5,598,820 Members 32,955 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Unlock Galaxy Note 2 by hidden menu.

Tip us?
 
technut
Old
#21  
technut's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 114
Posts: 316
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Liverpool,NY
I did this,taking the AT&T Note II straight out of the box.I didn't even put a sim in till after.Thanks for the find.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
 
vinnyj85
Old
#22  
vinnyj85's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 257
Join Date: Oct 2012
Hey does att know when you do this?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using xda premium
 
vinnyj85
Old
#23  
vinnyj85's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 257
Join Date: Oct 2012
I asj because I have to return a device

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using xda premium
 
hpacura
Old
#24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 244
Join Date: Feb 2008
Have anyone tried to see if the phone is still unlocked after the recent at&t update? I can't confirm it because I'm on Rogers in Canada and still no update yet . Thanks a million.
 
jimaginet
Old
(Last edited by jimaginet; 24th February 2013 at 01:38 AM.)
#25  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 40
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default Re: Unlock Galaxy Note 2 by hidden menu.

Hi everyone.
I got my Note 2 in November it came with firmware 4.1.1 and baseband is I317MVLAJ2. I unlocked it with this method it works. Then rooted the device installed Custom Rom. Everything is fine but recently I connect my phone to computer. Samsumg Keir is telling me there is an update 4.1.2 with new baseband (I371MVLBMA3). So my question is if I restore back (unroot) to original firmware 4.1.1. Will I lose the carrier unlock.
Anyone no anything please let me know.
Many Thanks
 
rotule
Old
#26  
rotule's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 194
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Montreal
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimaginet View Post
Hi everyone.
I got my Note 2 in November it came with firmware 4.1.1 and baseband is I317MVLAJ2. I unlocked it with this method it works. Then rooted the device installed Custom Rom. Everything is fine but recently I connect my phone to computer. Samsumg Keir is telling me there is an update 4.1.2 with new baseband (I371MVLBMA3). So my question is if I restore back (unroot) to original firmware 4.1.1. Will I lose the carrier unlock.
Anyone no anything please let me know.
Many Thanks
you will keep the unlock!
Device : SGH-I317M a.k.a. Samsung Galaxy Note II (Canadian)
ROM : Always the lates Jedi X (Obviously the best :P )
 
jimaginet
Old
#27  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 40
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default Re: Unlock Galaxy Note 2 by hidden menu.

Thanks for reply. Is it mean permanent unlock? Even if I unroot with Samsung official late firmware 4.1.2.???
Right now I have 3 options to update to the latest modem I371MVLBMA3.
1) Unroot with Samsung official 4.1.1 then do the update through the phone.
2) Unroot with latest Samsung official firmware 4.1.2
3) Pickup the Canadian modem ( I371MVLBMA3.zip) from Xda and flash it to my existing Custom Rom.

Anyway, I don't care which option to use but at the end. I have an updated modem and my note2 still carrier unlock.

Any thoughts are highly appreciated. Thank s
 
rotule
Old
#28  
rotule's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 194
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Montreal
I flashed the BMA3 in recovery and worked like a charm, and kept my unlock. I am now using a 4.1.2 custom rom But id won't change anything if you stay/return stock or go custom, you will keep the unlock.

hit thanks button if it works for you
Device : SGH-I317M a.k.a. Samsung Galaxy Note II (Canadian)
ROM : Always the lates Jedi X (Obviously the best :P )
The Following User Says Thank You to rotule For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Aphang22
Old
#29  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 25
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default new phones

Anyone knows why the new phones can't do it anymore? I just got the Note 2 recently from AT&T it doesn't have the [4] option listed. Anyone else have this issue? Any work around?
 
Aphang22
Old
#30  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 25
Join Date: Feb 2013
IF u see "RAT_FREE_SUPPORITNG ON" or "RAT_FREE_SUPPORTTING ON", update your modem/baseband.

After update, you should see [4]NW Lock NV Data INITIALLIZ and then you are good to unlock.


Noob need some thanks, if this helps!

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Aphang22 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes