Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,001 Members 39,533 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Data Throttling (Unlimited plan)

Tip us?
 
cmjkxa
Old
#91  
cmjkxa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 436
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San diego
Default Re: Data Throttling (Unlimited plan)

They are two separate data plans. One with visual voicemail and one without. Switching between the two every time you're throttled will get you unthrottled.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using xda premium
 
Bajanman
Old
#92  
Bajanman's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 4872
Posts: 5,586
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Los Angeles Ca.

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: Data Throttling (Unlimited plan)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmjkxa View Post
They are two separate data plans. One with visual voicemail and one without. Switching between the two every time you're throttled will get you unthrottled.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using xda premium
I understand that was just saying I switch awhile ago to with VV, & I haven't had any throttling issues. Tnx

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Xparent SkyBlue Tapatalk 2
I CAN'T PROMISE to fix all your problems but I CAN PROMISEyou won't face them alone.


Rom
[4.4.2]DN5v2
FAQ

 
nidnarb
Old
#93  
nidnarb's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 85
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bellingham
Default Re: Data Throttling (Unlimited plan)

We don't have 4glte here in Bellingham, was but every other month I get throttled using the LTE apn. I just switch to the wap.cingular one and I'm fine until billing cycle resets. It's funny cause some months I use 10gb and no throttle then another month right at 5 bam. They reasoning here is ridiculous. My two cents

Edit: once we get lte here I will try this trick. Thanks!
Sent from my SGH-I317 using xda premium
 
LuckyColdJohnson
Old
#94  
LuckyColdJohnson's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 408
Posts: 864
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Garland, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Unhappy Only bad thing about that is.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bajanman View Post
I understand that was just saying I switch awhile ago to with VV, & I haven't had any throttling issues. Tnx

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Xparent SkyBlue Tapatalk 2
If you use or have VV installed, I heard AT&T can tell if you tether....They can kick you off your unlimited data plan.(Fox-Fi) Custom ROMs.....ETC
 
Bajanman
Old
#95  
Bajanman's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 4872
Posts: 5,586
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Los Angeles Ca.

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: Data Throttling (Unlimited plan)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LuckyColdJohnson View Post
If you use or have VV installed, I heard AT&T can tell if you tether....They can kick you off your unlimited data plan.(Fox-Fi) Custom ROMs.....ETC
Not installed. Just changed my account to have it on there, is what I'm saying. But thanx for the info. Yeah I got one of those tether msg from them after tethering my Xbox to play live. Lol

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Xparent SkyBlue Tapatalk 2
I CAN'T PROMISE to fix all your problems but I CAN PROMISEyou won't face them alone.


Rom
[4.4.2]DN5v2
FAQ

 
BlackPhantomX
Old
#96  
BlackPhantomX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 101
Posts: 258
Join Date: Dec 2012
Don't have VV installed, but I also got the tether message after tethering my laptop and iPad to it. Could it be the VV service, itself?
 
serranom
Old
#97  
serranom's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 150
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default Re: Data Throttling (Unlimited plan)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LuckyColdJohnson View Post
If you use or have VV installed, I heard AT&T can tell if you tether....They can kick you off your unlimited data plan.(Fox-Fi) Custom ROMs.....ETC
I have the VV and tether all the time but I stay below 7 gb per month. Att has never said anything to me about tethering. I use to do the same thing on my skyrocket and I had VV on that one too. Actually the only time I was rold anything is when I has an iphone 3gs. But I no longer use Iphones I do not like them.


Sent from my Note 2 on CleanROM 1.2 using xda app-developers app
 
ultravorx
Old
#98  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 105
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default Re: Data Throttling (Unlimited plan)

So I am able to change apn but cannot change the network operators to disable lte.

Im on clean rom 4.5.

Once the apn is changed how to I turn off the lte on this rom?

Frank

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using xda premium
 
Bajanman
Old
#99  
Bajanman's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 4872
Posts: 5,586
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Los Angeles Ca.

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: Data Throttling (Unlimited plan)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackPhantomX View Post
Don't have VV installed, but I also got the tether message after tethering my laptop and iPad to it. Could it be the VV service, itself?
That's what I'm thinking it might b also!





Quote:
Originally Posted by serranom View Post
I have the VV and tether all the time but I stay below 7 gb per month. Att has never said anything to me about tethering. I use to do the same thing on my skyrocket and I had VV on that one too. Actually the only time I was rold anything is when I has an iphone 3gs. But I no longer use Iphones I do not like them.


Sent from my Note 2 on CleanROM 1.2 using xda app-developers app

Have never ever owned any Crapple phone! But you have VV on your account? Or on the account& the app installed. My question is do you even use the VV service at all? Or just on the account like a lot of us. And I don't use the AT&T VV service. I use Visual Voicemail Plus for the pass 4yrs. https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...cemailplus.and
Just like VV but better!



Quote:
Originally Posted by ultravorx View Post
So I am able to change apn but cannot change the network operators to disable lte.

Im on clean rom 4.5.

Once the apn is changed how to I turn off the lte on this rom?

Frank

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using xda premium
Ok so you just want your phone to run as a 3G phone? Because you don't want LTE on your phone. Ok on this page they show you how to unlock our phones 4 FREE. :thumbup:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2014982

But I noticed that when I did the unlock you can also go into the network and change the setting. But: #1. CHECK TO SEE WHAT YOU NEED TO CHANGE IN THE SETTING TO STOP THE LTE SVC. Search button is your friend

JUST MY 2

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Xparent SkyBlue Tapatalk 2
I CAN'T PROMISE to fix all your problems but I CAN PROMISEyou won't face them alone.


Rom
[4.4.2]DN5v2
FAQ

 
BlackPhantomX
Old
#100  
BlackPhantomX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 101
Posts: 258
Join Date: Dec 2012
The other possibility from what I've Goggled is that it's the APN. They use a specific APN setting that allows them to detect tethering. How or which APN setting is beyond me at the moment.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes