Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
View Poll Results: In your opinion, when looking back at this thread, how easy were the instructions?
Very Easy 88 32.23%
Somewhat Easy 43 15.75%
Easy 71 26.01%
Difficult 29 10.62%
Somewhat Difficult 16 5.86%
Very Difficult 26 9.52%
Voters: 273. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

[BACKUP][RECOVERY] Kindle Fire HD and 2 First Aide Software - Noob (Simple) Version

OP prokennexusa

17th February 2013, 07:41 PM   |  #631  
persano's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 256
 
1,573 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by prokennexusa

Random Username,

We released the update as promised.


Be sure to use the latests version of our software:

Over the last 36 hours we have added:

1. Sony Xloud - Audio Upgrade - Loudspeaker Enhancement Technology
2. Sony Bravia - Video Upgrade - Best Resolution Audio Visual Integrated Architecture
3. Pimp My Beats - Audio Upgrade
4. Lock Screen Upgrade
5. Disable Ads
6. Fix Android Permissions and Anomalies

Kindle Fire First Aide Major Update released 02/17/2013 at 3:46am Version 4.2.30:

Microsoft Windows 64-bit Version: KFFirstAide64.zip

Microsoft Windows 32-bit Version: KFFirstAide32.zip

Microsoft Windows Universal Version: KFFirstAide.zip

RunMe Update not available on this version. Please make sure you are using the latest version of Java SE: Java SE Development Kit 7u13

This release has several Audio and Video updates for the Audiophile*

*Sony Bravia is designed to improve video output through the HDMI Port and Xloud improves the Audio through home Speakers - these two services are truly for the Audiophile, they improve clarity and imaging through complex algorithms - they are designed for the perfectionist.

if you want, add my tweaks too
17th February 2013, 08:10 PM   |  #632  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
.bat file
Hi i can't seem to run the RunMe .bat as administrator even though I am on an admin account, I'm on windows 7 by the way. I have moved the shortcut to the desktop but the icon in step 7 fails to appear and right-clicking and using the run as admin does not create the icon. How can I fix this?
Last edited by killerkarp386; 17th February 2013 at 08:19 PM. Reason: not enough info
17th February 2013, 08:41 PM   |  #633  
prokennexusa's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Petaluma
Thanks Meter: 963
 
2,637 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Kindle Fire HD and 2 First Aide Software - Noob (Simple) Version
Quote:
Originally Posted by conalt

Hopefully I'm not just being thick, but now that you have added more options I am unable to scroll through them, or extend the CMD window to view them all

This is with the 64bit version.

*edit - Even selecting maximise just repositions the window to the top left of the screen but with the same fixed resolution/size. If this was adjustable it would solve the problem.

conalt,

Thank you for letting me know of the problem, it looks like we have to do a sub menu, we will work on that today.
17th February 2013, 08:44 PM   |  #634  
prokennexusa's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Petaluma
Thanks Meter: 963
 
2,637 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Kindle Fire HD and 2 First Aide Software - Noob (Simple) Version
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmrBanawan

Yes, The first 6 options cannot be seen now !

AmrBanawan,

The audio upgrades need to be part of a sub menu, give us 24 hours we will fix that problem.
17th February 2013, 08:46 PM   |  #635  
prokennexusa's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Petaluma
Thanks Meter: 963
 
2,637 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Kindle Fire HD and 2 First Aide Software - Noob (Simple) Version
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thepooch

Install busybox and choose to overwrite all symlinks and run smart install.

Thepooch,

Thank you, we usually push Busybox but it looks like (for some reason) our Busybox is giving us trouble.
17th February 2013, 10:02 PM   |  #636  
prokennexusa's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Petaluma
Thanks Meter: 963
 
2,637 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Exclamation Kindle Fire HD and 2 First Aide MAJOR UPDATE Rev31 02/17/2013 at 12:32pm
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmrBanawan

Yes, The first 6 options cannot be seen now !

AmrBanawan,

The errors is usually caused by one of a few common issues:

1. You extracted the package to the C:\KFFirstAide folder and created a second folder within the main folder. There should be one folder it must be named C:\KFFirstAide. Please move all the contents of the second folder to C:\KFFirstAide then delete the second folder.

2. You extracted the folder and left the number at the end, so if the folder is C:\KFFirstAide32 or C:\KFFirstAide64 the process will fail. The name of the folder should be C:\KFFirstAide. Please remove the 32 or 64 at the end of the folder name.

3. You are missing the Environment Variable of C:\KFFirstAide. Please add C:\KFFirstAide to the Environment Variable in the Microsoft Windows PATH Statement.

4. You have the Android SDK Installed - remove the SDK

When you cleared up the issues then download the latest version of our Software 02/17/2013 at 12:32pm the current version is Rev 31:

Kindle Fire First Aide Revision 31 Major Release - Download the complete package:

Kindle Fire First Aide Microsoft Windows 32-bit Version: KFFirstAide32.zip

Kindle Fire First Aide Microsoft Windows 64-bit Version: KFFirstAide64.zip

Kindle Fire First Aide Microsoft Windows Universal Package: KFFirstAide.zip

Please extract the package as C:\KFFirstAide - BE SURE TO REMOVE THE EXTENSION OF 32 OR 64, since these packages will extract with numbers on the end.

Be sure to add the Windows Environment Variable of C:\KFFirstAide to the Path Statement, if you require instructions please go to the first page of this thread.

Be sure to REMOVE the Android SDK, this will cause the process to fail.
17th February 2013, 10:13 PM   |  #637  
prokennexusa's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Petaluma
Thanks Meter: 963
 
2,637 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Exclamation Kindle Fire HD and 2 First Aide How To Create The Shortcut
Quote:
Originally Posted by killerkarp386

Hi i can't seem to run the RunMe .bat as administrator even though I am on an admin account, I'm on windows 7 by the way. I have moved the shortcut to the desktop but the icon in step 7 fails to appear and right-clicking and using the run as admin does not create the icon. How can I fix this?

killerkarp386,

You first create the shortcut to the desktop, then Right Hand Mouse click on the desktop and select Properties. Once the properties window appears this is where you check the box "Run this program as Administrator". Be sure to add the Windows Environment Variable of C:\KFFirstAide this is a VERY important step.

Read through the instructions very closely if you miss just one step the software will not work as designed.

When you cleared up the issues then download the latest version of our Software 02/17/2013 at 12:32pm the current version is Rev 31:

Kindle Fire First Aide Revision 31 Major Release - Download the complete package:

Kindle Fire First Aide Microsoft Windows 32-bit Version: KFFirstAide32.zip

Kindle Fire First Aide Microsoft Windows 64-bit Version: KFFirstAide64.zip

Kindle Fire First Aide Microsoft Windows Universal Package: KFFirstAide.zip

Please extract the package as C:\KFFirstAide - BE SURE TO REMOVE THE EXTENSION OF 32 OR 64, since these packages will extract with numbers on the end.

Be sure to add the Windows Environment Variable of C:\KFFirstAide to the Path Statement, if you require instructions please go to the first page of this thread.

Be sure to REMOVE the Android SDK, this will cause the process to fail.

Finally, it is very important to make sure you are using the latest version of Java SE:

Java SE Development Kit 7u13
17th February 2013, 10:14 PM   |  #638  
Member
San Antonio
Thanks Meter: 22
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by killerkarp386

Hi i can't seem to run the RunMe .bat as administrator even though I am on an admin account, I'm on windows 7 by the way. I have moved the shortcut to the desktop but the icon in step 7 fails to appear and right-clicking and using the run as admin does not create the icon. How can I fix this?

I too am working from a Win 7 system and cannot force the runme.bat to run as administrator either. I do the following and it works well:

- install KFFirstAide in a folder directly off the file system root: C:\KFFirstAide in my case

- Open an admin command prompt
-- Press windows key or click window's start icon
-- Search for cmd
--right-click top search result (cmd.exe) and select 'Run as administrator' (and say yes to the 'are you sure' nag pop-up)

- Navigate to KFFirstAide directory:
-- cd /
-- cd KFFirstAide (or type CD KFF and press 'tab' and let windows complete the command for you)

- Start utility: runme.bat
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	menu.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	85.0 KB
ID:	1738508   Click image for larger version

Name:	cmdprompt.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	22.5 KB
ID:	1738515  
Last edited by Slimepuppy; 18th February 2013 at 09:44 PM.
17th February 2013, 10:16 PM   |  #639  
prokennexusa's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Petaluma
Thanks Meter: 963
 
2,637 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Exclamation Kindle Fire HD and 2 First Aide MAJOR UPDATE Rev31 02/17/2013 at 12:32pm
Quote:
Originally Posted by persano

if you want, add my tweaks too

persano,

When we get a moment to add additional options we will add your updates to the package.

Latest version of our Software 02/17/2013 at 12:32pm the current version is Rev 31:

Kindle Fire First Aide Revision 31 Major Release - Download the complete package:

Kindle Fire First Aide Microsoft Windows 32-bit Version: KFFirstAide32.zip

Kindle Fire First Aide Microsoft Windows 64-bit Version: KFFirstAide64.zip

Kindle Fire First Aide Microsoft Windows Universal Package: KFFirstAide.zip

Please extract the package as C:\KFFirstAide - BE SURE TO REMOVE THE EXTENSION OF 32 OR 64, since these packages will extract with numbers on the end.

Be sure to add the Windows Environment Variable of C:\KFFirstAide to the Path Statement, if you require instructions please go to the first page of this thread.

Be sure to REMOVE the Android SDK, this will cause the process to fail.

Finally, it is very important to make sure you are using the latest version of Java SE:

Java SE Development Kit 7u13
17th February 2013, 10:25 PM   |  #640  
prokennexusa's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Petaluma
Thanks Meter: 963
 
2,637 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Exclamation Kindle Fire HD and 2 First Aide MAJOR UPDATE Rev31 02/17/2013 at 12:32pm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slimepuppy

I too am working from a Win 7 system and cannot force the runme.bat to run as administrator either. I do the following and it works well:

- install KFFirstAide in a folder directly off the file system root: C:\KFFirstAide in my case

- Open an admin command prompt
-- Press windows buttom or click windows icon
-- Search for cmd
--right-click top search result (cmd.exe) and select 'Run as administrator' (and say yes to the 'are you sure' nag pop-up)

- Navigate to KFFirstAide directory:
-- cd /
-- cd KFFirstAide (or type CD KFF and press 'tab' and let windows complete the command for you)

- Start utility: runme.bat

Slimepuppy,

Thank you Slimepuppy we will add this to the first page instructions.

When you have time, can you test the new options? We updated quite a few items over the last 48 hours. Also, let us know if the menu now fits or do I need to expand the windows further? Currently we are running the Windows at 90x56 - do we need to run 100x56 or will this be too big for the desktop? Drop us a screen shot of the new menu. As soon as you notice the menu getting to long let us know. Since we use a 32" Monitor we will never run out of space but most people are using approximately 1024x768 on there desktop and the menu of anything larger than 100 may be too big. Let us know.

The new version has a modified menu.


Latest version of our Software 02/17/2013 at 12:32pm the current version is Rev 31:

Kindle Fire First Aide Revision 31 Major Release - Download the complete package:

Kindle Fire First Aide Microsoft Windows 32-bit Version: KFFirstAide32.zip

Kindle Fire First Aide Microsoft Windows 64-bit Version: KFFirstAide64.zip

Kindle Fire First Aide Microsoft Windows Universal Package: KFFirstAide.zip

Please extract the package as C:\KFFirstAide - BE SURE TO REMOVE THE EXTENSION OF 32 OR 64, since these packages will extract with numbers on the end.

Be sure to add the Windows Environment Variable of C:\KFFirstAide to the Path Statement, if you require instructions please go to the first page of this thread.

Be sure to REMOVE the Android SDK, this will cause the process to fail.

Finally, it is very important to make sure you are using the latest version of Java SE:

Java SE Development Kit 7u13

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
kfhd system.img restore tool, kindle fire brick, kindle fire recovery, kindle fire restore, kindle fire utility
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes