Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,246 Members 39,662 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Trying to revert to stock

Tip us?
 
19wolf
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2013
Exclamation [Q] Trying to revert to stock

Hello! I'm new-ish here... As in I just opened an account to post after watching from the sidelines for a few months now.
Anyway,
I'm having problems with my phone. I was running ViperLTE 2.1.1 and recently switched to CyanogenMod. My sdcard wouldn't work correctly, so I tried to go back to stock, and my phone never made it past the "HTC" boot screen. I've tried reflashing and whatnot almost a dozen times, including restoring my nandroid backup, with no luck. Now I can't even access it via adb. What do I do?
 
MJL99
Old
#2  
MJL99's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 110
Posts: 701
Join Date: Apr 2010
Default Re: [Q] Trying to revert to stock

Fastboot the stock boot image. The instructions are in the development section. Are you s off?

Sent from my Incredible 4G LTE using Tapatalk 2
 
19wolf
Old
(Last edited by 19wolf; 23rd February 2013 at 03:30 AM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJL99 View Post
Fastboot the stock boot image. The instructions are in the development section. Are you s off?

Sent from my Incredible 4G LTE using Tapatalk 2
I'm not s-off, and I have tried that multiple times, and at this point I can't get to adb or fastboot. I'm having trouble even accessing the bootloader.

EDIT: I got to the bootloader and adb/fastboot, but still flashing any boot image does nothing to fix the problem, and I'm still stuck at the htc screen.
 
mdmower
Old
#4  
mdmower's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1040
Posts: 819
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Columbia, MO
Quote:
Originally Posted by 19wolf View Post
I'm not s-off, and I have tried that multiple times, and at this point I can't get to adb or fastboot. I'm having trouble even accessing the bootloader.

EDIT: I got to the bootloader and adb/fastboot, but still flashing any boot image does nothing to fix the problem, and I'm still stuck at the htc screen.
You are flashing the stock boot image right? From here for example.
Code:
fastboot flash boot boot.img
Are you installing a stock(-based) ROM or restoring a nandroid?
My Devices:
HTC Incredible 4G LTE (fireball) - CyanogenMod 10.2
Verizon HTC One (m7vzw) - CyanogenMod 10.2
ASUS Nexus 7 FHD (flo) - CyanogenMod 10.2

Worthwhile reads:
XDA Devs vs. NooBs | logcat or GTFO
So you want to root and mod your phone
My Projects:
HTC Incredible 4G LTE
CyanogenMod 10.1 | CyanogenMod 10.2 | TWRP Recovery
CWM(R-Touch) Recovery | Automated Unlock/SuperCID/Temp-Root scripts

HTC One Verizon
CyanogenMod 10.2
 
19wolf
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdmower View Post
You are flashing the stock boot image right? From [[Link removed because of new-user limits]] for example.
Code:
fastboot flash boot boot.img
Are you installing a stock(-based) ROM or restoring a nandroid?
Yeah. I'm repeatedly flashing the stock boot image and restarting, to no avail. According to the CyanogenMod forum, I need to install a stock-based ROM and then format my sdcard (to fix my initial problem)... and then restore my nandroid afterwards. At this point, it would be nice to just be able to restore the nandroid and have a phone that makes calls for a day-trip I'm going on tomorrow.
 
mdmower
Old
(Last edited by mdmower; 23rd February 2013 at 06:14 AM.)
#6  
mdmower's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1040
Posts: 819
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Columbia, MO
Quote:
Originally Posted by 19wolf View Post
Yeah. I'm repeatedly flashing the stock boot image and restarting, to no avail. According to the CyanogenMod forum, I need to install a stock-based ROM and then format my sdcard (to fix my initial problem)... and then restore my nandroid afterwards. At this point, it would be nice to just be able to restore the nandroid and have a phone that makes calls for a day-trip I'm going on tomorrow.
Just to check, after flashing the stock boot.img, you have installed a stock ROM or restored a stock-based ROM from a nandroid right (i.e. you're sure the backup is not from CyanogenMod)? The boot image alone isn't going to do anything. Also, depending on whether you were running Viper 1.x or 2.x, you need a different boot.img. The boot.img for Viper 1.x can be found here.

If restoring your nandroid backup doesn't work, freshly install Stock (or Viper).
My Devices:
HTC Incredible 4G LTE (fireball) - CyanogenMod 10.2
Verizon HTC One (m7vzw) - CyanogenMod 10.2
ASUS Nexus 7 FHD (flo) - CyanogenMod 10.2

Worthwhile reads:
XDA Devs vs. NooBs | logcat or GTFO
So you want to root and mod your phone
My Projects:
HTC Incredible 4G LTE
CyanogenMod 10.1 | CyanogenMod 10.2 | TWRP Recovery
CWM(R-Touch) Recovery | Automated Unlock/SuperCID/Temp-Root scripts

HTC One Verizon
CyanogenMod 10.2
The Following User Says Thank You to mdmower For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
19wolf
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdmower View Post
Just to check, after flashing the stock boot.img, you have installed a stock ROM or restored a stock-based ROM from a nandroid right (i.e. you're sure the backup is not from CyanogenMod)? The boot image alone isn't going to do anything. Also, depending on whether you were running Viper 1.x or 2.x, you need a different boot.img. The boot.img for Viper 1.x can be found here.

If restoring your nandroid backup doesn't work, freshly install Stock (or Viper).
I'll try that when I get to the computer, but do I need to use twrp or can I continue to use cwm? Also I can't access the sd card via my computer to put the rom onto it because it doesn't mount when I'm booted into recovery
 
mdmower
Old
#8  
mdmower's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1040
Posts: 819
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Columbia, MO
Quote:
Originally Posted by 19wolf View Post
I'll try that when I get to the computer, but do I need to use twrp or can I continue to use cwm? Also I can't access the sd card via my computer to put the rom onto it because it doesn't mount when I'm booted into recovery
Either TWRP or CWM will work. There is a test version of CWM that enables USB mass storage support... but I haven't yet tested the feature under Windows.
My Devices:
HTC Incredible 4G LTE (fireball) - CyanogenMod 10.2
Verizon HTC One (m7vzw) - CyanogenMod 10.2
ASUS Nexus 7 FHD (flo) - CyanogenMod 10.2

Worthwhile reads:
XDA Devs vs. NooBs | logcat or GTFO
So you want to root and mod your phone
My Projects:
HTC Incredible 4G LTE
CyanogenMod 10.1 | CyanogenMod 10.2 | TWRP Recovery
CWM(R-Touch) Recovery | Automated Unlock/SuperCID/Temp-Root scripts

HTC One Verizon
CyanogenMod 10.2
 
19wolf
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2013
I got it to work, via side-loading the zip and then flashing the boot.img. I don't know why I was having so many problems before... But they're better now. Thanks for your help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Benchmark Your CPU Performance with Mini CPU Integer Script

When it comes to device testing, there are two types of people on XDA. The first … more

Rid Yourself of Charging Annoyances with No Wake on Charge Xposed Module

Almost every OEM has skinned and otherwise modifiedAndroid to suit … more