Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Bump! Workaround for the LG G3 Locked Bootloader – XDA TV

The LG G3 is a power house device. It’s been a favorite of many people. … more

Enable Call Recording on Xperia Z2 and Z3

Call recording, while not legal in every part of the world, is quite handy in certain situations. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Changing form RELOCKED to LOCKED

OP icemanroh

15th February 2013, 09:18 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 3
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
My phone is rooted but now I wanna go back to unroot status. The phone is apparently running stock ROM & I've locked the bootloader but it shows 'RELOCKED' which means my warranty is void. The phone reboots frequently & freezes sometime at the boot screen. Initially I thought its a software issue so rooted my phone & installed ROMs which were available here. The issue still persists & I believe its the same old issue of a faulty motherboard. So to claim the warranty I want the bootloader to show 'LOCKED' not RELOCKED. Can anyone help please OR I'm busted for sure?

*** RELOCKED ***
PRIMODS PVT SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-1.14.0001
RADIO-1.10.34D.17
eMMC-BOOT
Apr 30 2012, 11:02:15
15th February 2013, 07:33 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Once you unlock the bootloader it can never be Locked again only Relocked.

I killed the mother board on my last phone then sent it back under warranty for a replacement. Got a new motherboard no problem.
16th February 2013, 09:02 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 3
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rew64

Once you unlock the bootloader it can never be Locked again only Relocked.

I killed the mother board on my last phone then sent it back under warranty for a replacement. Got a new motherboard no problem.

Was your phone relocked when you sent it for replacement?
20th February 2013, 08:57 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by icemanroh

Was your phone relocked when you sent it for replacement?

No it was still unlocked. If they can't turn the phone on they can't tell
22nd February 2013, 07:39 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 3
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rew64

No it was still unlocked. If they can't turn the phone on they can't tell

LOL.. Them I'm gonna do the same.. Wish me luck
22nd February 2013, 08:34 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by icemanroh

LOL.. Them I'm gonna do the same.. Wish me luck


Good luck

Took three weeks to get back by the way
7th March 2013, 09:22 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 3
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Wink
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rew64

Good luck

Took three weeks to get back by the way

Got my phone back. They changed the motherboard.

Lesson Learnt:
Even if your phone is Unlocked (Bootloader is showing 'Unlocked') just ensure that when you give it to any service center u change it to 'Relocked' status. The first thing these people do is they flash your phone with RUU. Once they do it, bootloader status changes to 'Lock' something which we cant do as of now. If you keep the phone in 'Unlocked' status then they won't be able to flash your device & will easily come to know that you have unlocked your bootloader.

I got my device back in 2 weeks. Its kinda they know that many Desire V are having problems with motherboard so they don't take much of a hassle of trying different things out to make your device work. They simple replace the motherboard.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to icemanroh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th March 2013, 12:50 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
There is somewhere a all-in-one toolkit.
15th March 2013, 10:24 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Flag Pune
Thanks Meter: 2
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Opera mini browser problem
I am new to this forum so don't know if I am paying this in the right place. I have faced a problem with using Opera mini on this phone. When I come back to opera from the multi tasking key, it force closes. How can I solve this issue. Have you guys faced this problem? Is it a ROM problem or a hardware problem? I am from India and my phone is on the factory provided firmware. Nothing like rooting done yet.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes