5,593,793 Members 46,644 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Where's this 2GB of RAM at?

Tip us?
 
EniGmA1987
Old
(Last edited by EniGmA1987; 20th February 2013 at 03:32 AM.)
#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 688
Posts: 1,687
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRX120 View Post
Odd, seeing as how the N7 has 975/1024 available
And my nexus 4 has 1.8 of the 2gb available.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
Doesnt Tegra3 have its own dedicated vram though?
 
Traniz
Old
#22  
Traniz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 110
Join Date: Mar 2011
Dalwik might as well use as much as possible since it's needed since all the apps on Android runs on VM.
NEXUS 10 32GB: ParanoidAndroid 3.10
HTC One X: ARHD18
HTC Legend: NewSense 1.0 RC4b
 
beekay201
Old
#23  
beekay201's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1096
Posts: 4,558
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default Re: [Q] Where's this 2GB of RAM at?

RAM is there to be used.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using xda app-developers app
hammerhead/Omni-KOT49H/stock#3.4.0/M8974A-1.0.25.0.23
maguro/aosp-KRT16O/custom#3.0.101/XXLJ1
manta/stock-KRT16S/custom#3.4.39
tf201/cm10-NIGHTLY#20120820/stock#2.6.39.4
XDA forum rules here
bug report? logcat and /proc/kmsg, or it "never happened".
How TO Ask questions on the Internet
aosp-maguro READFIRST here (credit: efrant)
aosp-gnex READSECOND here (credit: efrant)
 
Rusty2k
Old
#24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 24
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by bk201doesntexist View Post
RAM is there to be used.
Well, obviously, yes.

The issue here is not the fact it's being used, but rather the lack of visibility around what the missing chunk of RAM is being used for.
 
iamikon
Old
#25  
iamikon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1375
Posts: 1,579
Join Date: May 2012
Default Re: [Q] Where's this 2GB of RAM at?

You also have to consider our screen has about 4x the pixels. It takes a lot from our gpu to make everything smooth and clean hence the extra 400mb dedicated to it in 4.2.2 since 4.2.1 was a bit laggy graphically

Sent from my Nexus 10 using XDA Premium HD app
Help me by helping yourself.
Tags
memory, missing, ram
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...