Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,198 Members 40,601 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Help] i want to port jelly bean to mtk 6577

Tip us?
 
deddy_ace
Old
#1  
deddy_ace's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 69
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lampung
Default [Help] i want to port jelly bean to mtk 6577

im using phone based on mtk 6577 chipset, its now ics and kernel 3.0.13 but i want to try to port jelly bean in it, can someone help me
 
rudem0e
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default Jelly Bean!

Quote:
Originally Posted by deddy_ace View Post
im using phone based on mtk 6577 chipset, its now ics and kernel 3.0.13 but i want to try to port jelly bean in it, can someone help me
There are many porters and rom cooks but unfortunately, no one has ventured into the MTK territory yet.
I, myself, own a Jiayu G3 with a mtk 6577 chipset and I have been pleading and begging the developers.
We are one of the first pioneers who have entered the territory.
It is always the case when you are courageous and ahead of the rest, you have to wait for 'others' to catch up!

I will keep you posted on any progress, please keep asking and searching. Don't give up!

m0e!
 
ghpk
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 308
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: India
Quote:
Originally Posted by rudem0e View Post
There are many porters and rom cooks but unfortunately, no one has ventured into the MTK territory yet.
I, myself, own a Jiayu G3 with a mtk 6577 chipset and I have been pleading and begging the developers.
We are one of the first pioneers who have entered the territory.
It is always the case when you are courageous and ahead of the rest, you have to wait for 'others' to catch up!

I will keep you posted on any progress, please keep asking and searching. Don't give up!

m0e!
Hello,
I am Also using a MTK 6577 based phone and want to update it to Jelly bean, but seems currently most Rom customizers are working on
other models and are not giving time to this chipset.

Can someone please post what exact would be needed to have jelly bean for these phones.
Phone specs on most such devices are
1Ghz dual core CPU
512MB RAM
512MB ROM
5 Inch LCD
5MP Back and VGA Front Camera
Dual SIM
3G on 1st SIM, 2G on 2nd SIM
Wifi
light sensor, accelerometer, magnetic sensor
2000-2300 mAh battery
Currently Running ICS

I can post the build.prop if someone wants to examine.

Many thanks for your time.

Primary: Lava Iris 501, (SOLD Now)
Was Running Butter Like Stock 4.2.2,
Available as testing....


My RIG:
Micromax Unite 2 (8GB) (Rooting Soon)
MicroSDCard: Sandisk 16GB Class 4
Secondary: Samsung GT-i5801 (Galaxy 3)
[ROM][2.3.7] CyanogenMod 7.2 : marcellusbe

Other: Micromax Funbook Stock, Rooted, LCD Broken Now
Micromax BOLT (SOLD Now)
Spice Mi-354 Smartflo Space (JB 4.2.2) <-- DEAD FOREVER
Karbonn A-16 (Rooted)
 
zelendel
Old
#4  
zelendel's Avatar
Moderator Committee - The Dark Knight
Thanks Meter 10820
Posts: 14,187
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Watching from the Shadows

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [Help] i want to port jelly bean to mtk 6577

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghpk View Post
Hello,
I am Also using a MTK 6577 based phone and want to update it to Jelly bean, but seems currently most Rom customizers are working on
other models and are not giving time to this chipset.

Can someone please post what exact would be needed to have jelly bean for these phones.
Phone specs on most such devices are
1Ghz dual core CPU
512MB RAM
512MB ROM
5 Inch LCD
5MP Back and VGA Front Camera
Dual SIM
3G on 1st SIM, 2G on 2nd SIM
Wifi
light sensor, accelerometer, magnetic sensor
2000-2300 mAh battery
Currently Running ICS

I can post the build.prop if someone wants to examine.

Many thanks for your time.
Might want to recheck the OS requirements. I think you will find you are a few hundred mbs of ram short. Not to mention a lot more storage.

Wayne Tech S-III





If hard work pays off then easy work is worthless
SearchFu
Never Ask someone to do something your not willing to at least try to do yourself.
"Gotham is the work of a madman"- NunHugger Current Nexus 5-12 Nightly


 
ghpk
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 308
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: India
Quote:
Originally Posted by zelendel View Post
Might want to recheck the OS requirements. I think you will find you are a few hundred mbs of ram short. Not to mention a lot more storage.

Wayne Tech S-III
Yups I realized that earlier but today found the phone is already having JB Released and Running which is officially provided by manufacturer.
Yet to schedule the upgrade at service center as its not a OTA update yet.

Primary: Lava Iris 501, (SOLD Now)
Was Running Butter Like Stock 4.2.2,
Available as testing....


My RIG:
Micromax Unite 2 (8GB) (Rooting Soon)
MicroSDCard: Sandisk 16GB Class 4
Secondary: Samsung GT-i5801 (Galaxy 3)
[ROM][2.3.7] CyanogenMod 7.2 : marcellusbe

Other: Micromax Funbook Stock, Rooted, LCD Broken Now
Micromax BOLT (SOLD Now)
Spice Mi-354 Smartflo Space (JB 4.2.2) <-- DEAD FOREVER
Karbonn A-16 (Rooted)
 
zelendel
Old
#6  
zelendel's Avatar
Moderator Committee - The Dark Knight
Thanks Meter 10820
Posts: 14,187
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Watching from the Shadows

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghpk View Post
Yups I realized that earlier but today found the phone is already having JB Released and Running which is officially provided by manufacturer.
Yet to schedule the upgrade at service center as its not a OTA update yet.
Its most likely gonna be a highly stripped down version of it. Other wise it wouldn't run properly

Wayne Tech S-III





If hard work pays off then easy work is worthless
SearchFu
Never Ask someone to do something your not willing to at least try to do yourself.
"Gotham is the work of a madman"- NunHugger Current Nexus 5-12 Nightly


 
Brick3d
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 270
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Zeeland
Have a look at my rom thread and find the comment with the custom rom. Phone is mtk6577 1gb rom 1gb ram, 4.1.1 jb stock, 5mp cam, vga front cam qHD 4.5" screen

Sent from my V360 using xda app-developers app
Please hit 'thanks' if I helped you out. Really, it makes my day
My work so far
  • Brick3d Jelly rom
  • Lewa OS
  • MIUI V4 Beta
  • MIUI V5 Beta
  • Root / Unbrick / CWM guide
 
ghpk
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 308
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: India
Quote:
Originally Posted by zelendel View Post
Its most likely gonna be a highly stripped down version of it. Other wise it wouldn't run properly

Wayne Tech S-III
Ya I can imagine that, lets see if it can solve the few bugs, then I can live with it or customize the Rom to give day 2 day useability

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brick3d View Post
Have a look at my rom thread and find the comment with the custom rom. Phone is mtk6577 1gb rom 1gb ram, 4.1.1 jb stock, 5mp cam, vga front cam qHD 4.5" screen

Sent from my V360 using xda app-developers app
Thats a 1GB RAM, and the phone I have is 512MB RAM with 5 Inch screen.

Phone is http://www.lavamobiles.com/iris-smar...0/iris-501.htm

Facebook page for Lava, Confirms Service Center should be able to upgarde Iris 501 to JB.
http://goo.gl/gH02X

Primary: Lava Iris 501, (SOLD Now)
Was Running Butter Like Stock 4.2.2,
Available as testing....


My RIG:
Micromax Unite 2 (8GB) (Rooting Soon)
MicroSDCard: Sandisk 16GB Class 4
Secondary: Samsung GT-i5801 (Galaxy 3)
[ROM][2.3.7] CyanogenMod 7.2 : marcellusbe

Other: Micromax Funbook Stock, Rooted, LCD Broken Now
Micromax BOLT (SOLD Now)
Spice Mi-354 Smartflo Space (JB 4.2.2) <-- DEAD FOREVER
Karbonn A-16 (Rooted)
 
Brick3d
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 270
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Zeeland
Quote:
Originally Posted by deddy_ace View Post
im using phone based on mtk 6577 chipset, its now ics and kernel 3.0.13 but i want to try to port jelly bean in it, can someone help me
Ok another post, I see you have lower specs than my device. If you know the basics of porting that shouldnt really be a problem, it;s quite easy. I just ported the stock rom from Jiayu g2 to my acer liquid E1. that is from 4.1.2 > 4.2.2, with just the basics of opening 2 zip files, dragging and dropping some files, and you're done. See if you can find an mtk device which has almost the same specs as yours, and go to www.needrom.com look for some roms, download it, and just try. That's what I'm doing, and so far, I made the worlds first, and third custom rom for my device....so don't give up like alot of ppl tell you!!!! Just don't

If you need any help, please PM me

Brick3d
The Following User Says Thank You to Brick3d For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
zelendel
Old
#10  
zelendel's Avatar
Moderator Committee - The Dark Knight
Thanks Meter 10820
Posts: 14,187
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Watching from the Shadows

 
DONATE TO ME
Just make sure to post all kernel source code for any roms you post links to.

Wayne Tech S-III





If hard work pays off then easy work is worthless
SearchFu
Never Ask someone to do something your not willing to at least try to do yourself.
"Gotham is the work of a madman"- NunHugger Current Nexus 5-12 Nightly



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...