Post Reply

[2014.07.09] DSLR Controller v0.99.5 BETA

24th February 2013, 10:00 AM   |  #2331  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 50,238
 
9,110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualGuide

Yes, but didnīt send the results. I did it now again (with the cables Iīve mentioned in previous post) and allowed it to send the results - perhaps U should see it? Or should I write it here? thanx

Write them here - the result database has a lot of entries, finding yours would be a daunting task
24th February 2013, 10:26 AM   |  #2332  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainfire

Write them here - the result database has a lot of entries, finding yours would be a daunting task

ok, thnx
------------------------------------------------
Device hwu8860, model U8860, Build ID HuaweiU8860, Fingerprint Huawei/U8860/hwu8860:4.0.3/HuaweiU8860/CooB923SP01:user/ota-rel-keys,release-keys
Android API
claims support no
classes found yes
device detected no
Rooteed API
Claims support no
device detected N/A
Kernel
claims support No
Device detected N/A
Verdict
OS support No
3rd party apps No
-----------------------------------


doesnīt look good, or?
24th February 2013, 12:46 PM   |  #2333  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 50,238
 
9,110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualGuide

ok, thnx
------------------------------------------------
Device hwu8860, model U8860, Build ID HuaweiU8860, Fingerprint Huawei/U8860/hwu8860:4.0.3/HuaweiU8860/CooB923SP01:user/ota-rel-keys,release-keys
Android API
claims support no
classes found yes
device detected no
Rooteed API
Claims support no
device detected N/A
Kernel
claims support No
Device detected N/A
Verdict
OS support No
3rd party apps No
-----------------------------------


doesnīt look good, or?

Nope, it will most certainly not work with this firmware.
24th February 2013, 07:09 PM   |  #2334  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainfire

Which apps did you try ? Have you tried "USB Host Diagnostics" ? Which firmwares are you running ? In case of the SII, make sure you are running the latest Android 4.x firmware (there are some 2.x firmwares that work, but there's not really a list which ones). Not sure about the Tab2, from what I know about every firmware should pretty much work, so that could hardly be the problem ... Just guessing here, really.

I did try USB Host Diagnostics along with another USB storage app, Helicon and a RAW image viewer. I'm running 4.1.1 on the Tab and 4.0.4 on the SII. None of them detected the cameras. I guess I was just trying to determine if there was a step I was overlooking, like needing to install some specific driver package or something but it sounds like you're saying it should work out of the box on current firmware. Could it be that every one of my cables and all of the connectors I tried are insufficient? Because if so, that's really frustrating. Could someone who has this working point me to a connecter/cable combo that they know for a fact works? Is there any other steps I may have missed while troubleshooting to isolate the problem?
24th February 2013, 11:29 PM   |  #2335  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Hey again,

It appears my question from a couple pages ago got missed (it happens) so I'll just put it out there again. Has anyone had a chance to try out the new STM lenses from Canon (such as the 40mm) and see how they work with the focus feature of DSLR Controller?
25th February 2013, 01:05 AM   |  #2336  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
The app was working great earlier when I first used it on my GS3 and connect it to my Canon 550D. Somehow, after a couple of times I unplug and plug in the cable the camera seems to show 'lagging' state with [Busy] Signal and earlier today I can't get seem to get it working as it always stuck with the [Busy] signal now everytime I plug in the cable to GS3.

Anyone have the same prob or fix on this? I believe this is 550Ds prob, or i dunno.
25th February 2013, 11:52 AM   |  #2337  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
DLCPM Controller over WiFi with WFT-E5
I wonder if there's any way into connecting the android tablet running DSLR Controller application to a DSLR Canon camera over a wireless device attached directly to the camera like WFT-E5 (for a Canon 7D for instance), without the use of the USB cable ?
I already have the application running with no problem with a Samsung Galaxy Note tablet with USB cable, but i wonder if there's any way to have more freedom using this application and the WFT-E5 on the Canon camera..
Thank you in advance for your answer.
25th February 2013, 12:29 PM   |  #2338  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 50,238
 
9,110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadwalrus

I did try USB Host Diagnostics along with another USB storage app, Helicon and a RAW image viewer. I'm running 4.1.1 on the Tab and 4.0.4 on the SII. None of them detected the cameras. I guess I was just trying to determine if there was a step I was overlooking, like needing to install some specific driver package or something but it sounds like you're saying it should work out of the box on current firmware. Could it be that every one of my cables and all of the connectors I tried are insufficient? Because if so, that's really frustrating. Could someone who has this working point me to a connecter/cable combo that they know for a fact works? Is there any other steps I may have missed while troubleshooting to isolate the problem?

What was the output of USB Host Diagnostics ?

Yes, it could be the case that all the cables and connectors you have tried are faulty - but it's not very likely. Of course, you could have a strong case of bad luck. But even cables that do not work with DSLR Controller should let USB Host Diagnostics detect for example a USB stick.

It could also be both your firmwares are somehow incompatible - which is weird, as both devices have firmwares that work, and you being stuck with a firmware on both devices that doesn't happen to work is also not very likely.

In truth, I find it hard to guess. You can have a faulty firmware, faulty hardware, faulty cables, etc, but it seems you have tried multiple of each and still get nothing - that's just weird. I know people are using DSLR Controller with both of these devices (the S2 I have myself, even).

Quote:
Originally Posted by aflocka

It appears my question from a couple pages ago got missed (it happens) so I'll just put it out there again. Has anyone had a chance to try out the new STM lenses from Canon (such as the 40mm) and see how they work with the focus feature of DSLR Controller?

Not me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SynapticRelay

The app was working great earlier when I first used it on my GS3 and connect it to my Canon 550D. Somehow, after a couple of times I unplug and plug in the cable the camera seems to show 'lagging' state with [Busy] Signal and earlier today I can't get seem to get it working as it always stuck with the [Busy] signal now everytime I plug in the cable to GS3.

Anyone have the same prob or fix on this? I believe this is 550Ds prob, or i dunno.

Are you low on battery by any chance ? Weird stuff starts happening if either the Android device or the camera are low on battery. There is no structural issue with the 550D at least that I know of, it's one of my test devices.

Quote:
Originally Posted by raulsuhani

I wonder if there's any way into connecting the android tablet running DSLR Controller application to a DSLR Canon camera over a wireless device attached directly to the camera like WFT-E5 (for a Canon 7D for instance), without the use of the USB cable ?
I already have the application running with no problem with a Samsung Galaxy Note tablet with USB cable, but i wonder if there's any way to have more freedom using this application and the WFT-E5 on the Canon camera..

Theoretically this is possible, but I have not built it yet. Why not ? Because I don't have a WFT and they're darned expensive. I assume this will also allow compatibility with the 6D's Wi-Fi mode. I'm trying to find either one to borrow or rent, but so far have had no luck. It's high up on my priority list though, and I go looking for ones to borrow or rent every few weeks.
The Following User Says Thank You to Chainfire For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th February 2013, 12:42 PM   |  #2339  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
DSLR Controller over WFT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainfire

Theoretically this is possible, but I have not built it yet. Why not ? Because I don't have a WFT and they're darned expensive. I assume this will also allow compatibility with the 6D's Wi-Fi mode. I'm trying to find either one to borrow or rent, but so far have had no luck. It's high up on my priority list though, and I go looking for ones to borrow or rent every few weeks.

Thank you very much for your fast response..i really do appreciate taking the time to answer...and I so look forward for this implementation when the time and having the device will allow you to do it... as i did bought an WFT especially for this kind of things so i can have more freedom over the tablet and camera when shooting outdoor especially wild life.
Thanks again for your excelent work...
25th February 2013, 08:16 PM   |  #2340  
Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 6
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by raulsuhani

I wonder if there's any way into connecting the android tablet running DSLR Controller application to a DSLR Canon camera over a wireless device attached directly to the camera like WFT-E5 (for a Canon 7D for instance), without the use of the USB cable?

There was some talk about trying to do it using an Android stick (like rikomagic for example) but no one seems to have taken the plunge yet.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Paid Software Announcement and Discussion by ThreadRank