Get a Complete Set of Logs with Andy Log

The importance of proper logging is undeniable. No, we’re not talking about lumberjack work. … more

Try Some Android Lollipop Applications on Your Device

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been officially announced and lucky users of Google Nexus 5 … more

AutoCon Manages Your Connections to Perserve Battery Life

As we’ve talked about in the past, battery life is still somewhat of a sore … more

How to Unlock and Root a Nexus Device – XDA TV

It is official–Google has released the Nexus 6 and the Nexus 9. The Nexus family … more
Post Reply

[Q] KF2 powers down when I plug in

OP masber2000

24th February 2013, 06:41 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Please help. Used the one-click to install, had issues with my computer finding the Kindle. I restarted the Kindle, however, now the Kindle immediately shuts down when I attach any USB cable (wall cord, factory USB, or USB). I am able to power up only when the USB cable is not attached to the Kindle. Has anyone seen this before? What can I do to fix this?

The Kindle works fine when not plugged in. I'm leaving it plugged in overnight to see if it allows a charge. I've tried the hard reset (no change), and using the factory cable (immediately shuts down). It's strange, because the Kindle is aware of a signal when I plug the cord in, so I hope that I'm right in thinking that it's not a hardware issue.

Any suggestions to fix this would be most appreciated.


Thank for your help.
24th February 2013, 06:51 AM   |  #2  
soupmagnet's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 2,400
 
4,020 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Re: [Q] KF2 powers down when I plug in
I saw a similar situation a while back. The user had a demo KF2.

If yours is a demo, that may be why.
24th February 2013, 03:24 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by soupmagnet

I saw a similar situation a while back. The user had a demo KF2.

If yours is a demo, that may be why.

Sorry for my ignorance, but what is a demo? I purchased the Kindle new through Amazon.

UPDATE: I left the Kindle plugged in overnight, and it fully charged the unit. This has to be a software issue, I'm thinking. Is there a way to perform a software reset on this unit without using the USB?
Last edited by masber2000; 24th February 2013 at 03:27 PM.
24th February 2013, 04:34 PM   |  #4  
chronicfathead's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sleaford, Lincs
Thanks Meter: 169
 
613 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] KF2 powers down when I plug in
Quote:
Originally Posted by masber2000

Sorry for my ignorance, but what is a demo? I purchased the Kindle new through Amazon.

UPDATE: I left the Kindle plugged in overnight, and it fully charged the unit. This has to be a software issue, I'm thinking. Is there a way to perform a software reset on this unit without using the USB?

Six quick presses on the power button should start a factory reset on the default software. I never tried it myself while I was on the normal software.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire2 using Tapatalk HD
24th February 2013, 05:17 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronicfathead

Six quick presses on the power button should start a factory reset on the default software. I never tried it myself while I was on the normal software.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire2 using Tapatalk HD

Just tried, all it's doing is changing the lock screen. Am I doing this right?
24th February 2013, 05:26 PM   |  #6  
soupmagnet's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 2,400
 
4,020 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Re: [Q] KF2 powers down when I plug in
If you have normal use of the device while unplugged, just go to Settings > Device > Reset to Factory Defaults

Sent from my KFHD 8.9 using Tapatalk 2
24th February 2013, 06:14 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by soupmagnet

If you have normal use of the device while unplugged, just go to Settings > Device > Reset to Factory Defaults

Sent from my KFHD 8.9 using Tapatalk 2

Yes tried that too. Lost root, but no luck with usb access.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes