5,595,815 Members 36,332 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOW TO] Unlock bootloader, Root, Flash Custom ROM, Flash Kernel And More!

Tip us?
 
demert858
Old
#111  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 44
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by niredhell View Post
i have a problem with the fastboot.
when i entering the fastboot commands, the command window said there is not an existing command for it.
when i look at my bootloader, i see that instead of "fastboot" its said "hboot"
there is any connection? and what should i do?
i need some rapid answer plz
Quote:
Originally Posted by demert858 View Post
I'm in the same boat.....
Been lurking around here for awhile....
Followed the instructions.

When I go to press "Boot into Bootloader" it does nothing....
I'm getting scared and about to chicken out lol.....

The guide is awesome, but I got stuck so early on!!!
Well I'm to the very end of the guide and I can't get the "Unlock Bootloader Screen" to load....(Step 6)
I got the token.....I copied it to the directory of the tool kit.....it says "Lock Code Flashed" but nothing else.....
Phone is still highlighted pink as "Locked".......

I followed along with the video but it seems like my phone isn't responding.....It's just on the fastboot screen.
Am I missing something...?
Really want to root and put a custom ROM but this seems a bit much for my Noob Self
 
demert858
Old
#112  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 44
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by demert858 View Post
Well I'm to the very end of the guide and I can't get the "Unlock Bootloader Screen" to load....(Step 6)
I got the token.....I copied it to the directory of the tool kit.....it says "Lock Code Flashed" but nothing else.....
Phone is still highlighted pink as "Locked".......

I followed along with the video but it seems like my phone isn't responding.....It's just on the fastboot screen.
Am I missing something...?
Really want to root and put a custom ROM but this seems a bit much for my Noob Self
I got the Unlock Bootloader Thing Done....
Now the next Step is to "Perm Root" and push SuperSU.zip to your phone......
I pushed that button on the tool kit.....The Command Window Pops up but it doesn't do it......
I think I need to do this step before I flash the recovery....Correct?

Thanks for any help!!!!
 
mobilkungen78
Old
#113  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 1,419
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Enköping
No you need to flash recovery first then perm root
DEVICE:Samsung Galaxy S4 I9505
STATE:Rooted
KERNEL: KT-SGS4 - NAE - KTweaker
ROM:Stock 4.4.2 NEE

DEVICE:Samsung galaxy tab 3 10.1 LTE P5220
 
demert858
Old
#114  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 44
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilkungen78 View Post
No you need to flash recovery first then perm root
Is it too late to go back and do that?
All I know is that I have the boot unloader unlocked and I'm getting stuck on the last parts of the tool kit.....

I downloaded ViperXL Rom and it's currently on my SD Storage....
My phone is still stock but I don't want to brick it......

Am I heading in the right direction?
 
Monk2000
Old
#115  
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 59
Join Date: Jun 2012
Does TWRP backup also save/backup the kernel?

Last time when i restored via TWRP backup it was still the 'wrong' kernel. Means, not that kernel which should be included in the TWRP backup...
[How-to] unlock HTC One X, install Recovery (TWRP), flash custom ROM (Viper 3.3.6)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=picF8-dcr3w

Cheers!
 
R_B11
Old
#116  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Jan 2012
works like charm
 
alif1994
Old
#117  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2011
Is it possible to root without wiping data? Because before I want to change to custom ROM, I wanted to backup all my data and Titanium Backup requires root access.
 
klaust58
Old
#118  
klaust58's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 144
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wiesbaden
Quote:
Originally Posted by alif1994 View Post
Is it possible to root without wiping data? Because before I want to change to custom ROM, I wanted to backup all my data and Titanium Backup requires root access.
"root" has nothing to do with changing to a custom ROM. You have to unlock the bootloader and within this procedure, all data will be lost.
After that, you have to flash a custom-recovery and then you are able to flash a custom-ROM (which is usually already rooted).
 
Mr Hofs
Old
#119  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter 7435
Posts: 12,245
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [HOW TO] Unlock bootloader, Root, Flash Custom ROM, Flash Kernel And More!

Use the app CARBON it does not require root :thumbup:
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr Hofs For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
alif1994
Old
#120  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by klaust58 View Post
"root" has nothing to do with changing to a custom ROM. You have to unlock the bootloader and within this procedure, all data will be lost.
After that, you have to flash a custom-recovery and then you are able to flash a custom-ROM (which is usually already rooted).
Reason I wanted to root was because I want to backup all my app data using Titanium Backup (root required) before flashing a custom rom since I do not want to lose all the game progress.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Hofs View Post
Use the app CARBON it does not require root :thumbup:
Thanks mate! Finished backing up everything. This is a really useful app. Guess I'll just go straight to flashing a custom rom.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes