Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,962 Members 39,718 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

ASE Scripts

Tip us?
 
twistedumbrella
Old
#1  
twistedumbrella's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 6211
Posts: 6,135
Join Date: Sep 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Default ASE Scripts

I wanted to start a thread to post ASE scripts. They support three different languages and while gscript is amazing, this seems to have a lot of availability for saving the time of making entire programs for one or two functions that don't need an entire UI. Plus they can run after you close ASE, so its not a once and done environment. I would like to compile scripts here to make them easy to find.

Mods: This is not a build related topic, it spans all builds. It is not a duplicate, as the only searchable post was a link to the program. It is development because while the scripts can replace programs (in which case id post in app forum), I want to use this to do nodding and on-the-fly enhancements (development forum)
 
alritewhadeva
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 1,364
Join Date: Mar 2009
Good idea. I'm going to bump this
 
ggolemg
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 154
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: naperville il
This just rocked my world.

ASE Blog

ASE Google Code page

ASE Faq

ASE Lua API

ASE Python API

ASE User Guide

Download ASE 0.7a
 
ale6
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Feb 2009
Am I the only person who thinks that ASE is completely useless ?

Actually, the method used is a HUGE hack (using JSON embedded in a TCP socket is not the cleaner thing I saw) -- ok I'm not so deeply into ASE source code, but still.

... and, the API available is very very lightweight compared to Android's standard library.

Why not having an app which just exports the current Context object into a Beanshell context ? (and maybe having access to the interpreter via adb). Here, we could have access to the whole Java APIs and do nearly exactly what we can do know using plain Java code. It would be clearly awesome !

A better thing would be using Groovy, but it doesn't seem to like dx.

I've already tried to launch the Beanshell interpreter via ASE, but it fails (when the same script works on my computer).
 
Paul22000
Old
#5  
Paul22000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 138
Posts: 3,469
Join Date: Jan 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
Anyone make (or find) any cool scripts?
 
corp769
Old
#6  
corp769's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 209
Join Date: Feb 2009
I honestly like the idea of the ASE scripting because it gives people the ability to write scripts and learn about it.
If you don't know what a search function is, then just don't ask anything.

htc dream (black) / 8gb class 6 microsdhc (vfat+ext4+swap) - cyanogenmod 5.0.7 test 4 (themed and customized) - 2.22.23.02 radio
clockworkmod recovery 1.8.1.3 - audio mod v2/v6/bluetooth

buy me a beer...

check this out...
 
mod1
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default Great!

This is great. Just one thing I'd change: It would be nice to split the daemon package and the language support packages.

I, for one, have debian installed and already running a python environment with many extensions installed. I'd prefer to install just the "service" part of ASE, copy android.py to my site-packages directory and integrate it into existing scripts. I'd keep ASE running on a fixed port and start modifying existing scripts to utilize the ASE service.
 
mod1
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default Mini Howto: Using ASE from debian

I wanted to use ASE from the debian installed on my android phone and did some minor patching to accommodate the fact that debian still uses python 2.5 whereas ASE requires python 2.6.

Here's how you do it:

Install the required packages:

Code:
Select Code
# if you don't have python already
apt-get install python
# python 2.5 doesn't have json but this package will do.
apt-get install python-simplejson
Copy android.py from ASE to debian:

Code:
Select Code
cp /data/data/com.google.ase/python/lib/python2.6/android.py /usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/android.py
Apply this patch to android.py, to remove python 2.6 dependencies:

Code:
Select Code
cd /
patch -p0 <<EOF
--- /data/data/com.google.ase/python/lib/python2.6/android.py   2009-06-14 22:48:06.000000000 +0000
+++ /usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/android.py 2009-06-15 00:58:31.000000000 +0000
@@ -14,7 +14,7 @@
 
 __author__ = 'Damon Kohler <damonkohler@gmail.com>'
 
-import json
+import simplejson as json
 import os
 import socket
 import sys
@@ -25,7 +25,8 @@
 class Android(object):
 
   def __init__(self):
-    self.conn = socket.create_connection(('localhost', PORT))
+    self.conn = socket.socket()
+    self.conn.connect(('localhost', int(PORT)))
     self.client = self.conn.makefile()
     self.id = 0
 
EOF
That's it.

To use it:

Activate ASE and start a terminal. (I hope future versions of ASE will run the service independent of the terminal and will no longer require this).

In your debian terminal:
Code:
Select Code
export AP_PORT=$(netstat -napt|sed -n 's/^tcp.*127.0.0.1:\([0-9]*\).*LISTEN.*ase$/\1/gp')
python
The above export is required because ASE currently uses a random port. I hope future versions of ASE will allow selecting a fixed one.

Now you can use ASE from your debian's python, the same way you would in ASE's terminal:

Code:
Select Code
Python 2.5.2 (r252:60911, Nov 15 2008, 00:34:24) 
[GCC 4.3.2] on linux2
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> import android
>>> a=android.Android()
>>> a.makeToast('debian')
{u'result': None, u'id': 0, u'error': None}
>>>
Now you can start porting scripts to use ASE
 
jinx10000
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 295
Join Date: May 2009
I have been trying to figure out how to reboot my phone using any of the interpreters in ASE.

I have tried the following in Lua.

os.execute("reboot")

and I get permission denied.

I have tried
os.execute("su")
os.execute("reboot")
but then the terminal changes from $ to # and nothing happens.

Get the same results using os.system() commands in python.

Anyone have any ideas on how to make this work? Seems like it ought to be simple but I have no experience in these languages.
 
mod1
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Dec 2008
Try "su -c /system/bin/reboot".

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...