Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,049 Members 39,788 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

I don't get Hspa+ connection everywhere.

Tip us?
 
japjeev
Old
(Last edited by japjeev; 20th February 2013 at 09:35 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default I don't get Hspa+ connection everywhere.

I have a Note II Factory unlocked international edition. I also have a $30 Prepaid plan from T-Mobile which is supposed to give me 4G speeds. I dont get them everywhere. At my house i get the 4G speed however when i go to my school which is a mile away. I only get Edge Connection and sometimes out of the blue i get 4G speed back again. Whats wrong with my phone not gewtting those speeds everywhere? its really annoying
 
D3_
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 411
Posts: 1,224
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London
My guess is their 4G isn't rolled out wherever your school is.
Or it could be the signal being blocked by all the walls and **** in your school.
It's not a problem with your phone, it's the network itself.
 
Ironarm
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by japjeev View Post
I have a Note II Factory unlocked international edition. I also have a $30 Prepaid plan from T-Mobile which is supposed to give me 4G speeds. I dont get them everywhere. At my house i get the 4G speed however when i go to my school which is a mile away. I only get Edge Connection and sometimes out of the blue i get 4G speed back again. Whats wrong with my phone not gewtting those speeds everywhere? its really annoying
I just got my 7100 unlocked as well and I am on the same plan you are on (its a great deal right?). I have the same problem, I'm stuck on EDGE at home (I'm on wi-fi so its not a big deal) but when I am at work my phone goes crazy. It will switch between H+, H, 3g and EDGE all day long. It will have seizures. The crazy thing is, work is about 10 away from my house so....???

I've been trying to unlock the 1700 band but it may not be possible on the GT-7100. when hitting *#7284#. You're supposed to go into the "Qualcomm usb settings" but that option does not exist on my phone. Anywhere. Its just not there. So I'm stuck.

I know Tmobile is in the process of refarming their network to 1900, but I have no idea when they are going to complete that project. Anyone know?

It may turn out that we'll have to either put up with the EDGE speeds or go with Straight Talk...
 
matzone
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 52
Join Date: Jun 2009
Default Re: I don't get Hspa+ connection everywhere.

Pretty much what the guy beneath you has said. I not every provider guarantees that you will get the same speed everywhere. Not even to mention that tmobile is the only major provider in europe with very very bad coverage.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda app-developers app
 
japjeev
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironarm View Post
I just got my 7100 unlocked as well and I am on the same plan you are on (its a great deal right?). I have the same problem, I'm stuck on EDGE at home (I'm on wi-fi so its not a big deal) but when I am at work my phone goes crazy. It will switch between H+, H, 3g and EDGE all day long. It will have seizures. The crazy thing is, work is about 10 away from my house so....???

I've been trying to unlock the 1700 band but it may not be possible on the GT-7100. when hitting *#7284#. You're supposed to go into the "Qualcomm usb settings" but that option does not exist on my phone. Anywhere. Its just not there. So I'm stuck.

I know Tmobile is in the process of refarming their network to 1900, but I have no idea when they are going to complete that project. Anyone know?

It may turn out that we'll have to either put up with the EDGE speeds or go with Straight Talk...
Yes exactly the problem i am facing. its very frustrating. My phone switches with all day long it mostly stays on Edge though.
 
Deusdies
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 345
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: I don't get Hspa+ connection everywhere.

This has nothing to do with your phone. Tmobile USA has not rolled out the compatible 3G frequency yet.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda app-developers app
 
japjeev
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deusdies View Post
This has nothing to do with your phone. Tmobile USA has not rolled out the compatible 3G frequency yet.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda app-developers app
How come my freind who has a S3 gets better signal and better speeds at the same place?
 
Ironarm
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by japjeev View Post
How come my freind who has a S3 gets better signal and better speeds at the same place?
He might have a version that supports the 1700 band

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...