Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[GUIDE]-Updated 17March - Unlock/Root - Return to Stock/Unbrick - Nexus7 3G - 4.2.2

OP philos64

23rd February 2013, 11:42 AM   |  #21  
philos64's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,698
 
3,396 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Op updated - 23 feb
With the newest version for root your device if you are in JB 4.2.2
23rd February 2013, 01:01 PM   |  #22  
mojolive's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
299 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
what is the difference between Nakasig- Tilapia
whats the difference between "Nakasig"or "Tilapia” ?

How do I know which Nexus 7 I have? "Nakasig"or "Tilapia” ?
23rd February 2013, 01:23 PM   |  #23  
philos64's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,698
 
3,396 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mojolive

whats the difference between "Nakasig"or "Tilapia” ?
How do I know which Nexus 7 I have? "Nakasig"or "Tilapia” ?

Have you read Frequently Asked Questions - ASUS GOOGLE NEXUS 7 – GROUPER & TILAPIA (WiFi & 3G)
You will find your response
9th March 2013, 06:37 AM   |  #24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Post
Hi i am new here , sorry but cant seem to find anywhere how to flash the binaries N7 3g 4.2.2 , they are tgz files not zip or img files , so how do we flash tgz files ,could someone tell please ?
12th March 2013, 10:59 PM   |  #25  
philos64's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,698
 
3,396 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimush

Hi i am new here , sorry but cant seem to find anywhere how to flash the binaries N7 3g 4.2.2 , they are tgz files not zip or img files , so how do we flash tgz files ,could someone tell please ?

Go to the index for the N7 3G and search a little, you will find the zip version
and go to the second post, you will find the instructions for install

If you search and read a little bit, it will be better for all
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to philos64 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th March 2013, 07:46 AM   |  #26  
philos64's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,698
 
3,396 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
OP UPDATED - 17 March 2013
I updated my OP
Now you you have the possibility to returning to Stock
The Following User Says Thank You to philos64 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st March 2013, 03:25 PM   |  #27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
fastboot wont flash anything
everytime i try to fastboot flash anything i get an error.

error: cannot load

this goes for any radio, bootloader or recovery .img

i have no rom installed, i tried updating to 4.2.2 when it came out and something got screwed up. now being that ive had to fastboot erase everything, i have no rom or recovery installed.

i use a toolkit that can boot me into cwm if i need to but its no help that i cant flash a stock rom from there.

the toolkit can also install the stock image itself, only i get an error that my baseband is 1231_0.10.0_1021 when it needs to be 1231_0.17.0_1025 for the update

i just want to return to stock so that i can root it again and install a custom rom.

anybody able to help? i havent been able to use this for over two months because no methods seem to be working for me.

thanks in advance!
Last edited by lolprtom; 21st March 2013 at 04:20 PM. Reason: forgot something
21st March 2013, 04:54 PM   |  #28  
philos64's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,698
 
3,396 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lolprtom

everytime i try to fastboot flash anything i get an error.
error: cannot load
this goes for any radio, bootloader or recovery .img
i have no rom installed, i tried updating to 4.2.2 when it came out and something got screwed up. now being that ive had to fastboot erase everything, i have no rom or recovery installed.
i use a toolkit that can boot me into cwm if i need to but its no help that i cant flash a stock rom from there.
the toolkit can also install the stock image itself, only i get an error that my baseband is 1231_0.10.0_1021 when it needs to be 1231_0.17.0_1025 for the update
i just want to return to stock so that i can root it again and install a custom rom.
anybody able to help? i havent been able to use this for over two months because no methods seem to be working for me.

I'm really surprised by your comment, because I used this process before to write this guide. And I'm not alone !!!! and I don't use toolkit, only "Fastboot by easy way" and "platform tool" now
Is your install (fastboot or platform or adb) is good ?
Why do you use a toolkit, you don't need it.
Just "platform tools" is enough for unlock, root and update your bootloader and radio.
I don't understand your post!!!!
Are you sure to be root ?
Are to to respect the order od the install of this guide?
All of your downloads are good.. check the md5 !
7th April 2013, 11:06 PM   |  #29  
ronnie498's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag XDA
Thanks Meter: 2,433
 
3,937 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by philos64

I'm really surprised by your comment, because I used this process before to write this guide. And I'm not alone !!!! and I don't use toolkit, only "Fastboot by easy way" and "platform tool" now
Is your install (fastboot or platform or adb) is good ?
Why do you use a toolkit, you don't need it.
Just "platform tools" is enough for unlock, root and update your bootloader and radio.
I don't understand your post!!!!
Are you sure to be root ?
Are to to respect the order od the install of this guide?
All of your downloads are good.. check the md5 !

+1
8th April 2013, 10:42 AM   |  #30  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Bootlooping and cant go to fastboot
This is my first post/reply in xda ...
I had CM 10 on my nexus 7 . I tried to flash stock rom and followed another guide on xda which told me execute these fastboot commands ....

fastboot erase boot
fastboot erase cache
fastboot erase recovery
fastboot erase system
fastboot -w update ROM.zip

I successfully erased boot ,cache ,recovery and system but the last command failed with a error "too many links " or something like that . Then I restarted the device and it's bootlooping since then . I cant even go into fastboot anymore pressing the power buttong + volume down .

What should I do ?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
flash, guide for n7 3g, install, recovery, root
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes