5,814,863 Members 48,552 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] CPU stuck at 100%?

Tip us?
 
techguy378
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Aug 2010
Battery Full [Q] CPU stuck at 100%?

I was wondering if anyone can confirm the following for me. I have an AT&T Galaxy SIII running Samsung's stock Android 4.1.2 ROM. The phone is not rooted, it's 100% pure stock. My question is does this phone's CPU always run at max speed unless the CPU Power Saving option is enabled? I'm asking because when running Cyanogenmod 10.1 M1 I get significantly better battery life and I'm wondering if Samsung's stock ROM is not automatically adjusting the processor's speed based on workload like I'm assuming Cyanogenmod does. My phone has a 4500mah extended battery and with Samsung's stock ROM the battery is down to 20% after 10 hours even if the phone is idling with the screen off most of that time. With the previously mentioned Cyanogenmod ROM my phone's battery is down to 55-60% after 10 hours. Can anyone confirm this behavior?
 
Intub8
Old
#2  
Intub8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 201
Posts: 718
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default Re: [Q] CPU stuck at 100%?

Quote:
Originally Posted by techguy378 View Post
I was wondering if anyone can confirm the following for me. I have an AT&T Galaxy SIII running Samsung's stock Android 4.1.2 ROM. The phone is not rooted, it's 100% pure stock. My question is does this phone's CPU always run at max speed unless the CPU Power Saving option is enabled? I'm asking because when running Cyanogenmod 10.1 M1 I get significantly better battery life and I'm wondering if Samsung's stock ROM is not automatically adjusting the processor's speed based on workload like I'm assuming Cyanogenmod does. My phone has a 4500mah extended battery and with Samsung's stock ROM the battery is down to 20% after 10 hours even if the phone is idling with the screen off most of that time. With the previously mentioned Cyanogenmod ROM my phone's battery is down to 55-60% after 10 hours. Can anyone confirm this behavior?
Get better battery stats. It will show you what is draining it so fast.

Sent from my SGH-I747 using xda premium
 
diablo009
Old
#3  
diablo009's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,343
Posts: 5,535
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Atlanta GA
Default Re: [Q] CPU stuck at 100%?

What governer at you using?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda premium


T Mobile Galaxy S5: [ROM] AllianceRom - Build 2

AT&T Galaxy S5: [ROM] Stock Rooted


All Infuse modems individually packed into CWM flashable packages


Android Memory Management
Customizing Icons

Clicking "THANKS" is the simplest and easiest way of showing appreciation.
 
RPelham
Old
#4  
RPelham's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 134
Posts: 348
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tampa
Default Re: [Q] CPU stuck at 100%?

Quote:
Originally Posted by diablo009 View Post
What governer at you using?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda premium
you did not read the OP did you....

He said he is bone stock. therefore no custom kernel, no root, no over clocking ability.

Sent from my SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
Device.... LG G3 / LG G Pad 8.3 (VK810)
Network... Verizon
ROM....... Stock (Rooted)
Recovery.. Stock
 
diablo009
Old
#5  
diablo009's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,343
Posts: 5,535
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Atlanta GA
Default Re: [Q] CPU stuck at 100%?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPelham View Post
you did not read the OP did you....

He said he is bone stock. therefore no custom kernel, no root, no over clocking ability.

Sent from my SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
Maybe I missed on that part.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda premium


T Mobile Galaxy S5: [ROM] AllianceRom - Build 2

AT&T Galaxy S5: [ROM] Stock Rooted


All Infuse modems individually packed into CWM flashable packages


Android Memory Management
Customizing Icons

Clicking "THANKS" is the simplest and easiest way of showing appreciation.
 
RPelham
Old
#6  
RPelham's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 134
Posts: 348
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tampa
Default Re: [Q] CPU stuck at 100%?

Quote:
Originally Posted by diablo009 View Post
Maybe I missed on that part.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda premium
=p happens to the best of us.

Sent from my SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
Device.... LG G3 / LG G Pad 8.3 (VK810)
Network... Verizon
ROM....... Stock (Rooted)
Recovery.. Stock
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Change the Style of Your Notifications with HeadsUp

Head Up notifications is one of these upcoming features that Android developers hid deep … more

Google Play Store to Show Price Ranges for In-App Purchases

Google recently announced a change to Google Play Store policy that requires … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Shut Up Your Phone – XDA Developer TV

So many different applications want to send us notifications that … more

Add Some Power to First Generation Snapdragon CPUs

Some older devices still remain very popular. Phones like theHTC Desire, Sony Ericsson … more