Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,898 Members 50,866 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Swiftkey and the dock

Tip us?
 
n8w
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 169
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default Swiftkey and the dock

I have searched high and low between the swiftkey settings and the dock settings, and cannot find a way to disable the suggestion bar when I am docked. I'm aware of the ability to disable autocorrect, but I would rather have the screen space. Do I have to just use the work around of selecting a different keyboard when I'm doing word processing?

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk HD
 
sbdags
Old
#2  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 12,755
Posts: 11,244
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kenilworth, Coventry

 
DONATE TO ME
There is an app on the market called keyboard manager. You set it to switch silently to the Asus keyboard whilst docked then back to swift key when not
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to sbdags For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
n8w
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 169
Join Date: Sep 2010
awesome.
 
berndblb
Old
#4  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 844
Posts: 2,601
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Default Re: Swiftkey and the dock

+1 for awesome!
Even works with 3 keyboards:
docked - Asus keyboard,
undocked landscape - SwiftKey,
undocked portrait: 7 Notes for handwriting with stylus

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk HD
The Following User Says Thank You to berndblb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
m_unzue
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default Re: Swiftkey and the dock

Great!! I had the same problem.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 2
 
jawilson
Old
(Last edited by jawilson; 18th June 2013 at 03:34 PM.)
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2013
I'm already using Tasker which doesn't support changing input methods and I really didn't want to add yet another context-aware app. I was also already using Secure Settings to enable expanded desktop when docked from Tasker (using the "Keyboard Out" context). Turns out if you enable the "Helper" in Secure Settings you can set the input method (I chose the plain Android AOSP keyboard) in any of your contexts!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Make Your Calendar Widget Beautiful with Month

For some of us, summer vacation is alreadyover. For those getting ready to school, work, or … more

Integrate Social Networks Into Your Project With ASNE Library

Social network applications and services have developed into major parts ofour … more

Give Your Android Wear Device a Lock Screen with Lockable

Without a doubt,Android Wear is one of the most frequently talked abouttopics of … more

Forums Added for the LG G Watch R and Samsung Gear S

A little over a week ago, LG “inadvertently” let the world know about the … more