Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Cross flashing radios

OP Riyal

22nd February 2013, 03:06 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Iloilo City
Thanks Meter: 1,693
 
2,877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Hi! I am also a current HTC user(Just not one of these One series) and I would like to ask if it's possible to cross flash radios from any variants of HTC One?

The reason is I asked HTC on their official facebook pages about LTE support of the HTC one and they said that the LTE frequencies that will be enabled on the HTC One depends on what region it was released. So just wondering if let's say I would buy the HTC One from europe(Whic has different LTE frequencies compared to our country) will I be able to flash a radio baseband of a HTC One from let's say asia to switch frequencies?

The reason why I asked this is because I noticed that past HTC devices like HTC One S and One X etc. has different variants depending on what network/region it was bought.


A good example is

Can I flash the radio of HTC One which was has a uk radio/baseband into a HTC One with an asia radio/baseband?
Last edited by Riyal; 22nd February 2013 at 04:28 AM.
22nd February 2013, 03:10 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 80
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
no
The Following User Says Thank You to djq For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd February 2013, 04:28 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Iloilo City
Thanks Meter: 1,693
 
2,877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
You sure about that? Hmm isn't it a tedious task for HTC to make different hardware per region just to complicate things?
22nd February 2013, 05:50 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Brisbane
Thanks Meter: 204
 
963 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riyal

Hi! I am also a current HTC user(Just not one of these One series) and I would like to ask if it's possible to cross flash radios from any variants of HTC One?

The reason is I asked HTC on their official facebook pages about LTE support of the HTC one and they said that the LTE frequencies that will be enabled on the HTC One depends on what region it was released. So just wondering if let's say I would buy the HTC One from europe(Whic has different LTE frequencies compared to our country) will I be able to flash a radio baseband of a HTC One from let's say asia to switch frequencies?

The reason why I asked this is because I noticed that past HTC devices like HTC One S and One X etc. has different variants depending on what network/region it was bought.


A good example is

Can I flash the radio of HTC One which was has a uk radio/baseband into a HTC One with an asia radio/baseband?

No, they use different bands in the hardware. Can an AM radio pick up FM, no.

US use different bands to pretty much the rest of the world. In America the AT&T model covers all america, the EU model should cover most of the rest of the world.

LTE:

EU: 800/1800/2600 MHz
US (AT&T): 700/850/AWS/1900 MHz
US (TMO): 700/AWS MHz
US (Sprint): 1900 MHz
Asia: 1800/2600 Mhz
The Following User Says Thank You to danw_oz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd February 2013, 06:28 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Iloilo City
Thanks Meter: 1,693
 
2,877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Ok thanks! Read the info on the other thread! Anyways just to be sure I am gonna try cross flashing basebands one I get the device. At least it won't do any permanent brick anyways. I still believe it should be possible since they are using qualcomm modems on this device. And the modem I am talking about is has support for every LTE frequencies in the world.


https://chipworks.secure.force.com/c...u=QUA-MDM9215M

And also
Quote:
Originally Posted by danw_oz

No, they use different bands in the hardware. Can an AM radio pick up FM, no.

This is not a matter of FM to AM this a matter of letting the chip recieve 87.5mhz frequency and let it also recieve 108mhz frequency
Last edited by Riyal; 26th February 2013 at 06:12 AM.
22nd February 2013, 07:45 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Brisbane
Thanks Meter: 204
 
963 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riyal

Ok thanks! Read the info on the other thread! Anyways just to be sure I am gonna try cross flashing basebands one I get the device. At least it won't do any permanent brick anyways. I still believe it should be possible since they are using qualcomm modems on this device. And the modem I am talking about is has support for every LTE frequencies in the world.


https://chipworks.secure.force.com/c...u=QUA-MDM9215M

Wrong, common misconception, it does not support LTE frequencies world wide. And it is funny we should be talking about this today because Qualcomm has just 4 hours ago announced such a beast that you are referring to, so obviously it is not available in any device. http://www.engadget.com/2013/02/22/q...obal-lte-chip/
22nd February 2013, 09:21 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Iloilo City
Thanks Meter: 1,693
 
2,877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by danw_oz

Wrong, common misconception, it does not support LTE frequencies world wide. And it is funny we should be talking about this today because Qualcomm has just 4 hours ago announced such a beast that you are referring to, so obviously it is not available in any device. http://www.engadget.com/2013/02/22/q...obal-lte-chip/

Ok sorry I am not talking about a real global LTE support but at least. The HTC One's modem can support this LTE frequency bands.

700 / 800 / 850 / 900 / 1700 / 1800 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600

And if you ask me I think that would be enough to make 4G work on almost all parts of the globe.
23rd February 2013, 06:42 AM   |  #8  
scottspa74's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,947
 
8,650 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Re: [Q] Cross flashing radios
Quote:
Originally Posted by danw_oz

Wrong, common misconception, it does not support LTE frequencies world wide. And it is funny we should be talking about this today because Qualcomm has just 4 hours ago announced such a beast that you are referring to, so obviously it is not available in any device. http://www.engadget.com/2013/02/22/q...obal-lte-chip/

Ha! I just saw an article yesterday about new Qualcomm chip that includes/supports all bands (though that may be per region, ex US, Europe, Asia). Supposed to make it easier for manufacturers to build one device, and not one device per carrier.
@OP, I would not try to flash radio not intended for your device. If partition sizes are different...brick. at least, that's my understanding.

From my Evo LTE, yup.
23rd April 2013, 08:58 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Sorry, but I can't really follow up know,

Is it now possible to flash a new radio rom on an US One, so it will use Europe Bands for LTE?
23rd April 2013, 09:03 PM   |  #10  
nullkill's Avatar
Senior Member
Seattle
Thanks Meter: 359
 
1,371 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indy1337

Sorry, but I can't really follow up know,

Is it now possible to flash a new radio rom on an US One, so it will use Europe Bands for LTE?

NOT YET. Maybe never but probably soon.

The Following User Says Thank You to nullkill For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes