FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Will any Mini HDMI to HDMI cable work for the Nexus 10? What I mean is, are there different ones, the part you plug into the Nexus, I know there are like tons of different usb connections.

I want to play content on a TV. I found a nice cheap $7.99 cable from Walmart, but don't know if it will do what I want?
 
 
20th February 2013, 06:50 PM |#2  
tysj's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 291
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmancell

Will any Mini HDMI to HDMI cable work for the Nexus 10? What I mean is, are there different ones, the part you plug into the Nexus, I know there are like tons of different usb connections.

I want to play content on a TV. I found a nice cheap $7.99 cable from Walmart, but don't know if it will do what I want?

It is microHDMI. I bought this one from Monoprice for $7.50 and it outputs both audio and video just fine.
20th February 2013, 06:51 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 12
 
Donate to Me
More
So Mini would be a different one then?

Alright, are there USB to HDMI cables available? Does that do everything, any benefits?
20th February 2013, 07:26 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
More
You need a micro hdmi cable for your nexus 10... There are micro Usb to hdmi cables but they are for phones/tabs that use MHL... The nexus 10 has a dedicated hdmi port
4th March 2013, 12:06 PM |#5  
angelbesideu's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Re: HDMI Cable
The the micro hdmi port type D?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
4th March 2013, 12:45 PM |#6  
altimax98's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mulberry, Florida
Thanks Meter: 574
 
More
Re: HDMI Cable
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelbesideu

The the micro hdmi port type D?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

Yes it is a type D (Micro)

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk HD
The Following User Says Thank You to altimax98 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th April 2013, 06:46 PM |#7  
midgetzombiekiller's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag The Colony,Texas
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tysj

It is microHDMI. I bought this one from Monoprice for $7.50 and it outputs both audio and video just fine.

Ordered one of these. I tried another cable from another supplier and it was very flakey! Monoprice rocks!
21st October 2013, 01:32 PM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hey guys.

So I bought one of these, only a 3 foot one, and it's absolutely wonderful.

Two questions though....

How long of a cable can I have before there becomes a streaming issue?

Also, how can I blank the tablet's screen while having it still continue to stream video content?

My device is rooted and I have Xposed framework installed.

Cheers.
21st October 2013, 04:18 PM |#9  
freshlysqueezed's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 165
 
More
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d....screenstandby


I haven't tested it but it seems to be what you are looking for.

Sent from my Evo 4g LTE
The Following User Says Thank You to freshlysqueezed For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st October 2013, 04:23 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by freshlysqueezed

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d....screenstandby


I haven't tested it but it seems to be what you are looking for.

Sent from my Evo 4g LTE

Is there perhaps another method?

The reviews for that application are somewhat intimidating.

Quote:

WTF! This g-d d@mn thing ruined my tablet. I installed it, then it went to screen off mode, which disabled my HDMI out too. So I couldn't see anything, so I turned it off and back on, and when it came back ... it was all reset to factory! everything is gone! Piece of crap

21st October 2013, 04:29 PM |#11  
freshlysqueezed's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 165
 
More
Would definitely do a backup before installing then.

Sent from my Evo 4g LTE

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes