Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Guide][ARM now supported] Android development/debugging on ChromeOS - ADB & fastboot

OP Quinny899

20th February 2013, 11:29 AM   |  #1  
Quinny899's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Bolton le Sands, Near Lancaster, UK
Thanks Meter: 3,953
 
6,319 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
What you need to know before we begin:
ChromeOS (Or Chromium OS if you installed it on a non-chromebook) is based on Unix, and you can access a terminal with button combinations. This part of the guide is easy, but if I can get apt-get working, that's where it gets really complex.

What you'll need
A computer running ChromeOS/Chromium OS
An internet connection on it, or the files on a USB drive (and you to copy them to Downloads)
A little Linux knowledge
Some patience

1.) Download the correct files for system:
ChromeOS/ChromiumOS on an x86 based PC
ChromeOS on an ARM based PC
2.) When the zip has downloaded, extract it so both the adb and fastboot files are in the Downloads folder
3.) It's now time to access the terminal mode. It might be a good idea to get this guide on a phone or some other device so you don't have to switch out at any time.
If you're using a chromebook or an official chromeOS build, you need to access developer mode. Note: this will wipe all your data for security reasons. Full info is here: Chromium Project: Developer mode
4.) Press Ctrl-Alt-F2 on your keyboard, and the whole screen will be a terminal. Read the info at the top, and then login
NOTE: If you're using Chromium OS vanilla builds, the username and password are as follows:
Code:
User: chronos
Pass: facepunch
5.) You now have a localhost terminal, with no root permissions.
6.) Run this code, to locate the location of your Downloads folder:
Code:
ls /home
7.) Mount the filesystem as follows:
Code:
mount -o remount,rw /
8.) Using the name other than "root" and "user", run these commands:
Code:
cp /home/<name>/user/Downloads/adb /sbin/adb
For example, the Chromium one would be:
Code:
cp /home/chronos/user/Downloads/adb /sbin/adb
Repeat for Fastboot (replace "adb" with "fastboot" without the quotes)
9.) Test that it has worked by running:
Code:
adb
It should result in adb working
10.) You're done, adb and fastboot should work. You might need to reboot in some cases for it to work fully
11.) For more stuff, like Java and ant, wait a while until I work out how to get apt-get installed from dpkg

Credits:
Thanks to KMyers for compiling Fastboot for ARM devices, thread here
Attached Files
File Type: zip adb-fastboot-chromeos-x86.zip - [Click for QR Code] (574.9 KB, 1754 views)
File Type: zip adb-fastboot-chromeos-arm.zip - [Click for QR Code] (410.3 KB, 1580 views)
Last edited by Quinny899; 14th May 2013 at 12:37 PM.
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to Quinny899 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th February 2013, 11:30 AM   |  #2  
Quinny899's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Bolton le Sands, Near Lancaster, UK
Thanks Meter: 3,953
 
6,319 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Reserved
20th February 2013, 11:30 AM   |  #3  
Quinny899's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Bolton le Sands, Near Lancaster, UK
Thanks Meter: 3,953
 
6,319 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
And again
20th February 2013, 11:31 AM   |  #4  
Quinny899's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Bolton le Sands, Near Lancaster, UK
Thanks Meter: 3,953
 
6,319 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Once more, just in case
12th April 2013, 04:18 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Whenever I go to check my path I get this response:

"cat: /usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/opt/bin:/home/chronos/user/Downloads/android-sdk-linux/platform-tools: no such file or directory"

Help?
12th April 2013, 10:53 AM   |  #6  
Quinny899's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Bolton le Sands, Near Lancaster, UK
Thanks Meter: 3,953
 
6,319 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by awacker89

Whenever I go to check my path I get this response:

"cat: /usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/opt/bin:/home/chronos/user/Downloads/android-sdk-linux/platform-tools: no such file or directory"

Help?

That is perfectly normal, every Linux based thing says no file or directory after the path to my knowledge

Sent from my GALAXY NEXUS using Tapatalk 4 (VIP)
12th April 2013, 06:42 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quinny899

That is perfectly normal, every Linux based thing says no file or directory after the path to my knowledge

Sent from my GALAXY NEXUS using Tapatalk 4 (VIP)

And so it seems! Now it appears that any adb command returns a "Permission denied" message. Ideas?

Update: Same response for fastboot commands.
Last edited by awacker89; 12th April 2013 at 06:45 PM.
13th April 2013, 11:16 AM   |  #8  
Quinny899's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Bolton le Sands, Near Lancaster, UK
Thanks Meter: 3,953
 
6,319 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by awacker89

And so it seems! Now it appears that any adb command returns a "Permission denied" message. Ideas?

Update: Same response for fastboot commands.

Try this:
Code:
cd /home/chronos/user/Downloads/android-sdk-linux/platform-tools
chmod 755 adb
chmod 755 fastboot
Then exit back to the login screen on the terminal, login again and try running adb
14th April 2013, 04:57 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quinny899

Try this:

Code:
cd /home/chronos/user/Downloads/android-sdk-linux/platform-tools
chmod 755 adb
chmod 755 fastboot
Then exit back to the login screen on the terminal, login again and try running adb

Still no dice

I'm starting to lose hope. I just keep getting "permission denied."

I thought maybe trying this would do the trick but still no response.
[code]
sudo ./adb devices
[code]

P.S. Guess I should mention that running just adb returns command not found, so I've been using ./adb. Maybe I just don't know what the hell I'm doing but I just can't get it to work.
23rd April 2013, 02:50 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Hmmm. Well, The SDKx86 (87mb) that were in the instructions so, I downloaded the ADT (399mb) instead, just a hint.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes