Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,673 Members 41,496 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] SOLVED looking for GS3 Default Notifacation/Rintones zip

Tip us?
 
scoot0073
Old
(Last edited by scoot0073; 24th February 2013 at 03:15 AM.) Reason: solved
#1  
scoot0073's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 375
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Atl. Ga.
Default [Q] SOLVED looking for GS3 Default Notifacation/Rintones zip

im on CM !0.1 and my wife is on the same rom and she wants her Stock sounds back so i am trying to find a .zip or somewhere that has the Default Stock sounds that i can get .
i tried Google but it only brings up ringtones not Stock

thanks
 
CNexus
Old
#2  
CNexus's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 13258
Posts: 8,995
Join Date: May 2012
Location: /home/cnexus/android

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [Q] looking for GS3 Default Notifacation/Rintones zip

Its not necessary to find a zip for it, you can do it yourself very easily

Download one of the stock roms (I suggest freezas rom) and extract it
Copy the "/system/media/notifications" and "/system/media/ringtones" folders (from the extracted rom) to a temp folder on your wife's phone's sdcard
Unmount the sdcard
Now on the phone, navigate to the sdcard with some sort of file manager (that supports root privileges) and copy the "notifications" and "ringtones" folders to /system/media
If prompted for superuser perms, allow it and then select "merge folders" or something along those lines when prompted

Now reboot and those sounds should be available. Any questions, just ask
Sign up for the new Copy file storage service with this link and get both of us an extra 5 GB!
Or sign up for Dropbox with this link and we can both grab some extra storage!

The Following User Says Thank You to CNexus For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
SGSIIIJB
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 195
Posts: 133
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: MD

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoot0073 View Post
im on CM !0.1 and my wife is on the same rom and she wants her Stock sounds back so i am trying to find a .zip or somewhere that has the Default Stock sounds that i can get .
i tried Google but it only brings up ringtones not Stock

thanks
Not actually from a sprint rom but someone else wanted the same sounds .... is this what ya looking for?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1663081
(I myself would just pull them from a ota jb stock rom, just open the .zip and drag out system/media)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1904099 (thanks billard412!!)
The Following User Says Thank You to SGSIIIJB For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
CNexus
Old
#4  
CNexus's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 13258
Posts: 8,995
Join Date: May 2012
Location: /home/cnexus/android

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [Q] looking for GS3 Default Notifacation/Rintones zip

Not /system/media, only /system/media/ringtones and /system/media/notifications

Copying the entire /system/media folder would cause a lot of issues, especially since the OP is talking about AOSP.
Sign up for the new Copy file storage service with this link and get both of us an extra 5 GB!
Or sign up for Dropbox with this link and we can both grab some extra storage!

The Following User Says Thank You to CNexus For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
scoot0073
Old
#5  
scoot0073's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 375
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Atl. Ga.
Default Re: [Q] looking for GS3 Default Notifacation/Rintones zip

Thanks everyone for the information ill just nand back to stock rom and pull it from there. She loves that whistle notification or whatever sound that is. Lol

Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to scoot0073 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
SGSIIIJB
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 195
Posts: 133
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: MD

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by CNexus View Post
Not /system/media, only /system/media/ringtones and /system/media/notifications

Copying the entire /system/media folder would cause a lot of issues, especially since the OP is talking about AOSP.
developers forum if the person doesnt understand the obvious then DUH ur in the wrong place or more reading required,,, obviously if a file is not a SOUND file u wouldnt need it.... again find something better todo with ur time
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes