Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,448 Members 40,605 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[BOUNTY] ($205 so far) Enable HSPA+ on 1900 MHz / 1700MHz for VZW Galaxy S3 i535

Tip us?
 
TheGman125
Old
#361  
TheGman125's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 752
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: birmingham, Al

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [BOUNTY] ($205 so far) Enable HSPA+ on 1900 MHz / 1700MHz for VZW Galaxy S3 i535

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexDeGruven View Post
Additionally - Carrier-agnostic GSM connectivity is already open on these devices. We're not changing that, just figuring out how to add the access to the high-speed data networks.

Any Verizon S3 will take an AT&T or T-Mobile SIM card and get voice/sms/EDGE without modification.
That is understandable.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
 
Israelleite
Old
#362  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 51
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGman125 View Post
That is understandable.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
Hi everyone.

I haven't hear from you for a long time. Any news about thread?

Thanks

Israel Leite
 
E:V:A
Old
#363  
E:V:A's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1,790
Posts: 1,341
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: -∇ϕ
What's new? Any new insights? [I haven't followed, TLDR.]

We have a lot of new Qualcomm docs now... Have a look there.
Looking there, I saw some comments regarding the possibility of having certain accessibility lists for data access (from the Network side). But I could have misunderstood and be wrong...and it might not be applicable to this.

Also have look at what this guys says: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1880781

Quote:
Originally Posted by ysr84 View Post
From what i have been informed there are 2 partitions one is on the modem and the other is somewhere fixed which is not accessible... once the changes are done on the 1877 item it comapres it to the fixed partition values (modem nv items with fixed parition values) and restores it back to original settings....I was told 1877 is not an editable item...however i was given hope it can be edited but its hard to do it....
If there is a partition check of some kind, please post the exact partition info for the two different (carriers) devices.
MSM8960 Info, Architecture and Bootloader(s)
El Grande Partition Table Reference
How to talk to the Modem with AT commands

[REF][ServiceMode] How to make your Samsung perform dog tricks
[REF|R&D|RF] RF/Radio properties of Samsung ServiceMode

Want to know when your phone is getting tracked or tapped?

Help us develop the IMSI Catcher / Spy Detector!
(To be part of the EFF & The Guardian Project toolsets.)
_______________________________
If you like what I do, just click THANKS!
Everything I do is free, altruism is the way!
ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ
I do not answer support related PM's.

 
mybook4
Old
#364  
mybook4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 263
Posts: 444
Join Date: Apr 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [BOUNTY] ($205 so far) Enable HSPA+ on 1900 MHz / 1700MHz for VZW Galaxy S3 i535

Quote:
Originally Posted by E:V:A View Post
What's new? Any new insights? [I haven't followed, TLDR.]
Nothing much. We couldn't get item 1877 to keep our changes on reboot. I ended up getting really busy at work and don't have much time at all to work on this. If someone wants to take the reins, don't be shy.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda premium
-----------------------------------------------------------
Like what I do? Donate to the coffee fund
 
jnc8651
Old
#365  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 105
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Antonio
Hey guys i have a galaxy s3 that needs to be warrantied out as i accidentally cracked the front screen. Im down to try anything that *could* result in a bricked s3. only problem is i do not have an att account. i currently am running cm 10.1 nightlys if that matters.
8125 ----> att tilt cracked screen ( i miss my tilt ) ----> att fuze (digitiser is eff'ed) -----> sh1tty samsung x427m ------> att touch pro2 { lost } ---> iphone 3g :/ ----> att touch pro 2 ---> tmo htc hd2 ---> htc thunderbolt ( sold) --> Moto Droid 4+ motorola xoom ( with lte installed) ---> moto xoom ( with LTE) and a verizon samsung galaxy s3 (blue 32gb)
 
preusstang
Old
#366  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 187
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Re: [BOUNTY] ($205 so far) Enable HSPA+ on 1900 MHz / 1700MHz for VZW Galaxy S3 i535

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnc8651 View Post
Hey guys i have a galaxy s3 that needs to be warrantied out as i accidentally cracked the front screen. Im down to try anything that *could* result in a bricked s3. only problem is i do not have an att account. i currently am running cm 10.1 nightlys if that matters.
You're in the wrong thread dude. Plus they aren't going to replace your phone under warranty when you done smashed the screen.
That's like wrecking your car and trying to get it replaced under warranty by sabotaging the starter. Sorry man but that's just dumb.
 
mybook4
Old
(Last edited by mybook4; 16th February 2013 at 09:42 PM.)
#367  
mybook4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 263
Posts: 444
Join Date: Apr 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [BOUNTY] ($205 so far) Enable HSPA+ on 1900 MHz / 1700MHz for VZW Galaxy S3 i535

Quote:
Originally Posted by preusstang View Post
You're in the wrong thread dude. Plus they aren't going to replace your phone under warranty when you done smashed the screen.
That's like wrecking your car and trying to get it replaced under warranty by sabotaging the starter. Sorry man but that's just dumb.
I think he was offering to try something potentially risky on his phone (since he is getting it replaced anyway). There's a little bit of history to that in this thread. At one point we were entertaining the idea of flashing an i747 modem to the i535. We were hesitant to try it because we have a boot chain that is partially secured with secureboot. Later in the thread, Marcustaz had an i535 with a damaged screen. We ended up being able to flash the i747 LG1 modem to the i535. Long story short, we didn't hard brick the i535 by flashing the modem.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda premium
-----------------------------------------------------------
Like what I do? Donate to the coffee fund
The Following User Says Thank You to mybook4 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jnc8651
Old
#368  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 105
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Antonio
Quote:
Originally Posted by mybook4 View Post
I think he was offering to try something potentially risky on his phone (since he is getting it replaced anyway). There's a little bit of history to that in this thread. At one point we were entertaining the idea of flashing an i747 modem to the i535. We were hesitant to try it because we have a boot chain that is partially secured with secureboot. Later in the thread, Marcustaz had an i535 with a damaged screen. We ended up being able to flash the i747 LG1 modem to the i535. Long story short, we didn't hard brick the i535 by flashing the modem.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda premium
^^ This,

I have to pay a deductible as the screen is cracked so if it bricks the phone i dont care.

Let me know if yall have any risky stuff that needs to be done
8125 ----> att tilt cracked screen ( i miss my tilt ) ----> att fuze (digitiser is eff'ed) -----> sh1tty samsung x427m ------> att touch pro2 { lost } ---> iphone 3g :/ ----> att touch pro 2 ---> tmo htc hd2 ---> htc thunderbolt ( sold) --> Moto Droid 4+ motorola xoom ( with lte installed) ---> moto xoom ( with LTE) and a verizon samsung galaxy s3 (blue 32gb)
 
worldlyinquirer
Old
#369  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 17
Join Date: Nov 2007
Hey guys quick question,

Is the radio hardware really that different from Verizon galaxy note 2 to the s3? I was asking because since the note 2 come unlocked to support 3G on national carriers would it be possible to flash a radio from the note 2 to the s3 and be unlocked?
 
iamone007
Old
#370  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default i747m from Bell Canada - getting HSPA+ 1700mhz from Wind

Hey Guys, I am pretty new to the community and I do not know much about hacking and cracking stuff.... but I tried to read many posts and experimented with my S3 i747m by changing a few NV parameters and I can make it work with Wind (Canadian Carrier who uses 1700mhz freq.) I am not taking any credit for anything and giving full credit to who ever has worked or tried to work on it.

I am just trying to help a few people out who are working towards it.
here are my findings and what I did.

- I have not touched any NV flag items, just item 01877 and changed 04 to 06.
- Initially it does not work, but after I restart my phone. I go to network operators and manually select my carrier and it connects.(I am getting HSPA+ connection)
- If I restart my phone second time, it does not work anymore and I need to change item 01877 to 06 again.

Possible reasons why it is getting changed to 04 again may be because of check sum, as we are just changing just 1 value. If any checksum is attached with it than we need to update checksum as well. so upon restart checksum of NV parameters is not matched and it is reloading all defaults. Expert may think on this as well.

It is good enough for me rite now, it is just like tethered jail break for Iphone. I am taking care that my phone always remain ON.

I dont know if all are experts here, and can understand all instructions, but I found it very difficult to follow instructions given in this forum and other forums. If someone who want to enable it on their phone and do not know how to do it, I would like to help them out by making a simple DIV. believe me, it is very easy, easier than rooting, anyone will be able to do it on their own. just put message below and I would help them out.

Again, thanks for help everyone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes