5,596,857 Members 48,856 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[KERNEL] [Sep 26] ElementalX-8.3.2 | OC | UV | S2W | DT2W | BLN | Sense 5

Tip us?
 
jSterling
Old
#1661  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 160
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Pennsylvania, USA, Earth

 
DONATE TO ME
There is a new method to gaining s-off as long as your one x has SuperCID. It worked fine for mine after getting s-off, for some reason if I flashed it with the installer or flashed the boot.img it still would just bootloop on the VenomXL splash screen.
 
c5satellite2
Old
#1662  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 690
Posts: 2,078
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default Re: [KERNEL] [Feb21] ElementalX-5.0 | OC | UV | ROW | ZRAM | S2W

5.0.4 running awesome with viper 2.3.4 here. Installed with defaults other than enabling zram
Observations:
Fast as hell
First run of apps is fastest I have seen
Battery seems good(less than a day, still too early)
Antutu no longer crashes when overclocked
Multitasking is improved

Only negative I have seen:
Quadrant steps and dna graphics test are not playing smoothly, looks like graphics might be suffering from the new changes.

Can others run quadrant and watch the steps and dna animations closely and report.

Definitely going in the right direction Flar, thanks again!


Sent from the HOXL dimension of S-OFF

---------- Post added at 10:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:51 PM ----------

Forgot to add, ran stability test for over 15 minutes with no issues.

Sent from the HOXL dimension of S-OFF
The Following User Says Thank You to c5satellite2 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pablo11
Old
#1663  
pablo11's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 293
Posts: 1,846
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Down Under
Default Re: [KERNEL] [Feb21] ElementalX-5.0 | OC | UV | ROW | ZRAM | S2W

Quote:
Originally Posted by jSterling View Post
There is a new method to gaining s-off as long as your one x has SuperCID. It worked fine for mine after getting s-off, for some reason if I flashed it with the installer or flashed the boot.img it still would just bootloop on the VenomXL splash screen.
New method? Explain plz?

Sent from my HTC One XL using Tapatalk 2
 
sully00
Old
#1664  
sully00's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 77
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Medfield
Quote:
Originally Posted by c5satellite2 View Post
5.0.4 running awesome with viper 2.3.4 here. Installed with defaults other than enabling zram
Observations:
Fast as hell
First run of apps is fastest I have seen
Battery seems good(less than a day, still too early)
Antutu no longer crashes when overclocked
Multitasking is improved

Only negative I have seen:
Quadrant steps and dna graphics test are not playing smoothly, looks like graphics might be suffering from the new changes.

Can others run quadrant and watch the steps and dna animations closely and report.

Definitely going in the right direction Flar, thanks again!


Sent from the HOXL dimension of S-OFF

---------- Post added at 10:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:51 PM ----------

Forgot to add, ran stability test for over 15 minutes with no issues.

Sent from the HOXL dimension of S-OFF
Overall my quadrant standard scores are down from 7350's to 6900's between 5.0 and 5.0.4. I also had to turn KT back on to get down to any kind of changes and details. I think the FPS is about the same topping out at 61. I am having issues with settings sticking using just Venom Tweaks, running into some random changes. The lynch pin in my set up right now seems to be that SD card cache size, I haven't ironed it out all the way by my guess is that it is in relation to the scheduler. Scores and just using the phone have me at fiops @ 4864. My theory is that there are different combos of scheduler and cache size that work well together, may also relate to the governor as well.

Right now I don't feel like my phone loves the increase in max 3D GPU to 512 from 400. Just ran a test while posting this with it set back to 400 and put up a 7181 without the FPS bottoming out which I noticed on the previous test @ 512.
HTC One XL Sense 4+
Rooted/Bootloader Unlocked/S-Off
Viper XL 3.2.8
ElementalX JB 6.7
AT&T 3.18 Radio
HBOOT 1.09
TWRP 2.4.4
The Following User Says Thank You to sully00 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
iElvis
Old
#1665  
iElvis's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1717
Posts: 3,495
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Modville
Just a cautionary note for anyone having reboot issues with this kernel: Don't automatically assume it's the result of overclocking. My phone went haywire last week, and I was going crazy trying to find the sweet spot of voltage and cpu. I was finally getting reboots on vanilla at 1.5, which made no sense. In frustration, I flashed the stock-no-wp kernel, and the random reboots continued--which of course meant they had nothing to do with overclocking or voltage. I then reviewed the CleanROM forum and saw that some people were having reboots as well. So I did a full wipe today and installed UrDroid. So far, things seem to be working.

tl;dr Lots of stuff can cause reboots--it may be a kernel issue, a rom issue, or an app issue.

I'm going to try out the new beta this week, but first I need to be sure I'm on a stable configuration.
________________
Current
HTC One (Android Revolution HD 53.0, ElementalX 14.0, 4.19.401.11 firmware, superCID, s-off, XSBM)
Nexus 7 (stock/rooted)
Dynavin D99+ (///M3Evolution)

Retired
HTC One XL
iPhone 4
iPhone 3G

Generic Noob Advice
The name of this site is xda-developers, not xda-overly-entitled-users. Ponder this well.
Your best friend is the Search button.
Do you want to root and mod your phone? Click here.
Asking for the "best rom" at xda is like asking for the "best BBQ" in Texas.
A nandroid is like a fire extinguisher: You may never need it, but when you do, it's a life-saver.

Custom HTC One Bootsplashes and Animations
My designs + requests: Splashes | Animations

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to iElvis For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
oranget
Old
#1666  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 215
Posts: 590
Join Date: Feb 2013
5.0.4 beta running as smooth as butter for me..no problems.
HTC One XL
 
Braxton355
Old
#1667  
Braxton355's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 379
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default Re: [KERNEL] [Feb21] ElementalX-5.0 | OC | UV | ROW | ZRAM | S2W

I've been using V5 and it's perfect, my phone shut off once but idk if that was the kernel or what. But it's no biggie. Keep it up man. I love it, do you see yourself making a kernel for aosp/CM JB roms? I was wondering about that earlier.

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
 
Nalin12
Old
(Last edited by Nalin12; 25th February 2013 at 09:03 AM.)
#1668  
Nalin12's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 67
Join Date: Aug 2012
I have installed V5.0 Vanilla yesterday and noticed the quadrant score has fallen to 6k range where as on stock kernel give me 6.6k,

Although Antutu has bumped up from 11.5k to 12k
 
carl1961
Old
#1669  
carl1961's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2692
Posts: 3,808
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tickfaw
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nalin12 View Post
I have installed V5.0 Vanilla yesterday and noticed the quadrant score has fallen to 6k range where as on stock kernel give me 6.6k,

Although Antutu has bumped up from 11.5k to 12k
those benchtest can be unreliable

if you run a second quadrant bench test right behind each other the score gets higher
 
Turge
Old
#1670  
Turge's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 18097
Posts: 4,621
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hamilton

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitedatom View Post
I found Kernel Tuner to be superior in one way, voltage control. Viper only does increments of 25mv where Kernel Tuner can do 12.5mv. That said, those increment differences aren't substantial. But they did allow me to modify my voltages. I did a -12.5mv drop across the board and dropped 192mhz to 775mv. Viper's -25mv increment was a tad too much for some frequencies. I'll probably revert to stock soon, but I enjoy tinkering!

For all intent purposes, the stock cpu control in Viper is sufficient.
I've been asked in the past to change the step size, but will revisit this once again.


Want to give something in return? Follow our project here.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes