5,599,478 Members 40,243 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Changing form RELOCKED to LOCKED

Tip us?
 
icemanroh
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mumbai
Unhappy [Q] Changing form RELOCKED to LOCKED

My phone is rooted but now I wanna go back to unroot status. The phone is apparently running stock ROM & I've locked the bootloader but it shows 'RELOCKED' which means my warranty is void. The phone reboots frequently & freezes sometime at the boot screen. Initially I thought its a software issue so rooted my phone & installed ROMs which were available here. The issue still persists & I believe its the same old issue of a faulty motherboard. So to claim the warranty I want the bootloader to show 'LOCKED' not RELOCKED. Can anyone help please OR I'm busted for sure?

*** RELOCKED ***
PRIMODS PVT SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-1.14.0001
RADIO-1.10.34D.17
eMMC-BOOT
Apr 30 2012, 11:02:15
 
Rew64
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 138
Join Date: May 2010
Once you unlock the bootloader it can never be Locked again only Relocked.

I killed the mother board on my last phone then sent it back under warranty for a replacement. Got a new motherboard no problem.
Samsung Galaxy S4 Mini duos I9192
HTC Desire V
HTC Desire - 3.14.405.1 GB Rooted
 
icemanroh
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mumbai
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rew64 View Post
Once you unlock the bootloader it can never be Locked again only Relocked.

I killed the mother board on my last phone then sent it back under warranty for a replacement. Got a new motherboard no problem.
Was your phone relocked when you sent it for replacement?
 
Rew64
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 138
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by icemanroh View Post
Was your phone relocked when you sent it for replacement?
No it was still unlocked. If they can't turn the phone on they can't tell
Samsung Galaxy S4 Mini duos I9192
HTC Desire V
HTC Desire - 3.14.405.1 GB Rooted
 
icemanroh
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mumbai
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rew64 View Post
No it was still unlocked. If they can't turn the phone on they can't tell
LOL.. Them I'm gonna do the same.. Wish me luck
 
Rew64
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 138
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by icemanroh View Post
LOL.. Them I'm gonna do the same.. Wish me luck

Good luck

Took three weeks to get back by the way
Samsung Galaxy S4 Mini duos I9192
HTC Desire V
HTC Desire - 3.14.405.1 GB Rooted
 
icemanroh
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mumbai
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rew64 View Post
Good luck

Took three weeks to get back by the way
Got my phone back. They changed the motherboard.

Lesson Learnt:
Even if your phone is Unlocked (Bootloader is showing 'Unlocked') just ensure that when you give it to any service center u change it to 'Relocked' status. The first thing these people do is they flash your phone with RUU. Once they do it, bootloader status changes to 'Lock' something which we cant do as of now. If you keep the phone in 'Unlocked' status then they won't be able to flash your device & will easily come to know that you have unlocked your bootloader.

I got my device back in 2 weeks. Its kinda they know that many Desire V are having problems with motherboard so they don't take much of a hassle of trying different things out to make your device work. They simple replace the motherboard.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to icemanroh For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gsowner
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2012
There is somewhere a all-in-one toolkit.
 
swanicorn
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Mar 2013
Default Opera mini browser problem

I am new to this forum so don't know if I am paying this in the right place. I have faced a problem with using Opera mini on this phone. When I come back to opera from the multi tasking key, it force closes. How can I solve this issue. Have you guys faced this problem? Is it a ROM problem or a hardware problem? I am from India and my phone is on the factory provided firmware. Nothing like rooting done yet.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

A More Competitive Spin on the Addictive 2048 Puzzle

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we talked about a rather interesting take on … more

Multiboot in Progress for the Sony Xperia Z1

As we’ve mentioned quite a few times in the past, multiboot is quite the interesting … more

Samsung EFS Tool Updated to V5, Brings Universal Device Support

You may recall that we’ve talked about XDA Recognized Contributor … more

Say Goodbye to Holo Blue Once and for All

When Google released Android 4.4 KitKat back in October of last year, they changed quite a bit … more