5,597,261 Members 39,751 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Newbie: How to Flash CleanRom

Tip us?
 
gregs126
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default [Q] Newbie: How to Flash CleanRom

Have looked at multiple guides, but utterly confused: I successfully rooted/unlocked bootloader on Verizon S3 (jelly bean) and want to flash CleanRom 5.6. Can I flash the ROM (using TRWP) alone, or must I also flash a radio? Does wipe/reset prior to flashing delete the radio/kernal from phone? I just want to change ROM, and continue to use the stock modem.
 
barrackOBAMA
Old
#2  
barrackOBAMA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 163
Posts: 458
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Re: [Q] Newbie: How to Flash CleanRom

Wipe top 4 boxes in twrp.

Should be
(Cache, dalvik cache, system, factory reset.)
Something along those lines.


Anyways. Wipe and install the clean ROM zip file you downloaded. Reboot phone once it says successful.


Radios and modems are normally flashed separate.


In the future. I'm sure there Is a how to on YouTube


Hit that thanks after you join the clean ROM club

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to barrackOBAMA For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gregs126
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2013
So I can flash the rom alone? Radio is optional? Sorry, but feel like a zombie ate my brain..
 
bobAbooE
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 306
Posts: 994
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indiana
Default Re: [Q] Newbie: How to Flash CleanRom

Yep

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
 
c4manceph
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 26
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: CleanROM 5.6
Scott has details on how to flash CleanROM 5.6 listed under "Installation".
http://www.scottsroms.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=329 < Found Here
 
barrackOBAMA
Old
#6  
barrackOBAMA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 163
Posts: 458
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Re: [Q] Newbie: How to Flash CleanRom

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregs126 View Post
So I can flash the rom alone? Radio is optional? Sorry, but feel like a zombie ate my brain..
I think some people flash radios to mentally think they some how get better service.

I have always had decent service with all my radios. So I would only look into it if you were getting poor service.


As a side note. I have seen people report worst and better service after flashing a newer radio.

A good way to check is what your dbm reads.

The lower the better

Sent from club Clean Rom
 
rodstar87
Old
#7  
rodstar87's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 46
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Brooklyn
There are a couple of youtube videos with detailed instructions on flashibg his rom as well. Just a suggestion.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes