Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,161 Members 52,470 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Decompiling SystemUI.apk (3G/1x Icon Fix)

Tip us?
 
t3project
Old
#11  
t3project's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,372
Posts: 1,543
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by owensri View Post
Awesome, works great! Thanks! Very much appreciated.
now, why cant you get apktool to work on your pc? what is happening?
The Following User Says Thank You to t3project For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
owensri
Old
#12  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3project View Post
now, why cant you get apktool to work on your pc? what is happening?

I download the files, and extract them where they say to do so. I can't get it to run at all though. Says the file isn't valid or something like that.
 
t3project
Old
#13  
t3project's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,372
Posts: 1,543
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by owensri View Post
I download the files, and extract them where they say to do so. I can't get it to run at all though. Says the file isn't valid or something like that.
firstly make sure you have the JRE/JDK installed from here: http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/ja...ads/index.html
  1. download this file: http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=9390288116658471591
  2. extract it to c:\apktool
  3. copy framework-res.apk to c:\apktool
  4. copy twframework-res.apk to c:\apktool
  5. open a command prompt (with admin privileges if on win8), navigate to c:\apktool
  6. type apktool if framework-res.apk
  7. next type apktool if twframework-res.apk
  8. copy any.apk to c:\apktool
  9. type apktool d any.apk to decompile
  10. edit the files in the c:\apktool\any\ you need changed
  11. to recompile type apktool b any any.apk

there are a few more steps left but you need to be able to get this working first.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to t3project For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
elniper
Old
(Last edited by elniper; 28th January 2013 at 01:30 PM.)
#14  
elniper's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 113
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default Re: [Q] Decompiling SystemUI.apk (3G/1x Icon Fix)

Quote:
Originally Posted by na7q View Post
DONE. if there's anything else you need PM me or whatever :P
Hit thanks if this worked.
Which rom will this systemui work on, like Lk8 stock deodex or....? Is This systemui stock with the exception of 1x/3x? Thanks....

transmitting from:
GaLaXy Class Starship Enterprise NCC-SPH-L900
 
M4ver1ck
Old
#15  
M4ver1ck's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 198
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rolla, MO

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [Q] Decompiling SystemUI.apk (3G/1x Icon Fix)

Quote:
Originally Posted by owensri View Post
As you all know, Sprint disables the 1x icon from displaying when you are in 1x coverage. It still shows the 3G icon. I know that you can modify the values file and edit the boolean to enable it. I have tried to use apktool and I cannot even get the program to work.

Anyhow, I was wondering if someone who knows how to do this could decompile my SystemUI.apk file, fix it, recompile it and send it back to me. It would be greatly appreciated! Just let me know, and I'll email you my SystemUI.apk file and whatever you may need to get it done.

Thanks,

Rich
Just updated to ma7. Is there any way to get this working again on ma7? Thanks

Sent from my SPH-L900 using xda premium

Galaxy Note II
 
cherylbaker
Old
#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 202
Posts: 1,288
Join Date: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3project View Post
firstly make sure you have the JRE/JDK installed from here: http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/ja...ads/index.html
  1. download this file: http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=9390288116658471591
  2. extract it to c:\apktool
  3. copy framework-res.apk to c:\apktool
  4. copy twframework-res.apk to c:\apktool
  5. open a command prompt (with admin privileges if on win8), navigate to c:\apktool
  6. type apktool if framework-res.apk
  7. next type apktool if twframework-res.apk
  8. copy any.apk to c:\apktool
  9. type apktool d any.apk to decompile
  10. edit the files in the c:\apktool\any\ you need changed
  11. to recompile type apktool b any any.apk

there are a few more steps left but you need to be able to get this working first.
ok thanks for this.. got apktool working finally yah yah.. what are the few more steps left????
this is awsome.. on my way to being a rom developer..
I am sooo excited..
 
cherylbaker
Old
(Last edited by cherylbaker; 19th February 2013 at 09:13 PM.)
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 202
Posts: 1,288
Join Date: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3project View Post
firstly make sure you have the JRE/JDK installed from here: http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/ja...ads/index.html
  1. download this file: http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=9390288116658471591
  2. extract it to c:\apktool
  3. copy framework-res.apk to c:\apktool
  4. copy twframework-res.apk to c:\apktool
  5. open a command prompt (with admin privileges if on win8), navigate to c:\apktool
  6. type apktool if framework-res.apk
  7. next type apktool if twframework-res.apk
  8. copy any.apk to c:\apktool
  9. type apktool d any.apk to decompile
  10. edit the files in the c:\apktool\any\ you need changed
  11. to recompile type apktool b any any.apk

there are a few more steps left but you need to be able to get this working first.
Ok well I did this and decompiled flashbar service made a test Color change and than built it back. Installed the new apk into my rom and flashed it and now my multi window does not work.. sooooooo there must be some thing else I need to do. .can someone help please. Anxious to get my first ron going


I DID IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I decompiled an apk made a change abs recompiled it. . I know I know whoopee people do it every day. . But this is my first time. . Yeah Yeah Yeah I did it. .
 
elniper
Old
#18  
elniper's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 113
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default Re: [Q] Decompiling SystemUI.apk (3G/1x Icon Fix)

Quote:
Originally Posted by t3project View Post
firstly make sure you have the JRE/JDK installed from here: http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/ja...ads/index.html
  1. download this file: http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=9390288116658471591
  2. extract it to c:\apktool
  3. copy framework-res.apk to c:\apktool
  4. copy twframework-res.apk to c:\apktool
  5. open a command prompt (with admin privileges if on win8), navigate to c:\apktool
  6. type apktool if framework-res.apk
  7. next type apktool if twframework-res.apk
  8. copy any.apk to c:\apktool
  9. type apktool d any.apk to decompile
  10. edit the files in the c:\apktool\any\ you need changed
  11. to recompile type apktool b any any.apk

there are a few more steps left but you need to be able to get this working first.
t3 can you make this for your MA7 deodex so we can flash this to have the 1x/3x on the new rom?

transmitting from:
GaLaXy Class Starship Enterprise NCC-SPH-L900
 
Enfernus
Old
#19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 10
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Francisco
Default Re: [Q] Decompiling SystemUI.apk (3G/1x Icon Fix)

Or would someone be able to make a standalone that would work with any of the TW based MA7 roms?

Sent from my SPH-L900 using xda app-developers app
 
t3project
Old
#20  
t3project's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,372
Posts: 1,543
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by cherylbaker View Post
Ok well I did this and decompiled flashbar service made a test Color change and than built it back. Installed the new apk into my rom and flashed it and now my multi window does not work.. sooooooo there must be some thing else I need to do. .can someone help please. Anxious to get my first ron going


I DID IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I decompiled an apk made a change abs recompiled it. . I know I know whoopee people do it every day. . But this is my first time. . Yeah Yeah Yeah I did it. .
great job cheryl. i just seen your posts. lol


Quote:
Originally Posted by elniper View Post
t3 can you make this for your MA7 deodex so we can flash this to have the 1x/3x on the new rom?

transmitting from:
GaLaXy Class Starship Enterprise NCC-SPH-L900
yes but digitalblur posted his up in a flashable zip in his thread unless you want something totally stock

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes