Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,312 Members 52,719 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] Backup/Restore/Repair Your EFS Partition [LS970]

Tip us?
 
javskies
Old
(Last edited by javskies; 24th February 2013 at 02:06 PM.)
#21  
javskies's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 351
Posts: 1,025
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: davie

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [GUIDE] Backup/Restore/Repair Your EFS Partition [LS970]

Thanks for the help. Sadly restoring your efs does not fix Houston's jb port call problem:/

Sent from my LG-LS970 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to javskies For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
engine95
Old
#22  
engine95's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1033
Posts: 1,799
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Re: [GUIDE] Backup/Restore/Repair Your EFS Partition [LS970]

Thanks for trying it out. We are wanting jb pretty bad... aren't we.

Sent from my LG-LS970 using xda premium
Thanks to HPTesla and PartimusPrime!!! Whoohoo!!
 
Lrod0175
Old
#23  
Lrod0175's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2747
Posts: 4,027
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Jersey

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [GUIDE] Backup/Restore/Repair Your EFS Partition [LS970]

Wtf????

Sent from my LG-LS970 using Tapatalk 2
LROD'S LG G2 On OpTimuS
Next Launcher 3D, LGHome
OpTimuS DE V2.3
Furnace Kernel
If you're not happy with what you have, modify the crap out of it!

 
engine95
Old
(Last edited by engine95; 24th February 2013 at 06:22 AM.)
#24  
engine95's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1033
Posts: 1,799
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Re: [GUIDE] Backup/Restore/Repair Your EFS Partition [LS970]

Change houstonn job port, to jb port.

Sent from my LG-LS970 using xda premium

---------- Post added at 11:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:07 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by javskies View Post
Thanks for the help. Sadly restoring your efs does not fix Houston's job port call problem:/
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lrod0175 View Post
Wtf????


Sent from my LG-LS970 using xda premium
Thanks to HPTesla and PartimusPrime!!! Whoohoo!!
 
engine95
Old
#25  
engine95's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1033
Posts: 1,799
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Re: [GUIDE] Backup/Restore/Repair Your EFS Partition [LS970]

@javskies My post wasn't aimed at you. I was answering Lrod's question. Think I was half asleep when I did it tho.

Sent from my LG-LS970 using xda premium
Thanks to HPTesla and PartimusPrime!!! Whoohoo!!
 
javskies
Old
#26  
javskies's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 351
Posts: 1,025
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: davie

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [GUIDE] Backup/Restore/Repair Your EFS Partition [LS970]

Oh I know lol I just wanted to change it so I wouldn't confuse more people

Sent from my LG-LS970 using xda premium
 
autoprime
Old
(Last edited by autoprime; 24th February 2013 at 08:04 PM.)
#27  
autoprime's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 4694
Posts: 1,603
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Updated Optimus_G_Create_Flashable_EFS.zip to be "safer" and more universal among Optimus G devices.

Updated LS970_ZERO_EFS to include the "backup efs to flashable zip" feature to run before writing the ZERO EFS.

*UPDATE*
yet another edit..

I've decided to include m9kefs3 in the backup process. Even tho m9kefs3 seems to have all 00's and not be used... better safe than sorry.

Both the EFS backup and ZERO EFS zips have been updated in the OP to reflect this change.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to autoprime For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
skullzaflare
Old
#28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 186
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by autoprime View Post
Updated Optimus_G_Create_Flashable_EFS.zip to be "safer" and more universal among Optimus G devices.

Updated LS970_ZERO_EFS to include the "backup efs to flashable zip" feature to run before writing the ZERO EFS.

*UPDATE*
yet another edit..

I've decided to include m9kefs3 in the backup process. Even tho m9kefs3 seems to have all 00's and not be used... better safe than sorry.

Both the EFS backup and ZERO EFS zips have been updated in the OP to reflect this change.
Auto, would you be able to make a backup zip to make a backup of ALL partitions?
 
autoprime
Old
(Last edited by autoprime; 24th February 2013 at 08:29 PM.)
#29  
autoprime's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 4694
Posts: 1,603
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by skullzaflare View Post
Auto, would you be able to make a backup zip to make a backup of ALL partitions?
That's on my to-do list. Planned on looking into that as well as the AT&T EFS later tonight. I need to backup all the partitions once again and them double check to make sure which partitions actually contain data in them and which don't. For the partitions that do not contain data.. I want to try to look into other methods of pulling those.. see whats really doable and what isn't.

If you have a list of which partitions without a doubt have data after backing up.. and which don't.. that'd speed things up. If not, don't worry about it.

All the other partitions shouldn't contain any any unique data from the phone and partitions from other devices could be shared without worry... but yes.. it'd be much easier if we all had our own backups.
The Following User Says Thank You to autoprime For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
engine95
Old
(Last edited by engine95; 24th February 2013 at 09:46 PM.)
#30  
engine95's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1033
Posts: 1,799
Join Date: Oct 2008
I'm not sure this latest update is right.
It backed up the 3 img files to folder EFS_Backup, which all 3 were the same file size, 780kb. And it never created a flashable zip. I thought the second version did.
And if I were to follow the directions in the OP to restore... I don't think it will restore.
Am I missing something? Like the flashable zip that has the "backup????sh"?

Edit. I just reran it and still don't have the "efsbackupflash.zip anywhere.
I do see it in the ZERO.zip though. So do we use the Zero_EFS.zip to restore it now?
Thanks to HPTesla and PartimusPrime!!! Whoohoo!!

The Following User Says Thank You to engine95 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes