FORUMS

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

[Q] Why Can't I Use Custom Roms

680 posts
Thanks Meter: 56
 
By sholsten, Senior Member on 24th February 2013, 10:23 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Every time i install any of the custom rom on my Hong Kong GT-N7105; the screen flickers on the Samsung intro screen and then it goes dark. If I press the buttons a few times it'll finally come on, but it does it every reboot. It also doesn't recognize the SD card and corrupts it. I'll finally get aggravated & go back to stock. What can I do different?

Another question. Why do I have to wipe & reset settings every time before it will reboot on stock after I install it with Odin?
 
 
25th February 2013, 12:09 AM |#2  
AcoAlex's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
Re: [Q] Why Can't I Use Custom Roms
I got an answer 4 u bro. Dont root it again and stop doing it, ok. If u don't know what you doing, then don't do it. It's 4 your own good peace-out

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda app-developers app
25th February 2013, 12:15 AM |#3  
sholsten's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kennett, MO.
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Well, that's about what I decided to do. I don't like stock 4.1.1 looking like Gingerbread. I sure had a lot better luck doing my Note 1 that is when i stayed away from the D2att Roms.
25th February 2013, 01:49 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Make sure you are installing a custom rom for the N7105 because the roms for the N7100 don't work on the N7105.
25th February 2013, 02:59 AM |#5  
sholsten's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kennett, MO.
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by colint3

Make sure you are installing a custom rom for the N7105 because the roms for the N7100 don't work on the N7105.

I try to use ones that have t0lte in the file name.
25th February 2013, 07:53 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Malaysia
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
I have the same issue like yours few days ago but i manage to solve it. The problem lies with the root file. May i know what file did you use to root your phone? I use cf-auto-note2 on my N7100 but after changing it to CWM.... it works like charm. Do try it out.

Previously... after root or flash custom rom, my screen flickered. After changing to the right root file.... it is solved 100%
26th February 2013, 12:47 AM |#7  
sholsten's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kennett, MO.
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahkiongkc

I have the same issue like yours few days ago but i manage to solve it. The problem lies with the root file. May i know what file did you use to root your phone? I use cf-auto-note2 on my N7100 but after changing it to CWM.... it works like charm. Do try it out.

Previously... after root or flash custom rom, my screen flickered. After changing to the right root file.... it is solved 100%

Sorry, I just now saw your response. I use the SuperSU 0.99 root file in the Note 2 Tool kit. There's a Superuser 3.1.3 but it wouldn't install. I'll look for & try the one you suggested. Thanks...
26th February 2013, 02:51 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Malaysia
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sholsten

Sorry, I just now saw your response. I use the SuperSU 0.99 root file in the Note 2 Tool kit. There's a Superuser 3.1.3 but it wouldn't install. I'll look for & try the one you suggested. Thanks...

Glad if i really can help. Do let me know the update once flash it. You can take a look at this... http://theunlockr.com/2013/01/15/how...e-2-lte-n7105/
The Following User Says Thank You to ahkiongkc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th February 2013, 03:11 AM |#9  
sholsten's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kennett, MO.
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahkiongkc

Glad if i really can help. Do let me know the update once flash it. You can take a look at this... http://theunlockr.com/2013/01/15/how...e-2-lte-n7105/

i just found & ran the CF Auto Root you suggested. It loaded fine, but I tried the Paranoid JB Rom and it still crashed. So, I'm back to square one.
26th February 2013, 03:18 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Malaysia
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sholsten

i just found & ran the CF Auto Root you suggested. It loaded fine, but I tried the Paranoid JB Rom and it still crashed. So, I'm back to square one.

Do not use CF Auto Root. I used that before and it crashed too. Look for CWM Recovery.
26th February 2013, 03:22 AM |#11  
sholsten's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kennett, MO.
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahkiongkc

Do not use CF Auto Root. I used that before and it crashed too. Look for CWM Recovery.

Oh OK. I read your response wrong. I'll try that after I take a Science test. Thanks again.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes