Post Reply

Firefox OS on HD2?

17th December 2012, 12:24 PM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 4
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Honestly, I would have done it myself if only I knew how to do it.
The Following User Says Thank You to mirakle For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th December 2012, 11:17 PM   |  #12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 602
 
524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
I would do it of I had an hd2...

Sent from my SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to cpu999 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th January 2013, 11:10 PM   |  #13  
arkhan11's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag /data/app
Thanks Meter: 209
 
130 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpu999

I would do it of I had an hd2...

Sent from my SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2

me, too. I have the chance to buy it for 100 euros. is it worthwhile?
15th January 2013, 01:26 AM   |  #14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Simple answer...... Yes even if you don't use it as your daily phone.....Yes
16th January 2013, 03:04 AM   |  #15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 602
 
524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
OK since no one is really doing anything
...
I will throw up a build in the next few days that most likely wont work. If anyone wants to test, do it and tell me if it boots or not

Sent from my SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to cpu999 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd February 2013, 07:48 PM   |  #16  
TomONeill's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Breezand
Thanks Meter: 41
 
178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
This was actually something I'd thought of right away. I tried to cook a few Android ROMS so I know a little something. But unfortunately I don't know how to port Firefox OS. Though Android Kitchen has a function to help you porting the OS. Somebody who can post a link to the download? And Open WebOS?

Edit:
I tried porting the Galaxy Nexus version, but with no luck. I've spent a few hours trying different kinds of methods to make it work. I ended up flashing the thing, but then I got a bad NAND from MAGLDR. I think my boot.img (or zImage) don't work.

Edit2:
Then again, I'm no developer. If a developer could guide me through porting, making/analysing (boot) files, I'd be happy to try again. For now, my try ends here.

Edit 3:
Though this may help a little:
Mozilla's guide to port Firefox OS: https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/...fox_OS/Porting
HTC HD2 (LEO)'s manifest: https://github.com/manhthiep/repo-ma...b2g_htcleo.xml
CM's drivers and stuff: https://github.com/CyanogenMod/android_device_htc_leo
Tytung's drivers and stuff: https://github.com/tytung/android_ke...leo-2.6.32-ics
Last edited by TomONeill; 6th February 2013 at 06:37 PM.
24th February 2013, 06:55 PM   |  #17  
Mehrdad201's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
It is very good idea. HD2 can run Firefox OS same as Android.

but I am worry about software support for this new operating system.
24th February 2013, 07:03 PM   |  #18  
TomONeill's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Breezand
Thanks Meter: 41
 
178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
While that is true, Firefox OS has aimed for low budget devices. Which will probably support only small games and apps. Doesn't mean that it gets full support, but since it's based on linux also, it sure must be easier to port it to FFOS.

While we're at it. Why not try Ubuntu Touch? xD
The Following User Says Thank You to TomONeill For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th February 2013, 09:31 PM   |  #19  
Mehrdad201's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomONeill

While that is true, Firefox OS has aimed for low budget devices. Which will probably support only small games and apps. Doesn't mean that it gets full support, but since it's based on linux also, it sure must be easier to port it to FFOS.

While we're at it. Why not try Ubuntu Touch? xD

of course. also Ubuntu is a good choice for HD2 owners.

I hope that we can have Ubuntu or Android on our HD2 devices soon.
24th February 2013, 10:13 PM   |  #20  
TomONeill's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Breezand
Thanks Meter: 41
 
178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
Ubuntu and Android are both already available on our HD2's, but you probably meant the Ubuntu Touch and Firefox OS

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes