Post Reply

[Q] Decompiling SystemUI.apk (3G/1x Icon Fix)

OP owensri

28th January 2013, 01:51 AM   |  #11  
t3project's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,373
 
1,543 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by owensri

Awesome, works great! Thanks! Very much appreciated.

now, why cant you get apktool to work on your pc? what is happening?
The Following User Says Thank You to t3project For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th January 2013, 02:18 AM   |  #12  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3project

now, why cant you get apktool to work on your pc? what is happening?


I download the files, and extract them where they say to do so. I can't get it to run at all though. Says the file isn't valid or something like that.
28th January 2013, 02:45 AM   |  #13  
t3project's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,373
 
1,543 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by owensri

I download the files, and extract them where they say to do so. I can't get it to run at all though. Says the file isn't valid or something like that.

firstly make sure you have the JRE/JDK installed from here: http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/ja...ads/index.html
  1. download this file: http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=9390288116658471591
  2. extract it to c:\apktool
  3. copy framework-res.apk to c:\apktool
  4. copy twframework-res.apk to c:\apktool
  5. open a command prompt (with admin privileges if on win8), navigate to c:\apktool
  6. type apktool if framework-res.apk
  7. next type apktool if twframework-res.apk
  8. copy any.apk to c:\apktool
  9. type apktool d any.apk to decompile
  10. edit the files in the c:\apktool\any\ you need changed
  11. to recompile type apktool b any any.apk

there are a few more steps left but you need to be able to get this working first.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to t3project For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th January 2013, 01:27 PM   |  #14  
elniper's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Re: [Q] Decompiling SystemUI.apk (3G/1x Icon Fix)
Quote:
Originally Posted by na7q

DONE. if there's anything else you need PM me or whatever :P
Hit thanks if this worked.

Which rom will this systemui work on, like Lk8 stock deodex or....? Is This systemui stock with the exception of 1x/3x? Thanks....

transmitting from:
GaLaXy Class Starship Enterprise NCC-SPH-L900
Last edited by elniper; 28th January 2013 at 01:30 PM.
17th February 2013, 11:40 PM   |  #15  
M4ver1ck's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rolla, MO
Thanks Meter: 6
 
205 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] Decompiling SystemUI.apk (3G/1x Icon Fix)
Quote:
Originally Posted by owensri

As you all know, Sprint disables the 1x icon from displaying when you are in 1x coverage. It still shows the 3G icon. I know that you can modify the values file and edit the boolean to enable it. I have tried to use apktool and I cannot even get the program to work.

Anyhow, I was wondering if someone who knows how to do this could decompile my SystemUI.apk file, fix it, recompile it and send it back to me. It would be greatly appreciated! Just let me know, and I'll email you my SystemUI.apk file and whatever you may need to get it done.

Thanks,

Rich

Just updated to ma7. Is there any way to get this working again on ma7? Thanks

Sent from my SPH-L900 using xda premium
19th February 2013, 07:09 AM   |  #16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 202
 
1,297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3project

firstly make sure you have the JRE/JDK installed from here: http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/ja...ads/index.html

  1. download this file: http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=9390288116658471591
  2. extract it to c:\apktool
  3. copy framework-res.apk to c:\apktool
  4. copy twframework-res.apk to c:\apktool
  5. open a command prompt (with admin privileges if on win8), navigate to c:\apktool
  6. type apktool if framework-res.apk
  7. next type apktool if twframework-res.apk
  8. copy any.apk to c:\apktool
  9. type apktool d any.apk to decompile
  10. edit the files in the c:\apktool\any\ you need changed
  11. to recompile type apktool b any any.apk

there are a few more steps left but you need to be able to get this working first.

ok thanks for this.. got apktool working finally yah yah.. what are the few more steps left????
this is awsome.. on my way to being a rom developer..
I am sooo excited..
19th February 2013, 06:57 PM   |  #17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 202
 
1,297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3project

firstly make sure you have the JRE/JDK installed from here: http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/ja...ads/index.html

  1. download this file: http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=9390288116658471591
  2. extract it to c:\apktool
  3. copy framework-res.apk to c:\apktool
  4. copy twframework-res.apk to c:\apktool
  5. open a command prompt (with admin privileges if on win8), navigate to c:\apktool
  6. type apktool if framework-res.apk
  7. next type apktool if twframework-res.apk
  8. copy any.apk to c:\apktool
  9. type apktool d any.apk to decompile
  10. edit the files in the c:\apktool\any\ you need changed
  11. to recompile type apktool b any any.apk

there are a few more steps left but you need to be able to get this working first.

Ok well I did this and decompiled flashbar service made a test Color change and than built it back. Installed the new apk into my rom and flashed it and now my multi window does not work.. sooooooo there must be some thing else I need to do. .can someone help please. Anxious to get my first ron going


I DID IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I decompiled an apk made a change abs recompiled it. . I know I know whoopee people do it every day. . But this is my first time. . Yeah Yeah Yeah I did it. .
Last edited by cherylbaker; 19th February 2013 at 09:13 PM.
20th February 2013, 03:05 AM   |  #18  
elniper's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Re: [Q] Decompiling SystemUI.apk (3G/1x Icon Fix)
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3project

firstly make sure you have the JRE/JDK installed from here: http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/ja...ads/index.html

  1. download this file: http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=9390288116658471591
  2. extract it to c:\apktool
  3. copy framework-res.apk to c:\apktool
  4. copy twframework-res.apk to c:\apktool
  5. open a command prompt (with admin privileges if on win8), navigate to c:\apktool
  6. type apktool if framework-res.apk
  7. next type apktool if twframework-res.apk
  8. copy any.apk to c:\apktool
  9. type apktool d any.apk to decompile
  10. edit the files in the c:\apktool\any\ you need changed
  11. to recompile type apktool b any any.apk

there are a few more steps left but you need to be able to get this working first.

t3 can you make this for your MA7 deodex so we can flash this to have the 1x/3x on the new rom?

transmitting from:
GaLaXy Class Starship Enterprise NCC-SPH-L900
23rd February 2013, 09:41 PM   |  #19  
Junior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 2
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Re: [Q] Decompiling SystemUI.apk (3G/1x Icon Fix)
Or would someone be able to make a standalone that would work with any of the TW based MA7 roms?

Sent from my SPH-L900 using xda app-developers app
23rd February 2013, 11:51 PM   |  #20  
t3project's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,373
 
1,543 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by cherylbaker

Ok well I did this and decompiled flashbar service made a test Color change and than built it back. Installed the new apk into my rom and flashed it and now my multi window does not work.. sooooooo there must be some thing else I need to do. .can someone help please. Anxious to get my first ron going


I DID IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I decompiled an apk made a change abs recompiled it. . I know I know whoopee people do it every day. . But this is my first time. . Yeah Yeah Yeah I did it. .

great job cheryl. i just seen your posts. lol


Quote:
Originally Posted by elniper

t3 can you make this for your MA7 deodex so we can flash this to have the 1x/3x on the new rom?

transmitting from:
GaLaXy Class Starship Enterprise NCC-SPH-L900

yes but digitalblur posted his up in a flashable zip in his thread unless you want something totally stock

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes