Post Reply

[Nook HD] CM10/CM10.1 General Discussion

OP bokbokan

24th February 2013, 02:14 AM   |  #161  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bokbokan

If you are using the hybrid setup, download update-20130221.zip and copy uImage to the sdcard /boot partition.
For pure sd card install, I'll be posting an update later.

how can i copy contents of update-20130224.zip file to /boot to enable nook hd serial number?

I use windows xp, and my pc can not install nook hd as a mtp devices, but I can use adb to push file. what can i do?
24th February 2013, 02:28 AM   |  #162  
leapinlar's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,651
 
8,336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Nook HD] CM10/CM10.1 General Discussion
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertchow

how can i copy contents of update-20130224.zip file to /boot to enable nook hd serial number?

I use windows xp, and my pc can not install nook hd as a mtp devices, but I can use adb to push file. what can i do?

Just put the SD in your PC card reader and copy the extracted file to it replacing the file that is there.

Sent from my Nook HD+ running CM10 on Hybrid SD
24th February 2013, 02:54 AM   |  #163  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
push update file to boot directory
Quote:
Originally Posted by leapinlar

Just put the SD in your PC card reader and copy the extracted file to it replacing the file that is there.

Sent from my Nook HD+ running CM10 on Hybrid SD

I use the following method

boot to cwm
mount /boot
adb push the update file to /boot

now about tablet show my nook hd serial number
and I can confirm that modern combat 4 now run on nook hd with cm10.1 .
Last edited by robertchow; 24th February 2013 at 03:38 AM.
24th February 2013, 01:36 PM   |  #164  
Senior Member
Columbus
Thanks Meter: 57
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Re: [Nook HD] CM10/CM10.1 General Discussion
I'm just checking to make sure, but on the nook HD running CM10.1, that's based on jelly bean 4.2, which includes profiles, correct?

If so, i have a couple questions about how that works.

Has anybody used the profiles, and do they behave as expected? Also, are there parental controls of any type included?

The reason I'm asking is my mother in law has offered to but my son who is turning 7 a tablet. She specifically mentioned the Galaxy tab 2, but was open to suggestions if i had another preference. I know i love my HD+, and was just wondering if i should get the HD for my son, or go with something else.

I know there are tablets specifically designed for kids, so i might consider them as well, but i just wanted to know what others who use the tablet thought.

As you can see by my signature, i am not shy about modding it, if that would provide a better experience for him.

Also, how easy is it to switch between stock and cm10 or cm10.1?

Sent using my nook HD+ running cm10 hybrid SD from Tapatalk HD
24th February 2013, 03:45 PM   |  #165  
leapinlar's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,651
 
8,336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Nook HD] CM10/CM10.1 General Discussion
Quote:
Originally Posted by bpaulien

I'm just checking to make sure, but on the nook HD running CM10.1, that's based on jelly bean 4.2, which includes profiles, correct?

Also, how easy is it to switch between stock and cm10 or cm10.1?

Sent using my nook HD+ running cm10 hybrid SD from Tapatalk HD

Yes to having profiles in 10.1. But never used them so not sure how well they work. I think datas0ft uses them on the HD+ 10.1. And I understand the stock profiles work nicely for kids too.

On the HD, bokbokan really has the Hybrid dual booting working slick. His cyanoboot menu works nicely. But may be a little hard for a 7 year old since you need to get the button pushing sequence right. But the same Quick Boot method on the HD+ Hybrid works on the HD. So you could put shortcuts on the screen to boot back and forth.

Sent from my Nook HD+ running CM10 on Hybrid SD
The Following User Says Thank You to leapinlar For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th February 2013, 08:25 PM   |  #166  
aeturnus77's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Adams, Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 4
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Re: [Nook HD] CM10/CM10.1 General Discussion
Is there a trick to keeping wifi active? I don't want it to shut off, and no app or settings I find allow me to keep it running when screen goes off. Tnx! In CM10.1

Sent from my DROID RAZR using XDA Premium HD app
Last edited by aeturnus77; 24th February 2013 at 08:27 PM.
24th February 2013, 08:29 PM   |  #167  
leapinlar's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,651
 
8,336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Nook HD] CM10/CM10.1 General Discussion
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeturnus77

Is there a trick to keeping wifi active? I don't want it to shut off, and no app or settings I find allow me to keep it running when screen goes off. Tnx! In CM10.1

Sent from my DROID RAZR using XDA Premium HD app

There is a setting. Go to settings, wifi, menu, advanced, keep wifi on during sleep and check off always.

Sent from my Nook HD+ running CM10 on Hybrid SD
24th February 2013, 08:53 PM   |  #168  
aeturnus77's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Adams, Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 4
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Re: [Nook HD] CM10/CM10.1 General Discussion
Quote:
Originally Posted by leapinlar

There is a setting. Go to settings, wifi, menu, advanced, keep wifi on during sleep and check off always.

Sent from my Nook HD+ running CM10 on Hybrid SD

What happens when that's already checked?

Sent from my DROID RAZR using XDA Premium HD app
24th February 2013, 08:57 PM   |  #169  
leapinlar's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,651
 
8,336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Nook HD] CM10/CM10.1 General Discussion
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeturnus77

What happens when that's already checked?

Sent from my DROID RAZR using XDA Premium HD app

That means it is already staying on. Do you have evidence that it isn't?

Sent from my rooted stock Nook HD
Last edited by leapinlar; 24th February 2013 at 08:59 PM.
24th February 2013, 09:03 PM   |  #170  
aeturnus77's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Adams, Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 4
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Re: [Nook HD] CM10/CM10.1 General Discussion
Quote:
Originally Posted by leapinlar

That means it is already staying on. Do you have evidence that it isn't?

Sent from my rooted stock Nook HD

Well, every time I turn my screen back on I have to wait to reconnect to Google Talk, and watch the wifi icon go from not being there, to the triangle looking thing, and then to the "I've for signal" icon. Not sure how else to show what it's doing..



Sent from my DROID RAZR using XDA Premium HD app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes