Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more

Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more

Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more

Document the Story of Your Social Life with 8tory

The different forms of social media are growing every day. It’s hard to imagine a day … more
Post Reply

[Q] Unable to access menu in Google Play

OP Braves1995

22nd February 2013, 10:05 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Out of nowhere my three dots in Google Play have disappeared and I'm unable to pull up the menu/settings. All I have in the top corner is the search funtion. How do I retrieve this? I use LMT instead of the stock bars for navigation. I even tried freezing 'Soft Key Bar' in apps. Rebooted, and no change. Any help would be kindly appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-02-22-14-02-10.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	38.6 KB
ID:	1752559  
22nd February 2013, 10:09 PM   |  #2  
lacoursiere18's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag LbTs
Thanks Meter: 4,662
 
3,302 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Braves1995

Out of nowhere my three dots in Google Play have disappeared and I'm unable to pull up the menu/settings. All I have in the top corner is the search funtion. How do I retrieve this? I use LMT instead of the stock bars for navigation. I even tried freezing 'Soft Key Bar' in apps. Rebooted, and no change. Any help would be kindly appreciated.

It depends on how you set up LMT. Did you assign a menu option to your pie? The three dots on the pie was mine and I used that to access menu options inside of apps
22nd February 2013, 11:46 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Thanks for the quick response. I've setup my pie with the home, back, menu (which I thought would access all menus within all apps) and OpenNotificationBar. Is there another menu command within LMT that I'm missing?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-02-22-15-40-52.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	17.2 KB
ID:	1752711  
23rd February 2013, 07:20 AM   |  #4  
Krsmqn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 191
 
838 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Re: [Q] Unable to access menu in Google Play
Lower your dpi in the build.prop

Open build.prop file and edit this line only.

ro.sf.lcd_density=240 <--------Set this value to 180. Back out of build.prop, save when asked. Reboot. Check.
Last edited by Krsmqn; 23rd February 2013 at 07:24 AM.
23rd February 2013, 08:53 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krsmqn

Lower your dpi in the build.prop

Open build.prop file and edit this line only.

ro.sf.lcd_density=240 <--------Set this value to 180. Back out of build.prop, save when asked. Reboot. Check.

I'm a little hesitant about editing the build.prop. Is there another way? What about re-installing the Play Store?
23rd February 2013, 09:51 AM   |  #6  
Krsmqn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 191
 
838 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Re: [Q] Unable to access menu in Google Play
If you are hesitant about it that's ok. I don't know any other way. But the edit is harmless, I promise. You just have to be careful that you don't accidentally edit anything else.

You will notice that the lock screen is different.... but that's OK. You can download 2 apps to have a custom lock screen like widget locker or magic locker. I'll post links if you so desire.

If you want to skip my advice all together... well that's your prerogative. But you may be waiting a while for another fix.
Last edited by Krsmqn; 23rd February 2013 at 09:55 AM.
23rd February 2013, 09:58 AM   |  #7  
Krsmqn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 191
 
838 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Re: [Q] Unable to access menu in Google Play
Here's 2 pictures showing the difference. The top is with dpi of 240. The bottom is dpi 180. With mainkeys =1
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1361613390924.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	56.1 KB
ID:	1753752   Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1361613405117.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	61.2 KB
ID:	1753753  
Last edited by Krsmqn; 23rd February 2013 at 10:15 AM.
23rd February 2013, 10:09 AM   |  #8  
Krsmqn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 191
 
838 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Re: [Q] Unable to access menu in Google Play
****UPDATE****

This is with
A) softbar.apk removed from /system/app,
B) qemu.hw.mainkeys=0
C) dpi set at 180.

Perfect.

I should mention that I have go keyboard installed and xSettings installed with stock locker option disabled. With widget locker installed. And LMT soft keys installed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1361614106127.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	60.4 KB
ID:	1753762  
Last edited by Krsmqn; 23rd February 2013 at 10:13 AM.
23rd February 2013, 04:00 PM   |  #9  
evildread's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Re: [Q] Unable to access menu in Google Play
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krsmqn

If you are hesitant about it that's ok. I don't know any other way. But the edit is harmless, I promise. You just have to be careful that you don't accidentally edit anything else.

You will notice that the lock screen is different.... but that's OK. You can download 2 apps to have a custom lock screen like widget locker or magic locker. I'll post links if you so desire.

If you want to skip my advice all together... well that's your prerogative. But you may be waiting a while for another fix.

I tried both, widget locker and magic locker, neither seemed to work for me after changing my DPI. Any suggestions?

Sent from my KF-HD7
23rd February 2013, 10:46 PM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Oddly enough, I have an app called Fullscreen Toggle that I installed to take away the soft key bar, which has been working just fine. In this app, I decided to try re-enabling the stock soft keys to see if it would bring back the menu button in Google Play (not sure why I thought it would, just effing around with it). Well, when I re-enabled the soft key bar in Fullscreen Toggle it didn't bring the soft keys back up, but I DID get my menu button in Google Play back along with other menu buttons in other apps! Weirdness..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes