Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,985 Members 40,897 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

I have a Kindle fire 2 NON hd version

Tip us?
 
dyson77
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 44
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default I have a Kindle fire 2 NON hd version

I have a Kindle fire 2 NON hd version
the unit has a BAD esn so I figured the easiest way to fix it would be to root with android.
But everything I have seen shows a HD version. Can this tablet be rooted?
and if so what port do i use.
can someone direct me to the right area please
 
chronicfathead
Old
#2  
chronicfathead's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 168
Posts: 609
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sleaford, Lincs

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: I have a Kindle fire 2 NON hd version

Quote:
Originally Posted by dyson77 View Post
I have a Kindle fire 2 NON hd version
the unit has a BAD esn so I figured the easiest way to fix it would be to root with android.
But everything I have seen shows a HD version. Can this tablet be rooted?
and if so what port do i use.
can someone direct me to the right area please
Step away from the Kindle.

If you can't see the posts above yours that explain how to do it, I think you should leave alone. Read lots or you will brick your device.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire2 using Tapatalk HD
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to chronicfathead For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dyson77
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 44
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronicfathead View Post
Step away from the Kindle.

If you can't see the posts above yours that explain how to do it, I think you should leave alone. Read lots or you will brick your device.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire2 using Tapatalk HD

lets start with this my question wasn't properly worded.

1 is there a way to bypass the bad esn? Amazon said I have a worthless unit

2 I have cyanogenmod in two units but did not require a fast boot cable.just direct usb connection.But most things i have
read here say you should use one. does it make a big difference?

lastly is there a mod that is simulator to cyanogen mod for the fire2 7" non hd?
 
Wilkinsss
Old
(Last edited by Wilkinsss; 23rd February 2013 at 01:40 PM.)
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 20
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyson77 View Post
lets start with this my question wasn't properly worded.

1 is there a way to bypass the bad esn? Amazon said I have a worthless unit

2 I have cyanogenmod in two units but did not require a fast boot cable.just direct usb connection.But most things i have
read here say you should use one. does it make a big difference?

lastly is there a mod that is simulator to cyanogen mod for the fire2 7" non hd?
1. I'm not sure but I don't think so.

2. Cyanogenmod is absolutely possible to get on the kindle fire 2, if you check the version number you should have 10.2.X. The reason he told you to step away from the kindle is there are multiple posts in this section about how to root the Kindle fire 2 non-HD version, which you didn't seem to see so he assumed ignorance. No, you don't necessarily need a fastboot cable, but it's nice to have if you end up bricking your kindle. I've rooted mine through the Qemu and Bin4ry's root method which you will find listed somewhere here. Then you have to install TWRP bootloader, I'd recommend pulling a backup off the system through adb, then wipe and flash Cyanogenmod and GApps (Again, you say you've done this on other devices, but there's a thread here related to the kindle fire 2 specifically so follow that one).
The Following User Says Thank You to Wilkinsss For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
chandlerw88
Old
#5  
chandlerw88's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 467
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Houston
*Bump*

Can anyone answer this yet? Does flashing CM override bad ESN?
 
stunts513
Old
#6  
stunts513's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 603
Posts: 2,184
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Braunfels, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
If you mean can you use cm on a kindle that is blacklisted then yes, though I'm not condoning stolen kindles by saying this.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire HD using Tapatalk
My Wallpaper Fix for KF2, KFHD 7", and KFHD 8.9" is HERE
Please Read the instructions and use the debugger if you run into errors.
My own modified adb drivers for just about all kindles (includes old twrp and cm versions) HERE
Tablet UI Patch for latest CM10.1 build HERE!

Please send complaints to /dev/null
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Samsung Gear Live Stock Firmware Image Pulled, Temp Root

Just yesterday,XDA Recognized Developer and TV ProducerAdamOutlertore apart … more

Draw a Line and Let Your Device Do the Rest with LineitApp

Over the years, since evenbefore Android entered the scene, we have striven to … more

[APK] Chrome Beta 37 Brings First Traces of Material Design

With Android L on the horizon, it’s no surprise that Google’s … more

Immersive Mode on Unrooted Devices with GMD Full Screen Immersive Mode

Everyone likes screen real estate–no question about that. The … more