Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Help] i want to port jelly bean to mtk 6577

OP deddy_ace

12th February 2013, 01:21 PM   |  #1  
deddy_ace's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Lampung
Thanks Meter: 3
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
im using phone based on mtk 6577 chipset, its now ics and kernel 3.0.13 but i want to try to port jelly bean in it, can someone help me
24th February 2013, 12:39 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Jelly Bean!
Quote:
Originally Posted by deddy_ace

im using phone based on mtk 6577 chipset, its now ics and kernel 3.0.13 but i want to try to port jelly bean in it, can someone help me

There are many porters and rom cooks but unfortunately, no one has ventured into the MTK territory yet.
I, myself, own a Jiayu G3 with a mtk 6577 chipset and I have been pleading and begging the developers.
We are one of the first pioneers who have entered the territory.
It is always the case when you are courageous and ahead of the rest, you have to wait for 'others' to catch up!

I will keep you posted on any progress, please keep asking and searching. Don't give up!

m0e!
14th March 2013, 12:20 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag India
Thanks Meter: 81
 
323 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rudem0e

There are many porters and rom cooks but unfortunately, no one has ventured into the MTK territory yet.
I, myself, own a Jiayu G3 with a mtk 6577 chipset and I have been pleading and begging the developers.
We are one of the first pioneers who have entered the territory.
It is always the case when you are courageous and ahead of the rest, you have to wait for 'others' to catch up!

I will keep you posted on any progress, please keep asking and searching. Don't give up!

m0e!

Hello,
I am Also using a MTK 6577 based phone and want to update it to Jelly bean, but seems currently most Rom customizers are working on
other models and are not giving time to this chipset.

Can someone please post what exact would be needed to have jelly bean for these phones.
Phone specs on most such devices are
1Ghz dual core CPU
512MB RAM
512MB ROM
5 Inch LCD
5MP Back and VGA Front Camera
Dual SIM
3G on 1st SIM, 2G on 2nd SIM
Wifi
light sensor, accelerometer, magnetic sensor
2000-2300 mAh battery
Currently Running ICS

I can post the build.prop if someone wants to examine.

Many thanks for your time.
14th March 2013, 08:34 AM   |  #4  
zelendel's Avatar
Moderator Committee - The Dark Knight
Flag Watching from the Shadows
Thanks Meter: 11,570
 
14,948 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Help] i want to port jelly bean to mtk 6577
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghpk

Hello,
I am Also using a MTK 6577 based phone and want to update it to Jelly bean, but seems currently most Rom customizers are working on
other models and are not giving time to this chipset.

Can someone please post what exact would be needed to have jelly bean for these phones.
Phone specs on most such devices are
1Ghz dual core CPU
512MB RAM
512MB ROM
5 Inch LCD
5MP Back and VGA Front Camera
Dual SIM
3G on 1st SIM, 2G on 2nd SIM
Wifi
light sensor, accelerometer, magnetic sensor
2000-2300 mAh battery
Currently Running ICS

I can post the build.prop if someone wants to examine.

Many thanks for your time.

Might want to recheck the OS requirements. I think you will find you are a few hundred mbs of ram short. Not to mention a lot more storage.

Wayne Tech S-III
17th April 2013, 11:21 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag India
Thanks Meter: 81
 
323 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by zelendel

Might want to recheck the OS requirements. I think you will find you are a few hundred mbs of ram short. Not to mention a lot more storage.

Wayne Tech S-III

Yups I realized that earlier but today found the phone is already having JB Released and Running which is officially provided by manufacturer.
Yet to schedule the upgrade at service center as its not a OTA update yet.
17th April 2013, 11:25 PM   |  #6  
zelendel's Avatar
Moderator Committee - The Dark Knight
Flag Watching from the Shadows
Thanks Meter: 11,570
 
14,948 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghpk

Yups I realized that earlier but today found the phone is already having JB Released and Running which is officially provided by manufacturer.
Yet to schedule the upgrade at service center as its not a OTA update yet.

Its most likely gonna be a highly stripped down version of it. Other wise it wouldn't run properly

Wayne Tech S-III
17th April 2013, 11:26 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Zeeland
Thanks Meter: 90
 
286 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Have a look at my rom thread and find the comment with the custom rom. Phone is mtk6577 1gb rom 1gb ram, 4.1.1 jb stock, 5mp cam, vga front cam qHD 4.5" screen

Sent from my V360 using xda app-developers app
17th April 2013, 11:30 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag India
Thanks Meter: 81
 
323 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zelendel

Its most likely gonna be a highly stripped down version of it. Other wise it wouldn't run properly

Wayne Tech S-III

Ya I can imagine that, lets see if it can solve the few bugs, then I can live with it or customize the Rom to give day 2 day useability

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brick3d

Have a look at my rom thread and find the comment with the custom rom. Phone is mtk6577 1gb rom 1gb ram, 4.1.1 jb stock, 5mp cam, vga front cam qHD 4.5" screen

Sent from my V360 using xda app-developers app

Thats a 1GB RAM, and the phone I have is 512MB RAM with 5 Inch screen.

Phone is http://www.lavamobiles.com/iris-smar...0/iris-501.htm

Facebook page for Lava, Confirms Service Center should be able to upgarde Iris 501 to JB.
http://goo.gl/gH02X
18th April 2013, 10:39 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Zeeland
Thanks Meter: 90
 
286 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deddy_ace

im using phone based on mtk 6577 chipset, its now ics and kernel 3.0.13 but i want to try to port jelly bean in it, can someone help me

Ok another post, I see you have lower specs than my device. If you know the basics of porting that shouldnt really be a problem, it;s quite easy. I just ported the stock rom from Jiayu g2 to my acer liquid E1. that is from 4.1.2 > 4.2.2, with just the basics of opening 2 zip files, dragging and dropping some files, and you're done. See if you can find an mtk device which has almost the same specs as yours, and go to www.needrom.com look for some roms, download it, and just try. That's what I'm doing, and so far, I made the worlds first, and third custom rom for my device....so don't give up like alot of ppl tell you!!!! Just don't

If you need any help, please PM me

Brick3d
The Following User Says Thank You to Brick3d For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th April 2013, 10:44 PM   |  #10  
zelendel's Avatar
Moderator Committee - The Dark Knight
Flag Watching from the Shadows
Thanks Meter: 11,570
 
14,948 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Just make sure to post all kernel source code for any roms you post links to.

Wayne Tech S-III

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes