Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,461 Members 47,150 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD][HOWTO]TW Launcher with different grid sizes

Tip us?
 
TTaylor_
Old
(Last edited by TTaylor_; 19th February 2013 at 06:10 PM.)
#61  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default App Launcher Icon

Can anyone tell me how to manipulate the size of the "App" icon? It's the only thing I can't solve?

 
IndicaForest
Old
#62  
IndicaForest's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 25
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lexington
Default Re: [MOD][HOWTO]TW Launcher with different grid sizes

Get nova launcher pro and go into the settings. You can change the icon size through there.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using xda app-developers app
 
TTaylor_
Old
#63  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndicaForest View Post
Get nova launcher pro and go into the settings. You can change the icon size through there.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using xda app-developers app
....Thanks bro, this is a Touchwiz thread though.. Prefer to keep the decent UI of TW or LG. 3rd party launchers are garbage IMO.
 
martyh1
Old
(Last edited by martyh1; 22nd February 2013 at 03:32 AM.)
#64  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 144
Join Date: Apr 2007
Ok. Must have not read this through or did something wrong. This really hosed my Note 2. I had my note 2 rooted but no custom recovery. It has the first update (that includes multi-view). I tried renaming SecLauncher2.apk and then copied over the SecLauncher2.4x5.apk and renamed it to SecLauncher2.apk. I didn't change permissions. I hit the home button and it waited a few seconds, then rebooted. Now its stuck at the Samsung logo. Suggestions? I had a note I before and the typical 3 finger and 2 finger combo on boot aren't working. I'm really hosed here.

update: Fixed it. That was scary. Won't mess with this mod again, at least not for a while. Learned a few things in the process though: The key combos are different than the note 1. You can get to adb shell if you're booted into the stock recovery. Once in there, I could restore the files they way they were before (i.e. mv SecLauncher2save.apk SecLauncher2.apk after renaming that SecLauncher2.apk). After coming up the first time, the launcher was set back to defaults, so I'll have to set up my launcher again, but it's a small price to pay.
 
garyd9
Old
#65  
garyd9's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1976
Posts: 1,951
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Default Re: [MOD][HOWTO]TW Launcher with different grid sizes

Quote:
Originally Posted by martyh1 View Post
Ok. Must have not read this through or did something wrong..
It sounds like your error was using one of the attached examples instead if doing the mod yourself.


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk 2

Donations: I don't accept donations, but if you are feeling charitable, help a child by going to http://www.shrinershospitalsforchildren.org/
and click the "Donate Now" link at the top.
 
martyh1
Old
#66  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 144
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by garyd9 View Post
It sounds like your error was using one of the attached examples instead if doing the mod yourself.
Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk 2
Yes, that's what I did. My mistake (I guess). I think it might be better to remove those attachments, though, since the possibility to really mess up your phone with those is fairly high IMO. And the purpose of the thread seems to be to make those mods yourself anyway. (Again, my mistake for taking the short cut).
 
IndicaForest
Old
#67  
IndicaForest's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 25
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lexington
Default Re: [MOD][HOWTO]TW Launcher with different grid sizes

Quote:
Originally Posted by TTaylor_ View Post
....Thanks bro, this is a Touchwiz thread though.. Prefer to keep the decent UI of TW or LG. 3rd party launchers are garbage IMO.
I dont blame you, man. Im rockin TW right now too haha. Other than nova though thats the only thing I can think of to change the icon size.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using xda premium
 
sling
Old
#68  
sling's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 931
Posts: 1,809
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Va Beach / Hatteras NC

 
DONATE TO ME
Gary
Thanks much for providing info getting me on the right track to 5x6 grid perfection
T-Mobile Galaxy S5 G900T
ROOT: CF-Auto-Root (HERE)
RECOVERY: [klte][CWM Advanced Edition] PhilZ Touch (HERE)
ROM:BeansTown106 - G900TUVU1ANCH 4,4,2 STOCK DEODEX (HERE)
[SlingMods]
ATT Data Icons-v1 (HERE)
SMS/MMS Screen Wake Control-v1 (HERE)
 
hednik
Old
#69  
hednik's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 708
Posts: 1,525
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Fort Worth

 
DONATE TO ME
worked perfectly on at&t i747 . Thank you !
Click thanks if you think I helped you.



Samsung Captivate - CM 11
AT&T Galaxy SII - SHOstock
AT&T Galaxy SII Skyrocket - DEAD
AT&T Galaxy S4 - Beanstalk 4.4 - MDL
MOTO G - Stock




COOK/HACK of BLiNDrom and T-motion RoM
 
aggie6600
Old
#70  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 107
Join Date: Sep 2007
I did this mod on my stock rooted L900 and added auto rotation. Worked great.

I'm running stock rooted which means odexed.
First thing was deodexing SecLauncher2.apk using Univeral Deodexer from abcdjdj

After that I followed the OP instructions, but I really wanted the launcher to auto rotate as well. So I went to res/values/integers.xml and under resources I changed screenOrientation from 1 to 3
<integer name="config_screenOrientation">1</integer> -> <integer name="config_screenOrientation">3</integer>

Changing the cell values for landscape was really common sense after changing the portrait values. Icon labels get a little truncated in landscape mode, but with some tweaks I am sure I could get it right.
Phones:
i500 -> PPC 6600 -> PPC 6700 -> Touch -> Hero -> Evo 4G - CM7 -> Galaxy Nexus LTE -> Galaxy Note 2
Tablets:
Nook Color - CM7 -> TF101 - Revolver -> Nexus 7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes