Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,023 Members 41,062 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Messed with DPI settings?

Tip us?
 
mindmajick
Old
#1  
mindmajick's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2886
Posts: 3,494
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Q] Messed with DPI settings?

Has anyone messed with their DPI settings on Cm10.1 or one of the other AOSP ROMs?

What have you tried and what were the results?

I already know the stock OS isn't very DPI friendly, but haven't messed with 10.1 yet.

If I don't get any responses I'll try a few myself and post in this thread.

Expect to be thanked for participating

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2
 
mindmajick
Old
#2  
mindmajick's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2886
Posts: 3,494
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [Q] Messed with DPI settings?

Is it really that dead over here? Wow...

--
Sent from my Kindle Fire 2, CM 10.1
 
chronicfathead
Old
(Last edited by chronicfathead; 20th February 2013 at 07:46 AM.)
#3  
chronicfathead's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 168
Posts: 609
Join Date: Mar 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [Q] Messed with DPI settings?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mindmajick View Post
Is it really that dead over here? Wow...

--
Sent from my Kindle Fire 2, CM 10.1
_____________#_____________

That was some tumble weed. I don't feel the need to change my DPI, but might have a quick play.

EDIT: Tried 140 on Hash codes 4.2.2. Everything was slightly smaller, but I had issues with Flip board not showing articles. I'm sure you are on Power points ROM, so you should be OK.

Warning: I'm not sure if changing the DPI on the standard Kindle ROM killed it, so only try that if you are prepared to recover everything.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire2 using Tapatalk HD
The Following User Says Thank You to chronicfathead For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mindmajick
Old
#4  
mindmajick's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2886
Posts: 3,494
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [Q] Messed with DPI settings?

Yeah, I definitely wouldn't try it on stock. Thanks for the warning though.

And as you astutely noticed, I AM running PowerPoint's ROM on my kf2.

Thanks again for participating

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2
 
mindmajick
Old
#5  
mindmajick's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2886
Posts: 3,494
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [Q] Messed with DPI settings?

I've now tried quite a few different dpi settings with no major issues.

Have tried 160 (standard setting)
Tried 240- gigantic
Tried a few others but eventually went back to 160 since it seems to be the "sweet spot".

--
Sent from my Kindle Fire 2, CM 10.1
 
persano
Old
#6  
persano's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 245
Posts: 1,554
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mindmajick View Post
I've now tried quite a few different dpi settings with no major issues.

Have tried 160 (standard setting)
Tried 240- gigantic
Tried a few others but eventually went back to 160 since it seems to be the "sweet spot".

--
Sent from my Kindle Fire 2, CM 10.1
and the best for the stock rom?


Help a Good Cause http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2666458 Help us releasing the kernel
 
mindmajick
Old
#7  
mindmajick's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2886
Posts: 3,494
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [Q] Messed with DPI settings?

Quote:
Originally Posted by persano View Post
and the best for the stock rom?
I'm going to guess stock dpi. I strongly doubt the launcher will cooperate.

But since i have sgt7 and/or cm10.1, i won't be going back to stock...

--
Sent from my Kindle Fire 2, CM 10.1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...