Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Unlock code not working

OP DarkW12

18th February 2013, 05:54 PM   |  #1  
DarkW12's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
I have entered the unlock code I received from AT&T and it tells me the request was unsuccesful. Any ideas as to why this might happen?
18th February 2013, 06:53 PM   |  #2  
Phalanx7621's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Delaware
Thanks Meter: 2,047
 
4,452 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Re: [Q] Unlock code not working
Well you could start with any kind of information about what ROM you're running

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
18th February 2013, 07:06 PM   |  #3  
DarkW12's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phalanx7621

Well you could start with any kind of information about what ROM you're running

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

I am running stock rom, I just updated to 4.0.4 from Kies
19th February 2013, 10:50 PM   |  #4  
DarkW12's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Re: [Q] Unlock code not working
I downgraded to 2.3.4 and manged to unlock it via root and program. Is there a way to update to 4.0.4 again without losing sim unlock?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I777 using xda app-developers app
19th February 2013, 11:19 PM   |  #5  
BeenAndroidized's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 102
 
1,255 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkW12

I downgraded to 2.3.4 and manged to unlock it via root and program. Is there a way to update to 4.0.4 again without losing sim unlock?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I777 using xda app-developers app

Why not just goes with the JellyBean? You are alreaedy rooted.
20th February 2013, 10:44 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
I was also slightly reluctant to go the app route to unlock the sim on mine, especially since the "legit" way seemed to be trouble free. On 4.0.4, I used #7465625*638*# to bring up the sim unlock prompt, worked without a hitch.

The AT&T rep also noted to me that you get 5 attempts before its permanently locked? any truth to that?
21st February 2013, 05:15 AM   |  #7  
nycmalu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
145 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Re: [Q] Unlock code not working
I originally posted this in the AOKP thread, since that's what I am currently running. I'll just paste what I had there for now.

Quote:

Well, I'll be out of the country for a month or so, and I called AT&T to get the unlock code, which they gave to me after a few minutes of discussion as to why I needed it. However, putting it in yielded no results. I asked earlier (maybe in a different thread) if running an aftermarket ROM would have any effect, and I was told it would not. Was I told something wrong?

After doing some research, it seems that AOSP based ROMs seem to have issues with unlock codes. I'd rather not downgrade all the way back to stock, so if anyone has any suggestions or thoughts, I'd appreciate it.
21st February 2013, 06:28 PM   |  #8  
DarkW12's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeenAndroidized

Why not just goes with the JellyBean? You are alreaedy rooted.

Which rom did you use to upgrade to JellyBean? I have seen a few of them but don't know which one to use, plus will I be able to unlock the phone?
21st February 2013, 08:52 PM   |  #9  
BeenAndroidized's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 102
 
1,255 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] Unlock code not working
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkW12

Which rom did you use to upgrade to JellyBean? I have seen a few of them but don't know which one to use, plus will I be able to unlock the phone?

Shostock3. The current version is v2.5.1. Don't know about unlock. I am already unlocked officially by the vendor.

Sent from my SGH-I777 using xda app-developers app
Last edited by BeenAndroidized; 21st February 2013 at 08:54 PM.
22nd February 2013, 03:38 PM   |  #10  
DarkW12's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Re: [Q] Unlock code not working
Yeah I finally managed to unlock it. I entered the MCC/MNC number for the SIM I am using and it worked. But you need the unlock code to add them. I will post the steps later.

[Edit]
Here are the steps I followed:

1. Turn the phone Wi-Fi OFF and then turn device ON without SIM card.
2. Type *7465625*638*#
3. You will see the NETWORK LOCK screen
4. In MCC/MNC field, enter MCC/MNC code for the provider you want to use. (example: enter 310260 if you want to use this phone for T-mobile USA Sim Card; 310410 or 310380 for AT&T). Check this link for complete MCCMNC for your provider: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mobile_Network_Code (It is very important to try all the MCC/MNC code if your New Sim Card Network has more than one code)
5. In CONTROL KEY field, enter the Unlock Code
6. Press OK
7. You should get a message: LOCK SUCCESSFUL
8. Turn off your phone, insert your New Network Sim Card and power ON. The phone should be unlocked.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I777 using xda app-developers app
Last edited by DarkW12; 22nd February 2013 at 05:17 PM.

The Following User Says Thank You to DarkW12 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes