FORUMS

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (June 27 – July 4)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

HTC One M9 Developer Edition Android 5.1 OTA

The Developer Edition of the HTC One M9 is receiving an over-the-air update to Android 5.1. … more

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

Ram always at 1.12 gb!!

965 posts
Thanks Meter: 94
 
By mezo91, Senior Member on 19th February 2013, 12:44 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Usually my ram is at 500-600mb at normal usage but now after I installed antutu benchmark test from play store it keeps increasing to .9gb to 1.12gb with no usuage at all I clear ram leave it then check it out after hour or so the ram fills up and draining the battery with 10% drained I restarted the phone same thing even with uninstalling the app it is really annoying draining the battery like that and having ram at this level what do u think I should do or what is causing it.

Thanks

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda app-developers app
 
 
19th February 2013, 01:33 PM |#2  
mezo91's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cairo
Thanks Meter: 94
 
More
Re: Ram always at 1.12 gb!!
See it just keeps filling like that

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda app-developers app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1361280786057.jpg
Views:	198
Size:	51.4 KB
ID:	1743171   Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1361280802823.jpg
Views:	188
Size:	37.4 KB
ID:	1743172  
19th February 2013, 01:48 PM |#3  
dr.ketan's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Gujarat
Thanks Meter: 39,212
 
Donate to Me
More
It will remain always like that. you need not to do anything, android itself having LMK(low memory killing) and will make free whenever it needs.
So keep as it is, It's good for health.
PS : Though you want to keep free, use option limit background process in developer option in setting, don't know ultimately how much it will improve battery, but surely it will take time to open application.
Last edited by dr.ketan; 19th February 2013 at 01:51 PM.
19th February 2013, 02:17 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Don't worry too much about RAM usage, and don't use task killers. Unlike with Windows or your usual linux distribution, android has control on which app stays in memory and which one is killed. And it is pretty good at managing this without user intervention.
As for battery life, I recommend BetterBatteryStats if you whant to know what is draining it. But by personal experience, I think you should look at apps that use background data connection, like Facebook.
19th February 2013, 03:49 PM |#5  
kylec's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Brisbane
Thanks Meter: 185
 
More
Re: Ram always at 1.12 gb!!
Mine always sits around 1.55 - 1.65ghz lol

Edit: I just realised I wrote GHz instead of GB. *facepalm* fail on my behalf lol

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda premium
Last edited by kylec; 20th February 2013 at 10:49 AM.
19th February 2013, 05:00 PM |#6  
UtkarshGupta's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 4,372
 
More
Re: Ram always at 1.12 gb!!
Gosh there is difference between cpu and ram

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda app-developers app
19th February 2013, 09:47 PM |#7  
mezo91's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cairo
Thanks Meter: 94
 
More
Re: Ram always at 1.12 gb!!
I did a factory reset and same problem still exist ram at 0.95gb - 1.12gb why. When I usually do factory reset it settles at 500-600mb now with no apps it is high as mentioned above.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda app-developers app
19th February 2013, 10:19 PM |#8  
mezo91's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cairo
Thanks Meter: 94
 
More
Re: Ram always at 1.12 gb!!
I'm annoyed because it wasn't like that before and annoyed me more when I did a factory reset and found ram high as before :banghead:

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda app-developers app
20th February 2013, 04:19 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 303
 
More
Re: Ram always at 1.12 gb!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by mezo91

I'm annoyed because it wasn't like that before and annoyed me more when I did a factory reset and found ram high as before :banghead:

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda app-developers app

Does anything not work as you think it should? Or is this just a matter of numbers? Any performance issues?

See what I'm getting at?

What's the problem?
20th February 2013, 10:50 AM |#10  
kylec's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Brisbane
Thanks Meter: 185
 
More
Re: Ram always at 1.12 gb!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by UtkarshGupta

Gosh there is difference between cpu and ram

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda app-developers app

Lol I know there's a difference. Just a fail typo on my behalf haha

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda premium
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes