Post Reply

S-Off

OP dsb9938

20th February 2013, 06:45 PM   |  #111  
Azbulldog's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Re: S-Off
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbrown245

Ok guys I need a hand , my phone is unlocked and rooted , now my computer won't recognize it is connected in adb " error device not found " I have went back to a stock Rom , stock kernel and still nothing . I can't s-off without this . In the DNA all in one tools it will respond but it won't in a cmd line , I have reinstalled android sdk and all that but still nothing , tried other usb ports , nada ,,,,, any other suggestions ????? Thanks

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda premium

Most of my problems came from USB drivers and Windows 8 complications. Make sure you still have working ones installed like from HTC Sync.
The Following User Says Thank You to Azbulldog For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th February 2013, 07:14 PM   |  #112  
cbrown245's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland
Thanks Meter: 706
 
1,336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wpsantennas

No, I flashed PL8320000-DNA.zip using "fastboot flash zip PL8320000-DNA.zip" with PL8320000-DNA.zip in the fastboot/adb folder on my PC.

Essentially, I followed the S-OFF instructions exactly until step 8 (where you've booted Android w/o eMMC write protection.)

ok so fastboot commands worked for you ?
20th February 2013, 07:35 PM   |  #113  
wpsantennas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbrown245

ok so fastboot commands worked for you ?

Yeah, adb and fastboot work for me until Android boots up.
20th February 2013, 07:40 PM   |  #114  
cbrown245's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland
Thanks Meter: 706
 
1,336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Re: S-Off
After I get off work I will try and use the fastboot commands

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda premium
20th February 2013, 07:42 PM   |  #115  
wpsantennas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azbulldog

Most of my problems came from USB drivers and Windows 8 complications. Make sure you still have working ones installed like from HTC Sync.

Thx. I'm on Windows 7 but I re-installed HTC Sync and now adb is working for me with android booted.
21st February 2013, 02:56 AM   |  #116  
wpsantennas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbrown245

After I get off work I will try and use the fastboot commands

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda premium

Any luck?
21st February 2013, 04:13 AM   |  #117  
cbrown245's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland
Thanks Meter: 706
 
1,336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wpsantennas

Any luck?

I have adb working , now I keep getting that 99 error , its driving me nuts . But thanks Bob
21st February 2013, 04:25 AM   |  #118  
Tidefan13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Re: S-Off
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbrown245

Thanks but that has been on , USB debugging on . I have no idea what else to try . The all in one tool can see the phone and read the CID but ADB is a no go .

Is your pc losing connection once u booted back into android? Right b4 u run the last 3 commands? Or is your adb not working b4 you've even tried to s-off? Cause my pc lost connection with my phone on that step also and I rebooted my pc and it fixed it for me. If this is not the problem your having then disregard

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
21st February 2013, 04:49 AM   |  #119  
wpsantennas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbrown245

I have adb working , now I keep getting that 99 error , its driving me nuts . But thanks Bob

Not sure if this will help but here is a guy who was getting the 99 error after doing "fastboot flash zip ..." twice which caused data corruption: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=474

Appears that he went into recovery, wiped, and restarted the process. If you have a nandroid backup from before you started the S-OFF process you can try restoring that - it has worked for others. May lose some data but hopefully less than a full wipe.
21st February 2013, 04:51 AM   |  #120  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 531
 
2,373 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Re: S-Off
Quote:
Originally Posted by wpsantennas

Appears that he went into recovery, wiped, and restarted the process. If you have a nandroid backup from before you started the S-OFF process you can try restoring that - it has worked for others. May lose some data but hopefully less than a full wipe.

Do people not know about titanium backup or apps like it. . You should never loose data from wiping your phone.

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes