Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

broken volume button after display replacement

OP fredbred

14th July 2012, 10:53 AM   |  #1  
fredbred's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
I have successfully replaced the screen on the HTC HD2 Leo, but after assembling the phone the volume button is not working. I am not sure if there can be something missing as I cannot feel the 'click' when it's pushed. (not sure if it was there before though)

As far as I remember the volume button consist of two parts: the printed circuit and the plastic button. Or is there maybe something that needs to be connected that I have missed?

Thanks for any hints
14th July 2012, 01:17 PM   |  #2  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 448
 
2,786 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredbred

I have successfully replaced the screen on the HTC HD2 Leo, but after assembling the phone the volume button is not working. I am not sure if there can be something missing as I cannot feel the 'click' when it's pushed. (not sure if it was there before though)

As far as I remember the volume button consist of two parts: the printed circuit and the plastic button. Or is there maybe something that needs to be connected that I have missed?

Thanks for any hints

dismantle it again, it can be the plastic button its self, it acts like a spring under its own tension, when I re built mine the first time the lower button had stopped worked well, and it was simple because I hadn't put it back right, it was, and it looked right, but it wasn't quite right
15th July 2012, 05:26 AM   |  #3  
htccraze's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hiding from under the bed
Thanks Meter: 128
 
621 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
I would a agree with dazza9075. Sometimes when putting the phone back together it may look right but sometimes its not. If i remember correctly there is a little spot it fits right into but you need to make sure it goes in in just the right way,
both on the top and the bottom. There is a complete how to guide to replace the lcd screen on the HD2. If i find it I will post the link. It may clear up just how you need to place the vol button back in place. Worse case you can always find a
cheap volume button for only a few dollars on ebay to see if maybe you broke this one when trying to replace the screen.
16th February 2013, 05:30 PM   |  #4  
fredbred's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Hi, I did not manage to fix the button, but managed to get by without it.Till now. I was looking in google for a solution and found my own tread from ages ago...

Now, I would need to put the button together again. I looked into it and I guess I am missing a piece that the plastic button is supposed to be pushing. Before I order something, can anyone please confirm and possibly post a picture of what the button it should look like under the plastic part. Also if you know what the part I need is called, please let know. Please see below how my button "circuit" looks like.

Many thanks for any help
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1120006.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	198.4 KB
ID:	1734773   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1120005.jpg
Views:	137
Size:	257.6 KB
ID:	1734781  
17th February 2013, 06:38 PM   |  #5  
Vesavoj's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 112
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
This is what you should have bellow the button
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	For-Volume-Button-Contact-Chip-for-HTC-Desire-HD2.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	14.3 KB
ID:	1738069  
20th February 2013, 02:43 PM   |  #6  
fredbred's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vesavoj

This is what you should have bellow the button

Thanks for your response. I could not find the buttons separately and have therefore ordered the button ribbon for the 5 hw keys for under $3, which hopefully will be possible to dissemble and transfer. I would rather not buy the whole flex cable, where's the button is attached to, as this is quite expensive $20+.

I let you know if I was lucky. If you know where I can buy only the small pieces I am missing, please let me know.

A pic of what I ordered is attached fyi
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ribbon_hd2.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	5.3 KB
ID:	1745893  
21st February 2013, 01:07 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Królewska Huta
Thanks Meter: 57
 
278 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
i can confirm that you can use buttons from that tape, I've had the same situation, just pick up the circle button and add it to volume tape.

Mine was damaged during assembly, you have to be very carefoul
21st February 2013, 01:48 PM   |  #8  
Mister B's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ratchada (Bangkok)
Thanks Meter: 341
 
1,894 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
More
You can actually do lcd & digi removal & refit without need to remove flex ribbon completely thus keep the volume button & cables running to mainboard all in place and those small button caps are safe still wrapped in original tape & it all goes back together factory style ...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes