Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Carrier limitations in USA

OP theysayimkennyful

5th February 2013, 01:47 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Hi I have been really considering getting the RAZR Maxx HD but I see only Verizon has it on lock, wondering if anyone has tried rooting it to make it usable on other carriers?
5th February 2013, 04:14 PM   |  #2  
TRF-Inferno's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Carrollton, TX
Thanks Meter: 42
 
169 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Somebody was able to modify the RAZR M's radio to work with the Verizon RAZR HD's to use 3G on AT&T and T-Mobile. See below.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=128
5th February 2013, 04:28 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRF-Inferno

Somebody was able to modify the RAZR M's radio to work with the Verizon RAZR HD's to use 3G on AT&T and T-Mobile. See below.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=128

THANK YOU!! I was just wondering if it works on the Razr Maxx HD..
11th February 2013, 04:44 AM   |  #4  
Member
Earth
Thanks Meter: 6
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Angry
^^ WOOOHOOO! Can confirm this works! Currently using it with T-Mobile and in the refarmed area and getting 3G/H+
12th February 2013, 06:14 AM   |  #5  
Member
Earth
Thanks Meter: 6
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Droid Razr HD Maxx w/ T-Mobile 3G/H+
Sorry wanted to post pics but forgot last time lol. Use NV Editor and had no problems. Picked up the APN automatically
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-02-10-20-51-42[1].jpg
Views:	178
Size:	18.1 KB
ID:	1722323   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-02-10-20-51-57[1].jpg
Views:	172
Size:	27.5 KB
ID:	1722324   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-02-10-20-53-18[1].jpg
Views:	176
Size:	37.5 KB
ID:	1722325  
Last edited by mat3usz; 18th February 2013 at 07:38 AM.
20th February 2013, 09:02 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
ive been looking fpr this all day help please
hey man i have the same phone as the pictures u posted, and i really need help getting it to work on the t mobile network and getting atleast decent speeds, do you think you can help me out?
21st February 2013, 06:59 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia, PA
Thanks Meter: 883
 
1,345 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
I will post a HowTo for doing the required NV edit for this mod using RadioComm later tonight after work.
This method avoids the need for force loading the QV Diagnostic Port drivers by using Factory boot mode which allows RadioComm full NV read/write access.
The Following User Says Thank You to cellzealot For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd February 2013, 12:43 AM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Re: Carrier limitations in USA
How is this possible? I thought cdma phones were incompatible with gsm networks and vice versa?

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using xda app-developers app
22nd February 2013, 02:51 AM   |  #9  
Member
Earth
Thanks Meter: 6
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockstarr001

How is this possible? I thought cdma phones were incompatible with gsm networks and vice versa?

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using xda app-developers app

The RAZR HD [Verizon variant] is considered a 'global phone' and can work around the world as it does have not only CDMA/LTE radios, (check it out on gsm arena as can't recall at the moment) but also GSM/3G/H+ as well. Thing is Verizon is stingy and have blocked it so it will not work in the USA without any issues, but all you have to do it change a fw settings in the radio. Funny they are as they just don't LEARN, the first time, nor the second or any other following time by just letting the phone be unlocked as sooner or later, we will get it unlocked or rooted. *sigh, Verizon*

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes