Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,995 Members 47,476 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Any tips on how to install swype beta?

Tip us?
 
Dr. Drax
Old
#21  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 33
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokonai View Post
The same on me with Perfect keyboard.
With all steps repeated 10 times ... after first FC reinstall Perfect KBD from system/app. Everithing is OK till next reboot....again FC.
Yeah, I had the same thing following the instructions with Swype. It worked great until I rebooted, and now it's cycling FC every 10 seconds or so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrexhamafc View Post
Anyone worked out how to fix the hidden part of the keyboard in landscape view?
Well, yes, for the short time I had it working...
You can hide the button bar and use an app like Button Savior to make them accessible on the main part of the screen. See http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...56&postcount=3
 
Dr. Drax
Old
#22  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 33
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default FCs after reboot solved!

After a bunch of playing around, I finally solved the problem with FCs after a reboot!

I think the problem is because the Swype installer automatically installed the Swype Beta APK before I copied it to root. The solution was to uninstall Swype Beta, which I did by using the AppMgr in ES File Explorer. Then I reinstalled it by going to /system/app/ and clicking on com.nuance.swype.beta-1.apk

What I figured out was that the lib files from the APK kept getting recopied to /data/data/com.nuance.swype.beta/lib/ and then those files would get used instead of the copies in /system/lib/. Once I uninstalled and reinstalled from /system/app, the lib files no longer wound up in /data/... so the Kindle always uses the versions in /system/lib/, preventing the FCs.
 
Hinzman420
Old
#23  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 275
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default Re: Any tips on how to install swype beta?

Update to 7.2.3 it has swype built in

Sent Using My Rooted Kindle Fire HD 7"
 
Dr. Drax
Old
#24  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 33
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hinzman420 View Post
Update to 7.2.3 it has swype built in
It's a much less capable version of Swype than the downloadable beta, lacking features such as syncing user dictionaries and voice recognition.
 
Hinzman420
Old
(Last edited by Hinzman420; 23rd February 2013 at 02:47 PM.)
#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 275
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default Re: Any tips on how to install swype beta?

Ok like the the newer version thanks for the info. But to install it all I did was use the installer and went to my keyboard settings and under default choose Swype beta and finished all the registration stuff and now I'm using it. It does not need to be put in system apps folder. I did that at first and it force closed the app. You do however have to keep the kindle Swype version in place or you get force closes as well as the notification bar gets all screwy.

Edit. Ok the only thing I couldn't get to work right was landscape view

Sent Using My Rooted Kindle Fire HD 7"
 
Dr. Drax
Old
#26  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 33
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hinzman420 View Post
Ok like the the newer version thanks for the info. But to install it all I did was use the installer and went to my keyboard settings and under default choose Swype beta and finished all the registration stuff and now I'm using it. It does not need to be put in system apps folder. I did that at first and it force closed the app. You do however have to keep the kindle Swype version in place or you get force closes as well as the notification bar gets all screwy.
No idea how that worked for you. You're still on version 7.2.3 of the Kindle software, right? Maybe they changed something in version 8, which is probably what most people in this thread are running.
 
Hinzman420
Old
#27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 275
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default Re: Any tips on how to install swype beta?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Drax View Post
No idea how that worked for you. You're still on version 7.2.3 of the Kindle software, right? Maybe they changed something in version 8, which is probably what most people in this thread are running.
Any ideas on the landscape issue. And yes im running 7.2.3. Therse a new update?

Sent Using My Rooted Kindle Fire HD 7"
 
Dr. Drax
Old
#28  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 33
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hinzman420 View Post
Any ideas on the landscape issue.
You can hide the button bar and use an app like Button Savior to make them accessible on the main part of the screen. See http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...56&postcount=3 for more detail.

Quote:
And yes im running 7.2.3. Therse a new update?
Sorry, my mistake. I'm running 8.1.4, and I didn't realize OS versions were inconsistent between the 7" and 8.9" versions.
 
mrkhigh
Old
#29  
mrkhigh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 151
Posts: 682
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default Re: Any tips on how to install swype beta?

Used another users earlier post to install Swype
Here are the steps I took

1 install titanium backup pro
2 install Swype beta installer
3 using titanium backup converted Swype installer to system app
4 installed nook color tools
5 installed Swype keyboard using installer
6 converted Swype installer back to a user app
7 using titanium backup convert Swype keyboard to system app
8 rebooted
9 opened nook color tools and choose Swype
10 rebooted

Note no idea if step 3 was needed, it probably wasn't

Sent from my KFTT using xda app-developers app
 
drumtrucker
Old
#30  
drumtrucker's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 146
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: trucking USA (except CA)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Drax View Post
It's a much less capable version of Swype than the downloadable beta, lacking features such as syncing user dictionaries and voice recognition.
and also missing... the ability to use the smaller movable keyboard... WHICH ANY AND ALL TABLETS SHOULD HAVE. why does anyone think having the keyboard the full width of tablet is a GOOD idea??? On my Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 I can get keyboard that is just shy of 1/2 the width of screen and can type or SWYPE without moving my hand.
LIKE ON A PHONE. jjjjjeeeeeeeeeezzzzzzzzzzz

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes