CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Ad-Hoc networks on Jellybean

OP jamfreak

20th September 2012, 12:59 AM   |  #1  
jamfreak's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Orleans, LA
Thanks Meter: 162
 
355 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Anyone gets an Ad-Hoc connection working on Jellybean?

____________________________________
HTC Evo 4g LTE
CyanogenMod 10 unofficial TD build
TWRP
Bootloader 1.12 / S-on
Retired phone:
HTC Evo4g OG
Last edited by jamfreak; 20th September 2012 at 01:58 AM.
22nd September 2012, 11:59 AM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Subotica
Thanks Meter: 6
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
And I would like to know.
22nd September 2012, 12:05 PM   |  #3  
trironny's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
I want to know too...

Sent from my HTC One X using xda app-developers app
25th September 2012, 01:05 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Same here...... just flashed cm10 to my icoo d90w.
Works great, but without the adhoc connect i gotto reflash it

Did some browsing but no luck yet.
Hope some briliant android wizard out there can fix it.

And stick it to google for removing it in the first place
26th September 2012, 01:39 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Ok....kinda spoke out of line..
Donno how or why, but here is the thing....
I got a vrigin leo (that's gonna change in a hurry) when I turn on hotspot I can't see it on my cm10 flashed tablet.
But the stock hotspot from my wifes samsung ace I can see and connect with...


So it looks to me like the whole "no adhoc in jelly" applies from all things microsoft.
26th September 2012, 02:40 AM   |  #6  
jamfreak's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Orleans, LA
Thanks Meter: 162
 
355 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corw1n

Ok....kinda spoke out of line..
Donno how or why, but here is the thing....
I got a vrigin leo (that's gonna change in a hurry) when I turn on hotspot I can't see it on my cm10 flashed tablet.
But the stock hotspot from my wifes samsung ace I can see and connect with...


So it looks to me like the whole "no adhoc in jelly" applies from all things microsoft.

Not sure how Microsoft got anything to do with it. Cm7+ supported Adhoc connections while cm9 and cm10 does not.
Also adhoc does not only mean connect to a 'hotspot' but simply have a wireless connection between 2 devices thru wifi (without a router) to exchange files, stream music.....etc.
Its not supported on any stock Android rom but there were ways of archiving it in earlier versions of Android so adhoc networks showed up under your available wifi networks.
I haven't heard it working on any JB Tom's yet....
____________________________________
HTC Evo 4g LTE
CyanogenMod 10 unofficial TD build
TWRP
Bootloader 1.12 / S-on
Retired phone:
HTC Evo4g OG
9th November 2012, 09:15 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Hotspot with 2ndboot
Hi all,

I have installed the latest from here:
http://quarx2k.ru/cm10-2ndboot-nightly-defy(+)/

and can't get hotsport working. When I check the "Hotspot" button it keeps telling me "Turning wi-fi on..." but never ends (and gets never visible).
I am using a Defy.

Anyone any ideas?

thx
10th November 2012, 02:01 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Ok i might have mis understood the topic here....
I have a d90w wich i reflashed to jellybean.(cm10)
When i reflased it i coudnt connect to adhoc wifi from my htc hd2.
Once i reflashed my hd2 to ics 4.0.4 (cm9) and i setup a wifi hotspot on it i could connect my tablet again without any probs.

So havn't tryed to setup an adhoc on a jellybean divice, but have noticed its a bit more picky when connecting

Hope you get the hotspot issue fixet
2nd December 2012, 09:56 AM   |  #9  
vess_csm's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
oh, would love if a solution for JB comes up
The Following User Says Thank You to vess_csm For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th February 2013, 02:00 PM   |  #10  
pssecretajent's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
[MOD]Adhoc WIFI support for Android JellyBean (Tested
by me with JoikuSpot)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2163363
Last edited by pssecretajent; 24th February 2013 at 02:06 PM. Reason: posted two times

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes