Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,847 Members 53,079 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Does Custom Recovery require a prior bootloader unlock?

Tip us?
 
Poser
Old
#1  
Poser's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 665
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Nether Regions of the Tropics
Default [Q] Does Custom Recovery require a prior bootloader unlock?

Is it possible to flash twrp .img using flashboot without first unlocking the bootloader...
move the SuperSU .zip over to internal SD
flash with TWRP
and then install bootunlocker


I ask, because I dont want to lose all data by
Code:
fastboot OEM unlock
command and I am not sure if a custom recovery requires an unlocked bootloader (I assume recover is still strapped to initial handoff of bootloader)

Also, this seems both safer and more convenient than leaving bootloader unlocked after customizations... or locking and restoring backups

---------- NEXUS 5 32Vadar ----------
 
Dash - Decomissioned
Vibrant - indentured servitude
Galaxy S II Hercules - Now a hand me down for the peanut
GSIII SGH-T999 - Yup, sh!t is hype
GN2 SGH-T889 - WOW. (really)
GS IV SGH-M919 - deprecated...really
Nexus 5
 
brGabriel
Old
(Last edited by brGabriel; 21st February 2013 at 04:42 PM.)
#2  
brGabriel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 219
Posts: 437
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Louisiana
I'm quite sure you would have to unlock the boot loader before flashing a custom recovery, although there may be some way around it that I'm not aware of.

If you want to save your data just copy it to a desktop computer before unlocking then copy it back when you're done. Of course, without root you will have to reinstall your apps.
 
bneate
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2008
No need to unlock just use the Superboot - Nexus 10 root solution then use something like ROM Manager to install CWM. Worked for me so now I have a locked rooted nexus 10 with CWM.
 
Poser
Old
#4  
Poser's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 665
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Nether Regions of the Tropics
Yeah... I just wanted to do it the old fashioned way and get dirty...

but as suspected, when trying to flash recovery image via fastboot, I get the old locked bootloader routine.

---------- NEXUS 5 32Vadar ----------
 
Dash - Decomissioned
Vibrant - indentured servitude
Galaxy S II Hercules - Now a hand me down for the peanut
GSIII SGH-T999 - Yup, sh!t is hype
GN2 SGH-T889 - WOW. (really)
GS IV SGH-M919 - deprecated...really
Nexus 5
 
beekay201
Old
#5  
beekay201's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,127
Posts: 4,644
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default Re: [Q] Does Custom Recovery require a prior bootloader unlock?

This is why the first thing to do to a Nexus is to unlock its bootloader.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using xda app-developers app
hammerhead/omni-KTU84P/stock#3.4.0/M8974A-2.0.50.1.13
maguro/aosp-KRT16O/custom#3.0.101/XXLJ1
manta/omni-KTU84P/custom#3.4.39
XDA forum rules here
bug report? logcat and /proc/kmsg, or it "never happened".
How TO Ask questions on the Internet
aosp-maguro READFIRST here (credit: efrant)
aosp-gnex READSECOND here (credit: efrant)
 
Poser
Old
#6  
Poser's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 665
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Nether Regions of the Tropics
Default Re: [Q] Does Custom Recovery require a prior bootloader unlock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bk201doesntexist View Post
This is why the first thing to do to a Nexus is to unlock its bootloader.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using xda app-developers app
Granted... There is a way to root without unlocking, but it requires dicey operations with partitions that could result in a fancy paperweight.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk HD

---------- NEXUS 5 32Vadar ----------
 
Dash - Decomissioned
Vibrant - indentured servitude
Galaxy S II Hercules - Now a hand me down for the peanut
GSIII SGH-T999 - Yup, sh!t is hype
GN2 SGH-T889 - WOW. (really)
GS IV SGH-M919 - deprecated...really
Nexus 5
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes