Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

Micromax Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

S-off boot loader question

OP joho5

24th February 2013, 01:15 AM   |  #11  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
761 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Re: S-off boot loader question
My main thing is knowing if I have to lock the boot loader to running a ruu now. You used to have to. Wondering because if I end up selling the phone to a user who doesn't root, flash, etc...and I want to get it to stock...do I lock or not.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
24th February 2013, 01:20 AM   |  #12  
18th.abn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,846
 
1,499 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Re: S-off boot loader question
If your s-off just keep it locked. Unlocking doesn't give you any extra benefit

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
24th February 2013, 01:33 AM   |  #13  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
761 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Re: S-off boot loader question
Quote:
Originally Posted by 18th.abn

If your s-off just keep it locked. Unlocking doesn't give you any extra benefit

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2

Can I still issue fast boot commands with s-off but locked boot loader?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
24th February 2013, 01:44 AM   |  #14  
18th.abn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,846
 
1,499 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Re: S-off boot loader question
Should be able to. Just keep it locked and flash a recovery to test it.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
24th February 2013, 02:06 AM   |  #15  
InflatedTitan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,145
 
2,790 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Re: S-off boot loader question
Quote:
Originally Posted by joho5

Can I still issue fast boot commands with s-off but locked boot loader?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app

I couldn't.... I ran fastboot oem lock to relock it... Tried to fastboot twrp and had a FAIL

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
24th February 2013, 05:05 AM   |  #16  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,359
 
7,739 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Re: S-off boot loader question
Quote:
Originally Posted by InflatedTitan

I couldn't.... I ran fastboot oem lock to relock it... Tried to fastboot twrp and had a FAIL

Weird. Either something else is going on here, or it violates the definition if S-off, which us supposed to mean all security is off.

Sent from my HTC_Flyer_P512_NA using xda app-developers app
24th February 2013, 05:19 AM   |  #17  
InflatedTitan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,145
 
2,790 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Re: S-off boot loader question
Yep... But like I said earlier, as soon as I unlocked via htcdev process, I did the exact same command and it was a successful fastboot flash... But i haven't a clue, this is the first device I've ever had that was s-off ...

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
24th February 2013, 06:20 AM   |  #18  
18th.abn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,846
 
1,499 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Re: S-off boot loader question
Its just the bootloader doing what its supposed to do then. Evita will probably get a eng hboot at some point so it doesn't need to be unlocked and s off. In the mean time I would just keep it unlocked with s off I suppose. There's so many things I want to check with s off now but can't get my hands on one anymore

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to 18th.abn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th February 2013, 07:17 AM   |  #19  
Kole_Ackerson's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Minden, NV
Thanks Meter: 185
 
596 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
so weird.. I just wanted to start fresh like inflated. so I got the 1.85 ruu after I was s-off. it finished without issues, rebooted to BL and its unlocked. so problems if you relock first? just throwing it out there

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes