download. If they match and it still fails, what is the error message that comes up? Once you flash the stock img, get superuser and a custom recovery, and from there I hope you made a nandroid or can clean flash a new ROM. Hope this all helps.

I'm all back up and running.. I was able to Odin back to root66 finally..then from there unlocked bootloader..reflashed liquid 4.2.2..seems my GPS issues might be fixed..thanks for your concern.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
17th February 2013, 08:34 PM   |  #16  
sweeds's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 73
 
304 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Re: GPS issues
Quote:
Originally Posted by droidxxxxx

I'm all back up and running.. I was able to Odin back to root66 finally..then from there unlocked bootloader..reflashed liquid 4.2.2..seems my GPS issues might be fixed..thanks for your concern.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

Yeah, I've heard just Odin back to stock and then a clean flash can do the trick. I still recommend getting the app called GPS Status and downloading the aGPS Fix. Good luck!

Sent via SGS3 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to sweeds For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2013, 09:06 PM   |  #17  
droidxxxxx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
889 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Re: GPS issues
Of course I spoke too soon when I look at the 3 choices under location settings it's missing the Verizon setting it actually only has 2 settings plus 1 location setting toggle at the top which activates the 2 at the bottom it's a different layout.. It's gone back to only working what I toggle it on and off again..

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
17th February 2013, 09:22 PM   |  #18  
sweeds's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 73
 
304 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Re: GPS issues
Hmmmm that sounds like the ROM had changed the menu layout. The problem could be a ROM related issue. Have you checked if its been reported in its specific thread?

Also, go to Google Now (or Google Search), hit menu and go to settings. Check that Google's location services are on.

Lastly, I've heard about and seen better GPS with Wifi turned on, even if you're not connected. Try that too.

Sent via SGS3 using Tapatalk
18th February 2013, 01:48 AM   |  #19  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
What worked for me 100% is the app called GPS Status & Toolbox. Worked flawless. I have zero issues and locks solid in less than 20 seconds. That is the longest, usually 5 seconds is normal for me. Program runs when outage GPS enabled and running google maps.
18th February 2013, 02:13 AM   |  #20  
droidxxxxx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
889 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Re: GPS issues
I have tried them..just doesnt work unless i toggle gps on/off..lol..but its strange I can go back to 4.1 and gps works fine... All 4.2 ROMs give me the same issue..the GPS works fine..just doesnt start up on its own when I start maps or something.. I have go toggle GPS..then it works..that goes for any GPS app..just like the one u are talking about..it sounds like your GPS was indeed coming on at least..just weak..my icon doesn't start unless I toggle it after starting GPS app of choice..

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank