FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

testers needed- reset your lock status flag

2,598 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,768
 
By scotty1223, Recognized Contributor on 20th February 2013, 11:15 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
22nd February 2013, 03:14 AM |#41  
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Successfully tested the query, unlock, and lock zip files (didn't bother with the relocked one, its kinda pointless anyway). All worked with the newest CWM touch recovery without any errors. I also dumped mmcblk0p3 after testing, and the 01 remained untouched by the zip.

Here are the requested pics:

unlocked, before flashing zip

locked, after flashing zip

unlocked, after reverting from locked with zip
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to CastleBravo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
22nd February 2013, 12:05 PM |#42  
scotty1223's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,768
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CastleBravo

Successfully tested the query, unlock, and lock zip files (didn't bother with the relocked one, its kinda pointless anyway). All worked with the newest CWM touch recovery without any errors. I also dumped mmcblk0p3 after testing, and the 01 remained untouched by the zip.

Here are the requested pics:

unlocked, before flashing zip

locked, after flashing zip

unlocked, after reverting from locked with zip

awsome! thnks for all your support and testing
28th February 2013, 11:30 PM |#43  
Serinety's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Davis, CA
Thanks Meter: 352
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: testers needed- reset your lock status flag
I think the work on this is great. Thanks for the time spent on this.

But... Has anyone had a problem getting replacement devices? I have easily had close to 100 or more replacement devices over the last 10 years as a vzw customer. I'm the guy you all hate, when I scratch my screen I call up customer service and male up some lame excuse about how something isn't working right and they send me a replacement. Point is, I send all my phones back, rooted, unlocked, and running roms. I've never been, ever, had an issue. So while I can appreciate the work being done, I question the necessity.

Can any one tell me why I would ever need to do this? Is the warranty issues I don't know about where being unlocked would cause a problem?


To be clear, I am not in anyway discrediting these guys, what they do is incredible, and I sincerely appreciate it. I just don't know I would use it, so I'd like someone to hook me up with info


Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by Serinety; 28th February 2013 at 11:39 PM.
28th February 2013, 11:55 PM |#44  
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serinety

I think the work on this is great. Thanks for the time spent on this.

But... Has anyone had a problem getting replacement devices? I have easily had close to 100 or more replacement devices over the last 10 years as a vzw customer. I'm the guy you all hate, when I scratch my screen I call up customer service and male up some lame excuse about how something isn't working right and they send me a replacement. Point is, I send all my phones back, rooted, unlocked, and running roms. I've never been, ever, had an issue. So while I can appreciate the work being done, I question the necessity.

Can any one tell me why I would ever need to do this? Is the warranty issues I don't know about where being unlocked would cause a problem?

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Tapatalk 2

I just switched to vzw from t-mo in December and I haven't had to send back a device yet so I don't have any personal experience of how picky they are, but back on t-mobile they were crazy about this type of thing. Sometimes people got away with it, sometimes they didn't, but there were a significant number of people that got caught. To get a replacement you first had to take it to a store where they checked the bootloader and a few other things (they cared enough to train every employee to check the bootloader of every type of phone... fairly significant effort went into this) and they checked it again at the repair center. Even if it was a hardware problem completely unrelated to rooting, they'd say flat out no at the store if it was unlocked. If they found it at the repair center they'd sometimes want people to pay for the repairs or to replace the whole device. Back on the htc sensation forums, people would occasionally hard brick phones to stop them from finding out if for some reason they couldn't get it back to stock s-on.

So I'm still kinda paranoid about it from t-mobile... And the actual method is in another thread and is completed and noob-proof, so theres no harm in doing it anyway if you need it.
1st March 2013, 12:15 AM |#45  
Serinety's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Davis, CA
Thanks Meter: 352
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: testers needed- reset your lock status flag
Quote:
Originally Posted by CastleBravo

I just switched to vzw from t-mo in December and I haven't had to send back a device yet so I don't have any personal experience of how picky they are, but back on t-mobile they were crazy about this type of thing. Sometimes people got away with it, sometimes they didn't, but there were a significant number of people that got caught. To get a replacement you first had to take it to a store where they checked the bootloader and a few other things (they cared enough to train every employee to check the bootloader of every type of phone... fairly significant effort went into this) and they checked it again at the repair center. Even if it was a hardware problem completely unrelated to rooting, they'd say flat out no at the store if it was unlocked. If they found it at the repair center they'd sometimes want people to pay for the repairs or to replace the whole device. Back on the htc sensation forums, people would occasionally hard brick phones to stop them from finding out if for some reason they couldn't get it back to stock s-on.

So I'm still kinda paranoid about it from t-mobile... And the actual method is in another thread and is completed and noob-proof, so theres no harm in doing it anyway if you need it.

I could definitely understand the paranoia coming from t-mobile lol. Well on vzw, it's a 5 min process over the phone "hi, my phone doesn't <insert random unfixable, hardware problem here > I've done a master reset and bought a new charger but it's still doing it." "okay sir, a new one is on its way, anything else?"

I have never in 10 years gone into a store for any service. I only deal with 611

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to Serinety For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st March 2013, 12:17 AM |#46  
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serinety

I could definitely understand the paranoia coming from t-mobile lol. Well on vzw, it's a 5 min process over the phone "hi, my phone doesn't <insert random unfixable, hardware problem here > I've done a master reset and bought a new charger but it's still doing it." "okay sir, a new one is on its way, anything else?"

I have never in 10 years gone into a store for any service. I only deal with 611

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Tapatalk 2

Every day I start liking Verizon even more lol.
1st March 2013, 12:40 AM |#47  
scotty1223's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,768
 
More
Re: testers needed- reset your lock status flag
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serinety

I'm the guy you all hate, when I scratch my screen I call up customer service and male up some lame excuse about how something isn't working right and they send me a replacement.

You're right with that statment. The fact that folks will use it for fraudulent claims makes me not even want to share info like this.

I'm of the opinion if you break your stuff you should man up to it,and pay for it. Your fraudulent warranty claims are making device and service prices higher for the rest of us. Thanks

How you've conned vzw out out a hundred devices is not something I would brag about.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk 2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to scotty1223 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st March 2013, 01:02 AM |#48  
Serinety's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Davis, CA
Thanks Meter: 352
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: testers needed- reset your lock status flag
Quote:
Originally Posted by scotty1223

You're right with that statment. The fact that folks will use it for fraudulent claims makes me not even want to share info like this.

I'm of the opinion if you break your stuff you should man up to it,and pay for it. Your fraudulent warranty claims are making device and service prices higher for the rest of us. Thanks

How you've conned vzw out out a hundred devices is not something I would brag about.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk 2

Well you're right, and my point was not to brag, it was to under stand the need to do this.

As far as me, personally being responsible for your extra costs, that's a stretch. I worked as a store manager for a major retail chain for many years, and I can assure, at least at my stores, frodulent returns were the least of my concerns. We had a budget specifically for RTMs, (return to manufacturer) that was there regardless of the legitimacy of the return. I suspect vzw has the same budget and credits in place.

Anyway, i dont want to venture anymore off topic than this, thanks for your work none the less



Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Tapatalk 2
1st March 2013, 01:06 AM |#49  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 531
 
More
Re: testers needed- reset your lock status flag
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serinety

Well you're right, and my point was not to brag, it was to under stand the need to do this.

As far as me, personally being responsible for your extra costs, that's a stretch. I worked as a store manager for a major retail chain for many years, and I can assure, at least at my stores, frodulent returns were the least of my concerns. We had a budget specifically for RTMs, (return to manufacturer) that was there regardless of the legitimacy of the return. I suspect vzw has the same budget and credits in place.

Anyway, i dont want to venture anymore off topic than this, thanks for your work none the less



Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Tapatalk 2

And none of that makes it any less illegal or morally wrong to file tens of thousands of dollars worth of false claims.

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to Bigandrewgold For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st March 2013, 01:26 AM |#50  
Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 5,992
 
Donate to Me
More
Nice work scotty, but are we over complicating things?

if we want to lock:

adb shell
su
echo -ne '\x00\x00\x00\x00' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 bs=1 seek=33780

if we want to unlock

adb shell
su
echo -ne "HTCU" | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 bs=1 seek=33780

Don't screw up these commands btw (copy paste them).
The Following User Says Thank You to beaups For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st March 2013, 01:42 AM |#51  
scotty1223's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,768
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by beaups

Nice work scotty, but are we over complicating things?

if we want to lock:

adb shell
su
echo -ne '\x00\x00\x00\x00' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 bs=1 seek=33780

if we want to unlock

adb shell
su
echo -ne "HTCU" | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 bs=1 seek=33780

Don't screw up these commands btw (copy paste them).

thanks for the reply beaups! thats defaintely easier than the dump/reflash mmcblk0p3 method,and prolly faster than flashing the zip files. the zip files may have less of a margin for error,check out this thread if you havent seen it: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2160677

is there a flag for the "tampered" banner as well? if so do you guys know where it is? inside hboot itself? the next thing we could work on is being able to reset that flag,so folks dont need to flash new bootloaders or run ruus to get rid of it.

thanks again for the addidional info
The Following User Says Thank You to scotty1223 For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes