5,599,539 Members 40,802 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Rooted KFHD 7" rename w/o amazon account?

Tip us?
 
phonexpert_alex
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 52
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Craiova
Question [Q] Rooted KFHD 7" rename w/o amazon account?

Hi there!
I have a simple question: How can I rename my kindle(the "My Kindle" in the upper left side of the screen)?
The problem is that my kindle is blacklisted and cannot be registered with a amazon account. That is not a problem for me, because I do not wish to buy any amazon content.

P.S.: I have a rooted KFHD and a fair experience with android&linux
 
phonexpert_alex
Old
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 52
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Craiova
So more than 50 views and no answer...this must be a tough one
 
Krsmqn
Old
(Last edited by Krsmqn; 21st February 2013 at 12:00 PM.)
#3  
Krsmqn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 173
Posts: 799
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default Re: [Q] Rooted KFHD 7" rename w/o amazon account?

Try reading here.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/custom...deId=200439640
Do you own a ZTE Source? If so, visit the ZTE Source thread!

Is your Kindle bricked? Visit the Kindle Fire First Aide thread. Get a SkOrPn Factory Cable.
The Following User Says Thank You to Krsmqn For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
phonexpert_alex
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 52
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Craiova
i've already looked into build.prop but it was a no go. the link you provided is good but, like I said in the original post, my kindle is blacklisted and cannot be registered to my amazon account. thanks for the tip anyway. got others?
 
Krsmqn
Old
#5  
Krsmqn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 173
Posts: 799
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default Re: [Q] Rooted KFHD 7" rename w/o amazon account?

Sorry.. I'm not familiar with the circumstances of a blacklisted device. Short of a factory reset or using the Kindle Fire First Aide to reset the device to the initial setup where you create an account and enter your name, I have no other advice.

Good Luck!

You know, you could always install Omega Statusbar which would change the look thus removing your name. (Visually, at least)
Do you own a ZTE Source? If so, visit the ZTE Source thread!

Is your Kindle bricked? Visit the Kindle Fire First Aide thread. Get a SkOrPn Factory Cable.
The Following User Says Thank You to Krsmqn For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
phonexpert_alex
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 52
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Craiova
it seems omega statusbar doesn't display my notifications. thanks anyway
 
Raymond199483
Old
#7  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 714
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default Re: [Q] Rooted KFHD 7" rename w/o amazon account?

Use jelly bean status bar it hides the name

sent from my unrooted kindle fire hd
 
phonexpert_alex
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 52
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Craiova
it's the same as omega status bar

Tags
build_prop, kfhd, rename, rooted, w/o
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

A More Competitive Spin on the Addictive 2048 Puzzle

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we talked about a rather interesting take on … more

Multiboot in Progress for the Sony Xperia Z1

As we’ve mentioned quite a few times in the past, multiboot is quite the interesting … more

Samsung EFS Tool Updated to V5, Brings Universal Device Support

You may recall that we’ve talked about XDA Recognized Contributor … more

Say Goodbye to Holo Blue Once and for All

When Google released Android 4.4 KitKat back in October of last year, they changed quite a bit … more