Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,775 Members 40,785 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Toolkit] Wug's Nexus Root Toolkit v1.8.4 [Updated 06/21/14]

Tip us?
 
pughie
Old
(Last edited by pughie; 21st February 2013 at 12:09 PM.)
#2571  
pughie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 141
Posts: 491
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cardiff
Default Re: [Toolkit] Wug's Nexus Root Toolkit v1.6.2 [Updated 12/29/12]

Go here and scroll down a bit for an explanation and fix

http://www.wugfresh.com/nrt/

Edit - just read you downloaded the new zip so my advice would be to wait for the new update nrt and hopefully that will work for you

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to pughie For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
doncaruana
Old
#2572  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 113
Posts: 587
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by doncaruana View Post
I had used this previously and my Nexus 7 (32GB Wifi) was unlocked and rooted stock without installing a custom recovery. I *thought* I had at least one app on here that would keep root, but I forgot anyway and updated to 4.2.2. So, now I'm still unlocked, but not rooted anymore.

I went and grabbed the new zip file and put it in the tools directory. Now, I'm thinking I can just go to the 'root' step in the toolkit. But I wanted to do a quick backup first. Now I run into issues. I decide to run the driver test and everything is cool right up until the part where it tries to reboot into the bootloader mode and fails.

And here I'm stuck. What is the step that I am missing? I set it to any build, but still nothing stuck in the same spot.

Any ideas?

Went and used another machine (WinXP) and it worked fine. Win7x64 (my other machine) can be a tad problematic with this stuff sometimes.

Back to root! Thanks so much for this awesome little tool!!!
 
NLBeev
Old
#2573  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 114
Join Date: Jul 2007
Default Re: [Toolkit] Wug's Nexus Root Toolkit v1.6.2 [Updated 12/29/12]

Quote:
Originally Posted by doncaruana View Post
....... everything is cool right up until the part where it tries to reboot into the bootloader mode and fails.

And here I'm stuck. What is the step that I am missing? I set it to any build, but still nothing stuck in the same spot.

Any ideas?
The bootloader needs a different driver. You need to install 2 drivers. One for 'normal' connection and a driver for the bootloader.
 
Divine_Madcat
Old
#2574  
Divine_Madcat's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 2214
Posts: 2,576
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Guys.... before posting, please, please search both in this thread and elsewhere - redundant questions only make the thread confusing, and such posts will be removed.


My Phones:
HTC Blue Angel (retired)
HTC x7501 (retired)
HTC Incredible, w/ AOKP (GPS use)
HTC Rezound (backup phone)
Samsung Galaxy S4 w/ GPE 4.4.2

My Tablets
B&N Nook Color, w/ CM10
HP Touchpad w/ CM10
Google Nexus 7 w/ Stock Rom (STOLEN.... )
Google Nexus 7 (2013) w/ Stock Rom & Glitch Kernel

If you have any problems or questions, do not hesitate to ask. I don't bite!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Divine_Madcat For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Dylan08
Old
(Last edited by Dylan08; 23rd February 2013 at 07:51 PM.) Reason: delete
#2575  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Des Plaines
If i chose 4.2.1 would that root if i am on 4.2.2
 
fmedrano1977
Old
#2576  
fmedrano1977's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 441
Posts: 1,864
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dylan08 View Post
If i chose 4.2.1 would that root if i am on 4.2.2
Worked for me. I didn't change anything from previous options when I used it to unlock and root 4.2.1. Just needed to update sdk and replaced the files with those of that zip provided in a previous post and proceeded to root as I did with 4.2.1.
 
NiteTrekker
Old
#2577  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 59
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmedrano1977 View Post
Worked for me. I didn't change anything from previous options when I used it to unlock and root 4.2.1. Just needed to update sdk and replaced the files with those of that zip provided in a previous post and proceeded to root as I did with 4.2.1.
I made the mistake of applying the 4.2.2 update to my rooted Nexus 7. Update went fine but I lost root so I tried using Wug's Root Toolkit to fix it.

I had a problem getting the drivers installed properly. I was using a USB cable from my Samsung Galaxy S III, didn't think it would matter. Once I switched to the Nexus 7 cable, it worked fine. For some reason I was also having a problem extracting the files to the toolkits/data directory and overwriting the old ones. I was using 7 zip and for some reason it wasn't working. I had to delete the originals and copy and paste the new ones.

Once I did that, it took just a few minutes to re-root without losing a thing.
The Following User Says Thank You to NiteTrekker For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ilegales
Old
#2578  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 89
Join Date: Jun 2012
NEW Version 1.6.3 is up and running

http://www.wugfresh.com/nrt/

now officially supported with full 4.2.2 support
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ilegales For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
WugFresh
Old
#2579  
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 4975
Posts: 1,448
Join Date: Oct 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Version 1.6.3 is up now and the updater package is also live via the in-built updater. Enjoy!
(Updated changelog coming shortly)

{{ WugFresh }}
The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to WugFresh For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ThurstonX
Old
#2580  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 137
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by WugFresh View Post
Version 1.6.3 is up now and the updater package is also live via the in-built updater. Enjoy!
(Updated changelog coming shortly)

{{ WugFresh }}
Hey, Wug,

I get a Hashcheck = Mismatch every time I let the updater do its thing. FWIW, previously I replaced the .exe & .dll files with the ones from your site. But I'm guessing that wouldn't cause this error.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes